Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing and well thought out hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was one fab!
Cons: If anything, some of the waiting staff during breakfast could have been a bit more helpful, dare I say cheerful!
Location: Very close to Stellenbosch.
Our stay at the Spier was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience and everything about the hotel had been well thought out. The reception staff, porters and the bar staff were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. The hotel was filled with modern art and furniture which gave it an unusual feel and everything had been well designed. Whilst we were there (April 2014) a lot of the rooms were being refurbished so the hotel was not full and we had the courtyard pool to ourselves most of the time. The food was absolutely fantastic, it was mostly organic and cooked to perfection. We particularly enjoyed the Segway tour around the estate and the picnic was an enjoyable experience as you could pick your own items. Lastly the wine was superb!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leiden from NL

Hotel with resort feel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Nice hotel in spacious grounds, set out in a villa style with small streets. The rooms are large and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NA from NZ

comfortable, adequate

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: location, variety
Cons: room facilities - irons, ironing boards fix the roading/pathways booking is not transparent - you need to know your room back on a main road
comfortable stay overall. Beautiful location and variety of activities on this lovely estate. Experience let down by the very poor state of repair of access paths/roads, especially for the disabled. Rooms are comfortable if spartan. Very irked by the lack of an iron or ironing board. If you need anything ironed you'll be charged. At booking i was not made aware of the fact that 2 of the rooms i booked were facing a busy main road - i was woken by trucks/traffic at 530 each morning. restaurant menu good with some vegetarian options. the night a tour group stayed we seemed to become invisible - we had to wait 45 minutes for our mains to be served while the group was attended to first. At check out my room had been charged for bottles of water i didnt use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky from Tanzania

Lovely location and hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds, rooms, staff and food.
Cons: Arrangements with Expedia should be clarified. We paid a deposit on booking and expected to pay the balance to hotel. Hotel expected payment in full.
Location: the eagle sanctuary is great - on site. Also recommend visiting and eating at Stellenbosch and Franschhoek.
My family enjoyed our 3 night stay (2 kids aged 5 and 9, parents and grandparents). The hotel is set in lovely grounds by the river and the staff are friendly. The wine tasting was fun (good wine) and the Eagle Encounters was a hit with the kids. We ate well at each of the restaurants. The hotel is easy access from Cape Town (you can even come by train) and close to Stellenbosch - a beautiful old university town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Atlanta GA

Highlight of Trip

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Location: If you like wine tastings don't miss the Van Ryns brandy distillery next door. A unique experience.
We stayed in 5 different hotels during our Garden Route journey and this was our favorite. This property had the look and feel of some of the nicer hotels we've visited in Napa - but at less than one half the price. Great facilities, service and wonderful breakfast. Only downside was that we stayed only for one night, leaving to spend the final two nights of our journey in Cape Town. If I had it to do over I would spend three nights at Spier and driven to the Cape Town and Cape Point destinations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, great wine!

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: the staff got me a driver to visit cape town
Beautiful location, great wine, nice facilities, peaceful and quaint. The only complaint was that at times the hotel mainly restaurant staff seemed a little frazzled. I was alone for dinner on 3 occasions and each time I had to ask for water and bread to be served to me. Simple things like that should not be missed. The food is amazing even as a vegetarian there were lots of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
3 out of 5
by lilo from new york

Needs more attention to cleaning

Posted Jan 25, 2014
3 times there, but standard is not so good anymore. needs more guidance and supervision....management. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from London

Tranquil stylish and good value

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Terrace dining, wines by the glass, food, tranquility, spacious soothing room design, breakfast, value.
Cons: Wifi, restaurant demand management
Location: Ideal base for exploring Stellenbosch vineyards and other attractions. You do need a car really. Multiple eateries on the campus.
My 2nd stay at Spier and very enjoyable. It's a holiday village but with a pretty sophisticated, and indeed stylish, hotel restaurant and facilities complex attached. The art collection is delightful. Splendid al fresco dining in the terrace area. My only reason for withholding 5 stars overall was the main restaurant was closed and I only just squeezed in for dinner. Didn't really expect to have to reserve a table in this kind of place even on a Saturday. The place gave a slight impression of operating in off-peak mode, although there were no specific issues, and individual staff, as before, were delightful & eager to help. The by-the-glass wine prices for Spier's own very creditable wines helped to make everything great value, both compared to central Cape Town, and in any terms at the current very favourable GBP-ZAR exchange rate. The rooms don't have over-the-top luxury facilities but are pleasant, comfortable and rather stylishly designed themselves. Bathrooms are arguably five star level. I wish I could include Spier in every year's Cape trip; will certainly try to include it every other year. It makes a really relaxing start to such a holiday. It's easy to find for first-time visitors too, but clearly has lots of long-term fans, from things I overheard. The wifi is a bit creaky - OK this place is outside the big city, but South Africa is a pretty sophisticated place for telecomms now. In fairness you probably should not be obsessing over wifi in a hideaway like this!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lena from UK

Lovely stay

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room and hotel staff were lovely. Enjoyed the wine tasting, the protea flower walk and the birds of prey centre. Very disappointed with Moyo Restaurant. We have been to Moyo in Jo'burg and it was amazing. At Spier unfortunately the Moyo staff were disorganised and uninterested. They moved our table twice for no known reason (and dropped thee cutlery whilst doing so), forgot to offer drinks and no one stayed at the food buffet to explain what the food was. We were pestered by stray cats while eating. Staff did face paining with other customers, but forgot us. Not the Moyo experience we would have expected! The Spier Hotel was lovely though.