Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by M from London

Lovely setting in the Cape Winelands disappoints

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Bedroom and the views/setting
Cons: Perfunctory service, poor hygiene standards in the restaurant and general shabbiness in the public spaces.
Despite the lovely setting, the hotel was very disappointing. The public spaces and pool area were dated, poorly maintained and hygiene standards were definitely below par. It's a large hotel that clearly targets the corporate conference market and is lacking any sense of individuality or personal service. The experience can be best described as anonymous. Surprisingly, the bedroom was an unexpected highlight - characterful, well-appointed with lovely views and a spacious, modern bathroom. Breakfast was a self-service buffet with a standard offering, again the hygiene standards were below par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
slightly dated but overall in good condition and great setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, a little tired

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
need a refurb in communal areas, but great setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular mountain setting, wonderful service

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Fantastic location and beautiful unobtrusive service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steffi from Cape Town

A lovely weekend getaway if you live in Cape Town.

Posted Dec 18, 2012
Pros: The coffee machine in the room
Cons: The coffee pods were not replaced
Location: One of the most beautiful sites.
the Hotel was great. Check in was easy and the staff were helpful. Amenities in the room were very good. However, I requested two more coffee pods for the machine. The request was confirmed but never carried out. That was disappointing. However, the breakfast was fabulous and we really enjoyed the sophisticated atmosphere at the Le Franschhoek Hotel. I have been there before and would like to go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrew

A great hotel and what a setting!

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa is a truly beautiful hotel in a stunning setting. It is clean, comfortable and conveniently located just 5-minutes outside of the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly and sorted out a few small issues we had on arrival very quickly. The rooms are large, airy and well appointed. The breakfast is superb. This is a highly recommended stay in the winelands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristian from Columbia, SC, USA

A Perfect Place to Stay in SA's "Napa Valley"

Posted Apr 7, 2012
Fantastic stay! We were greeted by a warm and inviting staff, and quickly escorted to our room. We didn't book a room with a balcony, which I highly recommend, but it was a last minute booking. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with windows that not only looked upon the gorgeous mountains that tower over the hotel, but also OPEN (don't get me started on hotels with windows that don't open). The grounds of the hotel are a haven. Perfectly manicured lawns and gardens greet you wherever you walk, and the verandas are heavenly for lounging. My wife took advantage of the spa for a massage and rated it one her TOP THREE massages at a spa...and she visits a LOT. The highlight of our stay, however, was the meal at Dish, the hotel's restaurant. Chef Oliver competes quite handily against the 'big boys' of the Franschhoek area with a menu full of fresh, local produce and sustainable meats and fish. He did a Chefs Tasting Menu for us and it ranks as one of the best meals we had in SA (and we ate at some of the TOP places). It may be hard to dine at the hotel restaurant for most (due to the reputation of most hotel restaurants), but toss that aside and dine at Dish!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful stay in wonderful hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a wonderful hotel. The staff, scenary, furniture, rooms and food are all wonderful. Highly recommended. Only gripe was that the pool was on the cool side, although this is true of hotels across South Africa. Franshhoek is a picturesque location, with great restaurants and relaxed vibe. You really need a car to explore the area, and will need to drive from town to the hotel (only 5 minutes, but too far to walk).