Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL USA

Clean, organized, but loud at night.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Nice and clean, free delicious breakfast, free parking, centrally located in the heart of long street with many things within walking distance.
Cons: Loud at night with a dance club bar across the street and pounding dance music till 3 AM. If you are a light sleeper not for you.
Location: Lots of great restaurants, red tourist bus, shopping, in the heart of the most interesting part of Cape Town.
Stayed for 5 nights in early August of 2014. Great overall experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel, shame about Long Street

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The staff and the high quality of the room
Cons: Move it somewhere quiet!!
The staff and hotel were top notch. the only problem is the location. The bars on Long Street are busy late into the night and not just on weekends. That said, it adds to the atmosphere and I had a great view of Table Mountain every morning (except the cloudy ones!) Bring a good set of ear plugs and you'll be fine but I would definitely recommend the hotel itself
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for young people to enjoy night life

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: security, noise barrier, breakfast
Location: lots of bars around
the window lock was broken, it has been fixed, i come to my room 2 days later and window was open very noisy from outside but very good location if you wanna go out and party or shopping you had to go for breakfast out of the hotel - poor breakfast, no reception area to hang around or no bar
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JV from London

Not a 4 star place, but great location

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We knew we needed to expect lots of noise on this street and that was certainly the case (regardless of the day of the week, it's extremely loud outside at night), but what we weren't expecting was the basic nature of this apparently '4 star' hotel. While the room was a great size and very clean, it was a good 3 star perhaps, with all bar one staff member needing a serious reminder on how to do customer service! Bizarrely too, the hotel was in an argument with its neighbouring restaurant, so we had to walk about 100 yards for breakfast. While this is not really a huge problem, it does remove the ease of being able to 'pop in' for a quick piece of toast or similar, and meant that we only actually had breakfast on one of three days. The location is great (if you're a good sleeper) and it's definitely clean, but go expecting 3 star and you'll be pleased... 4 star, and you'll be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Casey from Chicago

In the middle of the action

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Location, The room was very nice, the view
Cons: The noise kind of keeps you up , I enjoyed having something to do all the time
Location: Greemarket Square, The Parliament, The Bo Kaap area, The district 6 museum, Down town Cape town, Signal Hill,The fort(take the tour the Guide is great
Great room for a person who likes being in the hotspots. Centrally located on a street that never sleeps. The location by Greenmarket square was amazing(take lots of money if you like african art). The bars were great but not a lot of good beers. The food was okay around the area. Gets kind of shady @ night but still a good time. My guide Jeff was the bomb. You are in walking distance of everything downtown.
2 out of 5
by Gerwyn from San Ramon, CA

Urban maybe, but far from Chic

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Location: Many rowdy bars.
Poor arrival experience. Poor parking requiring carrying luggage from a separate building to the hotel in the rain. No luggage assistance available. Poor restaurant. The supposedly non-smoking room smelled heavily of smoke - as did all the common areas in the hotel
2 out of 5
by LJ from South Africa Durban

Urban Chic Needs Help

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Location was close to lots of things, staff was very friendly and breakfast was pleasant
Cons: Noise control, parking to unload luggage without being attacked by parking attendants and testing things out like air conditioning was poor
Location: Lots of shopping and if you are a party person, lots of bars, good craft area for local items can be found and some nice cafe's
The Staff was very nice however the loud music coming from both the bar and the street is not recommended for people who have put those days behind them. I am a professional and do not get much chance for vacation and that includes a good night sleep which was not possible any of the days I stayed at the Hotel, very noisy, Hotel staff even knows this and all the rooms they put me in was on the street side which was loud till 4 or 5 am everyday. Parking in fron to unload your bags was also disappointing and cost me money just to unload from the street patrol who collect parking fees, this needs to be addressed as luggage is important to have.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Craig from Johannesburg

Not ideal if you need to rest

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Long Street in Cape Town is a party mecca. That said, this hotel is in the heart of the scene and surrounded by drug dealers, drunken backpackers, and other "characters." The hotel itself is fine. Nothing exciting. Beds are comfy and the bathrooms are superbly outfitted (except mine was missing toilet paper... easily remedied). TV didn't really work while I was there, so I watched Mandela's memorial on my laptop. Noise levels are HIGH and carry on until the wee hours of the morning. If you want to party, this is your spot. If you need to sleep before 3am, give it a skip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by arun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com