Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton, UK

Excellent value - quality facilities

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Quality rooms. Wine tasting.
Cons: Keep the flies off the food at breakfast!
Location: Nothing nearby - you are pretty much stuck without a car.
Best thing was the value for money and the on-site wine tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastisch relax moment!!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Hoe relax kan het zijn, alles dik in orde!! Super
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Nairobi

Unglaubliches Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Es war alles einfach gut, besonders, dass sie sich solche Mühe für die Kinder machten zu Weihnachten.
Cons: Das Küchenpersonal war an den Weihnachtstagen überlastet, was angesichts des ausgebuchten Hotels mit vielen Kindern verständlich war.
Location: Zwischen dem Int. Flughafen und Stellenbosch. Ausflugsziele sind halbe bis 1 Stunde entfernt: Kapstadt, Tafelberg, Geparden, Pinguine, Bot. Garden etc
Wir, Familie mit 10-jährigem Sohn, verbrachten die Weihnachtswoche auf dem Spier Weingut. Es hätte besser kaum sein können. Trotz der allgemein sehr hohen Qualität und dem schönen Ambiente sind Kinder hier herzlich willkommen und zwar nicht nur im Kids Club, sondern auf dem gesamten Gelände. Die Lage des Hotels ist zudem hervorragend als Ausgangspunkt für viele Ausflüge geeignet. Wir haben schon in vielen Hotels übernachtet und natürlich auch woanders wunderbare Unterkünfte gefunden, aber kaum in dieser Preisklasse. Wir empfehlen The Spier ohne Vorbehalt weiter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Good start to explore the wine region

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Overall very nice, but unfortunately noisy from the road traffic by night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

My mum loved the hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Stayed for 3 nights in December. Great staff, good food and excellent wine. Had a garden room so we were able to drink wine on the terrace and use the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Potsdam

Schlechter Service+verlorener Charme d. TOP-Hotels

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Wir sind zum zweiten Mal zu SPIER gefahren, da wir beim letzten Mal so begeistert waren. Leider mussten wir diesmal einen schlechten Service erfahren. Auf das Abendessen mussten wir lange warten, da das Personal vorrangig für eine größere Gruppe benötigt wurde. Auch die Qualität des Essens im Hotel hat extrem nachgelassen. Das Restaurant Mojo auf dem Hotelgelände existiert nicht mehr, obwohl es im Hotel-Prospekt noch angekündigt wird. Insgesamt hat sich einiges auf dem Hotelgelände verschlechtert (u.a. große Baustelle auf dem altem Mojo-Gelände, kein "Craft Market" mehr), weshalb das Hotel insgesamt an Charme verloren hat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sehr geschmack- und stilvoll

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Zimmer nagelneu und toll. Renovierung läuft noch, daher teilweise laut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing and well thought out hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was one fab!
Cons: If anything, some of the waiting staff during breakfast could have been a bit more helpful, dare I say cheerful!
Location: Very close to Stellenbosch.
Our stay at the Spier was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience and everything about the hotel had been well thought out. The reception staff, porters and the bar staff were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. The hotel was filled with modern art and furniture which gave it an unusual feel and everything had been well designed. Whilst we were there (April 2014) a lot of the rooms were being refurbished so the hotel was not full and we had the courtyard pool to ourselves most of the time. The food was absolutely fantastic, it was mostly organic and cooked to perfection. We particularly enjoyed the Segway tour around the estate and the picnic was an enjoyable experience as you could pick your own items. Lastly the wine was superb!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leidenfrom NL

Hotel with resort feel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Nice hotel in spacious grounds, set out in a villa style with small streets. The rooms are large and comfortable.