Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value convenient.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Spacious and comfortable room. Polite and efficient staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Stay on the 3rd floor so you can open up the ceiling window and listen to the sounds of the wharf.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Faceless

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk staff need to be trained in customer care
Location: On the waterfront with numerous bars and restaurants. Open bus tour starts 100 yards down the road.
Hotel is in a great location and doesn't really have to try hard to attract guests and this is reflected in the staff attitudes I guess. We were not treated as a treasured guest more as another traveler coming through Cape Town. We mentioned on check out that our window was broken and would not shut properly which kept us up at 3am due to the wind and rain driving into the room. The receptionist barely acknowledged our complaint and did not even proffer an apology, she simply didn't care. We weren't allowed to keep our room for a late (3pm) checkout as the hotel had another guest booked in yet we were allowed to use a room 3 doors down from our room, an identical room! Why not put the incoming guests into that very same room and let us keep our room? She simply didn't care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkton, SK

Excellent position in V & A Waterfront, Cape Town

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Bed and linen were good.
Location: Excellent position for shopping and a variety of really good restaurants.
This hotel is easy to find by car and we liked the easy parking. The staff was very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Upgraded to Queen Victoria actually :-)

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Dash restaurant with dishes available in bar, tranquility, public spaces
Cons: Hard to think of anything
Location: The V&A waterfront is one of the world's best mall / hotel developments: touristy but not trashy, safe, good facilities and superb views
I recall writing in a previous review that I was unlikely ever to try the Newmark Hotels group's 5-star properties because the Victoria & Alfred suits me so well. I wonder if a little Newmark bird was listening and prompted the upgrade to tempt me! So this is mainly, in fact, a review of the Queen Victoria, which I hope is acceptable under the circumstances. Well, I must therefore say (if my theory is correct) that Newmark proved their point. The Queen Victoria does have a more tranquil "five star vibe" to it, with its location uphill (a 5 minute stroll and there are ramps for the less fit as an alternative to stairs) and its much larger public spaces. The views of Table Mountain are different, with some commercial clutter in the foreground, but the more elevated situation of the bar balcony does have its own charm. The Dash restaurant is very hard to book, but - a very signficant plus here - you can get all the same superb dishes sitting at the classy bar. I won't be foresaking the Victoria & Alfred, but when funds and room rates permit, I will mix in a proportion of stays at the Queen Victoria. I still took lunch most days in Oyo at the Victoria & Alfred, which makes for a great combination. However, much as I like Oyo, the cuisine at Dash is superb and not much more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Good place to stay in Cape Town

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent.
Cons: It would be great to have A/C in the rooms. During the day it can be really warm, especially on the top floor.
Excellent hotel, stuff is friendly, food is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Very scenic veiw from the room!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Lovely hotel. Realy nice breakfast. Great location. Amazing view from the room. Well located. Clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Waterfront Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast selection and quality, the view from the breakfast area
Cons: wifi speed and reliability in the rooms
Location: V&A Waterfront
We really enjoyed our stay at the Victoria and Alfred. The shower in the room was fantastic! The hotel was quiet even with the jumping waterfront outside. The breakfast selection and wuality were very good value for the price. We had an issue with our breakfast where the chef personally came out and apologized. They went over and above trying to correct the mistake. We very much appreciated their efforts. The wifi was touch and go in our room but was decent in the lobby area. One of our better stays in Cape Town with lots of restaurants, shopping and activities in walking distance to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impressed

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Excellent hotel, fabulous customer service, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Ideal location

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Right on the waterfront stunning views breakfast buffet amazing