Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: location...........near hop on/hop off stop; on the Square
Cons: Staff rushed us through meals
Location: see above
Bathrooms are tiny; staff was helpful; internet station helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Great location, average hotel

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Location!!
Cons: Rooms are average.
Location: So many great restaurants, shopping, history and sights within walking distance. Table Mountain & Kirstenbosch are musts also, though too far to walk.
The room was fairly small and very dark. Opening the first window gave just enough space to reach around and slightly open the opaque window. After seeing the view I understand why it was painted over. The bathroom was incredibly small. The staff was average, although Jimmy down in the bar was fantastic. The location was amazing. It was quite challenging to find as the address is only accessible on foot as the hotel opens right on a square reserved for an open market, but once you find the place everything is in walking distance. Right behind the hotel is Long street, where there are more than enough restaurants and shops to keep a person occupied. We also found the walks to the V&A waterfront and the Castle of Good Hope to be quite doable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a pleasant surprise!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: It was wonderful returning from a day of touring to find the exquisite complementary iced tea waiting in the lobby.
Cons: Access to electrical outlets could be improved. Fortunately, we brought an adapter and power strip. Otherwise it would have been frustrating.
Location: Are you kidding me? We love Cape Town and South Africa. It is a vacation paradise.
We planned our Cape Town vacation on a tight budget, selecting Three Cities Inn after searching through online reviews of many hotels. We resolved to think of it as "base camp," unconcerned about luxury amenities. Much to our surprise, we found a wonderful hotel in the heart of the city, staffed by friendly and helpful staff. Recently updated, the entire hotel has a fresh, clean -- I'll say it -- "first-class"appearance. Our choice to upgrade to a "family" suite gave us extra room at a modest added expense. Our daughter and her boyfriend found their regular room "cozy" but not claustrophobic. The extra space in our room was great when they dropped by. We had one meal at the hotel restaurant and it was superb. Those online reviews complaining about early morning noise at the marketplace in front of the hotel apparently were written before the renovation. We noted double windows, apparently new, that totally eliminated the noise. That said, we opened the windows first thing in the morning to hear the exiting sounds of a vibrant city. We did not fly 30 hours to Africa to set by the pool, so the tiny rooftop lap pool and small deck area was not a concern. But we still spent some time there to enjoy the beautiful sunset views of downtown and Table Mountain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, but very poor internet connection

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location and room conditions were great.
Cons: Wireless internet connection
Location: Waterfront and downtown attractions are nearby.
This is a very nice hotel. We enjoyed the stay, but the wireless internet connection was very poor. One has to go down to the lobby to get connection. This was very troublesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay and staffs are friendly..

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Good location and hop-on hop-off bus stop just one block away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Worldtraveller

Excellent location. Noisy on and could be cleaner

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, noise levels.
The good: fantastic location near restaurants, sights, shopping, bus stops. The bad: checking into the room I could tell it had not had a proper clean, i.e. bathroom counters, room needed a good vacuum. If you are on a low floor facing the square it is VERY noisy, at night if there is music/early morning when the market is setting up. The customer service was so-so. I went round in circles online and over email trying to book a room on a high floor with a Table Mountain view only to be given a room on the 1st floor facing the square. They had trouble getting me a taxi in the morning which made me late to my conference. Overall, a great budget option in an excellent location but you get what you pay for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good space for center of town

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Hotel had great amenities and rooms at a reasonable price. Rooms are a bit smaller than some outside of town, but within town, they are on the larger side. Gym, pool restaurant, bar, etc were all very nice. Great view of table mountain from the deck at the pool. Free Wifi was over taxed at times and drops were the result. Also, as a US family where smoking is banned everywhere, I found that our room had a bit of a smoke smell which is why I rated the cleanliness (by the way, that work is misspelled in the survey form) only as OK. Not sure if other rooms have the same issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the city center

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: The maids shouldn't be knocking on the doors early in the morning to collect the dirty towels. This should be done as they are cleaning the rooms.
The location is ideal, but the rooms and bathrooms are very small. I would rate this hotel as a 3 star hotel, not 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: location and views.
Cons: Our room did not have a window that we could see out of.
Location: Long st, greenmarket square and loads more...
Great location, stunning pool deck with views of table mountain, very helpful staff and nice rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michele from London

Room not very clean

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was great always welcoming and always there to help for any occasion. Internet slow and did not work for three days,but it's free . Family room are big ,but the bathroom very small,the room wasn't very clean. Bottles of water are provided in the room every day. Location it's great ,if u do rent a car ,the hotel provide a valet service which it's good ,there is a charge of 75 rand a day. The pool it's very small . Overall I think it's a good value for money cause it was the cheapest ,for that sort of range. I have been to Cape Town many times and the standard of the rooms in every hotel I have been 4* are similar .the outside space it's irrelevant cause unless u wanna spend time by the pool there is lots to do in Cape Town and u ll be at the hotel only to sleep.