Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Tayport

Period style in Cape Town

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Really pleasant stay at the Walden House. Friendly helpful staff, great breakfasts with ample choice, and comfortably furnished rooms within a colonial style building. Nice and secure, it's in a convenient position for town - a short cab ride and equally close to the table mountain cable car. We enjoyed our stay here and found the Wakden House to be of excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverley

Superb hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Great location (Kloof), near to plenty of good restaurants. Pleasant garden, and balcony. Good pool. Secure parking
Cons: Very little
Location: See other comments
Staff friendly and efficient Breakfast excellent, though service could sometimes be slow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointing experience

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The hotel is a beautiful, old colonial style house which is attractively furnished and well-located for exploring Capetown.
Cons: Presumably, the coordination between management and booking staff!
Location: Walden House is ideally located to explore Capetown. It is quiet despite its position just off a relatively major road and with great views.
My wife and I had stayed in the Honeymoon suite at Walden House a few years ago and were really looking forward to doing so again during an extended stay in Capetown this February. We specifically booked the Honeymoon suite at the beginning of June last year and had received confirmation that our booking was accepted. We were therefore very disappointed and angry to learn on arrival at the hotel that our room had been given to guests who had arrived the previous day. They were staying for a similar period to us so there was no prospect of moving to the room we had wanted. Worse, the Garden suite, which might have been a suitable alternative to the admittedly very pleasant room we were given, was also already occupied. We were told that the hotel could not have contacted us to explain and given us a chance to find other accommodation as they only discovered the problem the day before we had arrived! We found this very hard to believe. We received a discounted rate on the room we were given and one free night (although I think thre latter benefit is offered to all guests staying fo more than three nights - we had booked for eight). We also were given a bottle of sparkling wine and some confectionery, all of which was very pleasant but did not make up for our disappointment. We were naturally also rather irritated when subsequently in the middle of breakfast we were asked if we would move to another table so other guests who were only overnighting could sit where we were seated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Priten from Kenya

A Home away from home

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Delicious Breakfast - Scrumptious poached eggs with chicken sausages which were my favourite and lots of fruits, juices, cheeses, breads, cereals etc. Clean and cozy rooms with an amazing couple's rain shower. Friendly and very helpful staff and manager. Nearby restaurants are a 2 minute walk away including Millers Thumb for fish and Kyotos sushi for Japanese food. Other restaurants and bars are also not too far off, 10-15 minute walk away. I would definately return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Blandine from Paris

1 semaine à Walden House

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
excellente et très jolie guest house; le personnel est charmant discret et dévoué chambre trés propre, joliment décorée, spacieuse trés bon petit déjeuner quartier calme et pourtant à 20mn à pied du centre; nombreux restaurants tout proches à recommander sans réserve
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful experience!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Lovely house, convenient location, friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This was a great hotel in an easy location with wonderful staff-will not look anywhere else next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna from Uppsala

Väldigt nöjd

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
Det var fantastiskt att kunna gå ut på verandan och sitta med en öl i handen och titta på solnedgången över Taffelberget. Hela guesthouset och rummen är jättefina, personalen är väldigt hjälpsam (om än inte översvällallande hjärtlig) och frukosten är fantastisk. Jag fick mat till rummet när jag anlände sent på kvällen, trots att de normalt inte serverar mat. Mysigt med färska blommor på rummet när man kommer. Det enda lilla negativa är att det är kallt på rummen när det är kallt ute, och svårt att värma upp med AC + att sängarna var lite för korta för någon som är över 180 cm. Men allt som allt är jag supernöjd och skulle gärna komma tillbaka.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels