Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
This hotel has the perfect location with under a 5 minute walk from the V&A . The pool area is nice but you can use the pool at the sister hotel 'The Commodore' which is literary next door. You can get free wifi there also. The staff at the hotel as so friendly and the breakfast was amazing. I'd definitely stay again! I had a lovely time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near V&A Waterfront

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly and accommodating staff, nice variety at the brunch breakfast, quiet atmosphere, internet availability.
Cons: The key card system could be improved. Several tries (and holding your mouth just right) may be needed to open some guest room doors.
Location: Just steps away is the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront.
The Portswood is just across the street and up some steps from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. There you can easily catch the hop-on hop-off bus for spectacular rides and views of the city's attractions. Taxi fare to the airport is about 30 U.S. dollars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tim from United Kingdom

Great location but slightly tired hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is ideally located for the Waterfront area and there's ample car parking (additional charge). The service was good, but the hotel itself is looking a little bit tired in both decor and serviceability (eg. door locks are temperamental and it can take a while just to get into your room). Also had a problem with WiFi connectivity, but this was rectified.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just ok nothing great

Posted Jan 2, 2014
this hotel is a basic hotel, nothing great nothing bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JG from Washington, DC

Great location, but hotel service needs work

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
My friend and I stayed at the Portswood V&A for three nights in late November. The staff were very friendly, but there were a few times when we asked for assistance and the response was either super slow - or non-existent. Note: that was mainly the front desk staff. The bellman, waiters, and valets were lovely and tried very hard to assist in any way necessary. Also, the key card readers are terrible. We had to get keys redone nearly every time we tried to get into our room. The rooms are fine, outdated band nothing special. Room 202 is noisy as it is just above the area where trucks make deliveries. On the plus side: breakfast was very good and the location is great if you want to be near the waterfront.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by agnes from london

well located

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: the warm welcome of the staff
we stayed 3 nights in the hotel , which is very well located on the water front. It is walking distance from all the restaurants. the staff is very nice . Excellent breakfast . Good place to stay to visit cap town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mal from brisbane australia

great location, good value for money

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
we were really impressed by the friendliness of the staff, except fo reception, who let the team down with indifferent attitude. The meals were great value - as good as we found at the waterfront and much cheaper. The location was hard to beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from England

great location

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: as above
Cons: Choice of cuisine for the evening meals could be extended.
Location: Just accross the road from the waterfront. Easy access to the hop on hop off bus and the aquarium.
This hotel is perfectly located to the V&A waterfront and the many attractions there. The staff are very friendly and would do everything they could to ensure your stay is to your liking. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. This was my 4th time to Cape Town and this hotel beats the others I have stayed in hands down.