Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Bristol

Another great stay!

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Another excellent stay at our favourite hotel.The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived.You can tell from the little things that this hotel does not rest on its laurels. They are constantly striving to make improvements with the premises and the estate and it is obvious that their staff value and respect their customers. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dale

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Norman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape town

Beautiful hotel in the winelands

Posted Feb 6, 2015
I surprised my mom with a night at the spier hotel for her birthday. The hotel is beautiful, lovely wine and delicious food. We were disappointed that we did not know about the braai buffet at the hotel, it looked really good. We walked to eight to find out it was a tapas restaurant. The tapas looked really good but it was not what we felt like. We ended up going back to the hotel and ordering off the a la carte menu. I had kudu and it was delicious. The breakfast at the hotel is great with almost everything you could think of. The room at the hotel was lovely. It was not far from the restaurants and the there is transport from one side of the estate to the other. I really enjoyed the birds of prey and lovely to be able to interact with the birds. The porcupine was really friendly too. Overall a lovely stay at Spier. Spier wine estate is also nicely located for access to other wine farms in stellenbosch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Wine Yard Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Beautiful landscape, lots of space, good food and drinks and perfect ambience for families as well as single travellers.
Location: The hotel is just outside Stellenbosch and there's plenty of things around. Wine farms, excellent restaurants, cape town etc.
We had a wonderful stay at Spier. We travelled with 3 little kids and had a very relaxing and lovely week there. The staff is warmhearted and helpful, the area is very big in beautiful landscape. We had a big terrace room with with a courtyard pool and the kids could move around free and safe. On the area is also a eagle encounter and bird of prey rehabilitation center which is very interesting. The additional "Eight" restaurant serves brilliant regional and organic food and of course, there's always the chance to catch a good glass of wine. All over all a fantastic stay, both for parents and kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Excellent value - quality facilities

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Quality rooms. Wine tasting.
Cons: Keep the flies off the food at breakfast!
Location: Nothing nearby - you are pretty much stuck without a car.
Best thing was the value for money and the on-site wine tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura from Uk

Perfect getaway

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place with many amenities. Perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by charlotte from Rungsted Kyst

Great experience

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Spier is a beautiful wine farm and it was wonderful to to spend a night there. Breakfast is great but the dinner was nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katharine from Stockholm

Great hotel, excellent facilities for children

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Spier Hotel over New Year with our two small boys. The hotel is ideal for children - we spent time with them splashing in the hotel's pool (we had a Riverside room, rather than one with a small shared pool) and then visited the bird sanctuary and they also made use of the Children's Club. This alone was a brilliant facility, with an outdoor playground, toys galore, options to paint and draw and even bake. The hotel also had a bouncy castle in the shape of a chicken near the restaurant, so when the boys tired of breakfast, they could bounce around in there, while we finished our food in a more leisurely fashion. It was slightly chaotic regarding the New Year's Eve meal and arrangements but the fact that the main NYE party was situated away from the hotel rooms meant that we did not hear a peep from the celebrations after we went back to our room. The room was a good size, with an enormous double room and still enough room to put two single mattresses down on the floor for the boys to sleep on. And we were able to sit on the terrace outside once they were asleep and enjoy the complimentary bottle of wine provided for us.