Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

I was transferred to The Commodore Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: I liked the sincere smiles that greeted me during my 10 day stay. Everyone was helpful and pleasant. My room was immaculate.
Cons: This hotel is run quite efficiently; therefore, in my experience, I cannot offer any suggestions for improvement.
Location: Excellent location close to the Waterfront..visit 2 Oceans Aquarium and take the cruise, hike Table Mountain (it's quite an experience), Township tour
The hotel was minutes from the V&A Waterfront. The staff was professional and courteous. The staff at the guest relations desk were especially helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with very very friendly & helpful staff. Adding 3 hours to my checkout time was greeted with a smile & at no extra charge. Restaurant both main meals & breakfast service was spot on & one of the best hotels for service I have stayed in & I have stayed in 100's. Only downside was front of hotel faced away from the waterfront, which meant a 5 minute walk down the main street. This is not an issue for me, although I was pestered twice by beggers, once leaving & once going back to hotel. Can be a little daunting for most ! Still, a nice stay but not ideal for families, more business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from UK

Great hotel in a great location

Posted May 22, 2014
A great hotel situated close to the waterfront. Good location, rooms, staff, food and wifi - what more do you need? Will happily stay again on my next business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted May 6, 2014
Lovely hotel, very accommodating. Everything clean, friendly staff, but best part was walking distance to waterfront and sightseeing bus. Felt very safe as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claus from london

Was good, friendly staff.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Central
Cons: Cupboard space added for longer staying guests.
Location: V & A Waterfront , Greenpark stadium etc
Good enjoyable - more cupboard space stay for longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by les from birmingham UK

every thing of the below

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting cape town as the location is fantastic. Staff and Service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
This hotel has the perfect location with under a 5 minute walk from the V&A . The pool area is nice but you can use the pool at the sister hotel 'The Commodore' which is literary next door. You can get free wifi there also. The staff at the hotel as so friendly and the breakfast was amazing. I'd definitely stay again! I had a lovely time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerry from Bucks

Good Location

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well located for the V & A Waterfront, the Portswood is a comfortable, if not spectacular hotel. Priced on the "expensive side, its rooms are a little small but comfortable. The hotel location is its main attraction, as there are several better and more competatively priced similar hotels in Cape Town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014