Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stu1617 from London

Amazing stay

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a lovely hotel. Room was awesome with a huge bed and a fantastic view of the mountains. Tranquil environment with fantastic wine and service. Large complex so be prepared to walk to get to the wine tasting, animal sections.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Couple with a 7 month old from Newcastle

Vineyards of Stellenbosch

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel, need a car to get in and around Stellenbosch from this location. Great room size and space, comfortable bed and helpful staff. Breakfast very good, we stayed on a Saturday night and the Sunday morning had a lovely relaxed feel to it. Evening meal ok. would probably go further a field if to stay again and eat elsewhere. However post wine tasting driving becomes an issue! Overall great hotel, would stay again, staff welcoming and helpful to us and our 7 month old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darshit from India

Great experience

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is a luxury location for a weekend getaway. Nice food and great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice for Stellenbosch

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Good base for Stellenbosch. Spacious, well furnished rooms. Bathrooms could do with a refresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lee from Belfast

South Africa at it's best

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We recently stayed at Spier hotel and loved every minute of it. The rooms were clean and very spacious. Breakfast every morning was fantastic and service was first class from the moment we arrived until we left. The hotel has everything you need right on site, from wine tasting to segway tours. I highly recommend Spier Hotel and will be back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from UK

Peaceful venue

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Our room was spacious, clean and well equipt. I had a problem with a hair dryer and it was fixed promptly. We ate at all three restaurants, the food and the service was excellent. All the staff from the reception through to the chefs and the waiters were very pleasant - we really enjoyed our stay. The grounds and gardens were well kept and a relaxing place to wander.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from UK

Excellent experience at a very fair price

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: Staff; Restaurants; Grounds.
Cons: Bedding not changed. Rooms are due a bit of a facelift.
Location: Great central location, pretty well everywhere is accessible (although Cape Point is a bit of a trek) with super Stellenbosch on the doorstep.
An excellent base, super grounds and three good, and varied, eating options. Good food is everywhere in this region but we felt happy to use the hotel rather than drive elsewhere at the end of our holiday. Our party got rooms with extensive Sun terraces (214 & 222) which was great and each area has a garden and pool serving a small number of guests. The main pool is clean and has very comfortable loungers. One complaint - no change of bedding in a four night stay is just not good in such a hot climate. A couple of clearly long-standing minor maintenance issues were dealt with instantly when I mentioned them - well done. Unfortunately, like most hotels, there is no evidence of communication between daily cleaning crews and general management so the crew does it's job adequately but reports nothing, even something as obvious as a defective shower head.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular Spier

Posted Feb 7, 2013
Wonderful location. Excellent staff. Amenities & surrounds were great too. Very relaxing & peaceful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Pros: Wine tasting
Location: Beautiful setting
Loved everything about Spier Hotel. The setting, the facilities, the food. Great hotel to stay in if you want to relax and enjoy wine tasting in Stellenbosch.