Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Friendly staff and close to every where.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: we liked the friendly staff and close to the market .
Cons: If the cleaner could come later.
Location: Close to the market, shopping, cafes.
The staff made us feel very welcome every one was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, Minimal amenities

Posted May 19, 2015
The location of this hotel is perfect is you plan on experiencing nights out on Long Street and shopping at some of the main markets in Cape Town. I will say that the wifi in the room was pretty poor. We generally went down to the lobby if we needed to access the internet. Also, the hotel advertised free breakfast on its website, but the breakfast was not included. Most mornings, rather than pay for the hotel buffet breakfast, we walked down the street to the many different breakfast restaurants and cafes nearby. Overall, it is a great hotel if you plan to spend most of your time experiencing Cape Town, and less of your time in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Perfect Location

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location. Also very good value for money.
This hotel is very good value for money. The rooms are decent, clean and comfortable. The A/C worked well but was under the window and blew directly across the bed. I stayed in the fall so thankfully I didn't really need to turn to turn it on. Lots of hot water in the bathroom. There is a breakfast buffet the has a reasonable selection to choose from and fresh cooked eggs to your liking. Restaurants within a minute of the hotel have good breakfast as well for half the price, but the early hours of the hotel breakfast were quite convenient. Location is fantastic for sight seeing with the Hop-on-Hop-off bus and ticket office on Long Street (behind the hotel to the left as you walk out the front entrance). A walk to the V&A Waterfront takes about 30 minutes depending on walking speed and I found it easily using a tourist map supplied by the concierge desk. There is a tourist office in front of the hotel off to the left across from the daily 'market' area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Slow receptionist.

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very slow receptionists, we were tired and had to wait 20 minutes for her to sort a room for us. When she finally did she gave us the keys to a room that was already taken. When we finally got our room the air conditioning was loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fiona from Johannesburg

Very average.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
A very average hotel where the staff just go through the motions. Very disappointing considering its fantastic location in the heart of the Mother City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah from Manchester, England

Brilliant stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic value for money, great staff and excellent comfortable rooms. In the heart of Cape Town Greenmarket Square so a bit noisy but we loved the ambience and it didn't stop us sleeping well. Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

best for the center of town

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Everything good apart from gymnastics required to close bathroom door as no room. That was in room 206 so others could be ok. Good food at a fair price and the swimming pool and sun deck on top of hotel great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Very good location.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Location: Close to everything. taxi ride to the Waterfront very cheap. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops and historical sites.
Good experience in this hotel. Possibility to book tours at the hotel. Central location. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy Access

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Location, the restaurant
Cons: The hot water in the mornings
Location: The hotel is located right next to the hop-on/hop-off bus stop, visit the V&A, shop in the square
I stayed at the Inn on the Square for 4 nights. My room was on the top floor, and had great views of Table Mountain. While I could hear some early morning noise from the set-up of the market, it was not that disruptive. The staff were all very helpful and had great recommendations for things to do. As other reviewers have noted, the bathroom configuration is tight, and there were problems with the hot water in the mornings. The afternoons and evenings there were no problems with the water.