Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Saori from London

Very well run guesthouse

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good value for money. It's a good mixture of hotel professionalism & personal touch. The owner goes above & beyond for your comfort. We were offered a glass of champagne for breakfast on the new year day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rose

Get a good feel of Hout Bay

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The guest house had all the amenities and service of a luxury hotel. It was a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

Great

Posted Dec 13, 2011
A very restful and peaceful place. beautiful views of the bay. Close to great restaurants. A superb base for exploring the western cape. Not close to nightlife if that is required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Booked 3 days stayed 3 weeks!

Posted Nov 24, 2010
What a delightful place to stay. I was looking for a comfortable place to relax and Villa Afrique was a perfect solution. The Guest House owners, Alma and Dion were helpful, friendly and welcoming. They have clearly gone out of their way to exceed the standards expected of a five star establishment, attention to every detail meant that I felt at home from the moment I arrived. Breakfast was a great start to every day - (do ask Alma for her scrambled eggs!), and there are plenty of restaurants and bars around Hout Bay within an easy walking distance. In short, Villa Afrique is a perfect place to relax and feel spoiled in comfort., and a great location to use as a base for sightseeing around Cape Town etc.. I really did just book 3 days with the intention of travelling around to other places but I figured I wouldn't find anywhere as friendly, comfortable or well appointed - so I stayed for 3 weeks! If I find myself in the Cape Town area again I won't consider staying anywhere else. Thank you Alma and Dion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, United Kingdon

A beautiful house run by truly beautiful and friendly people, a true hidden gem

Posted Jul 21, 2010
So pleased I stayed at the Villa Afrique guest house. On entering you are greeted by a large bright room where attention to detail with decor, facilities and service are excellent. The hosts, Alma and Dion provided a warm and friendly welcome making you feel like part of the family. My room was a good size with an en-suite having under floor and towel heating. The bed was comfortable; linen was of a very high standard and clean, a turn down service was performed each evening. Breakfast was between 8 and 9 with freshly baked croissants each day and a choice of hot and/or cold food. Parking was off road behind an electric gate which was operated via your key fob as was the room security system. After locking your room, you can active your own burglar alarm dedicated to your room, which I found a nice added security feature. The laundry service was first class having all my clothes washed, dried and ironed very cheaply. Alma's knowledge of the Cape Town and surrounding areas were excellent and Alma went the extra mile by telephoning people in Hermanus, 50 miles away, to ensure my second trip was not wasted as I tried whales watching. Thank you for personal touches it was appreciated as was the information provided about the Stellenbosch area. I would definitely stay with Alma and Dion again if in the Cape Town area "A beautiful house run by truly beautiful and friendly people" a true hidden gem. Visit the Villa Afrique guest house and see for yourself. Very Highly Recommend.
3 out of 5
by HC

Far fara away.....

Posted Jul 16, 2010
Great Place.... extremely far from Cape Town. High cost of transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic quality of service !

Posted Mar 1, 2010
Incredible breakfast and people so friendly !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey, United Kingdom

Extra special guest house experience

Posted Jan 28, 2010
I booked my stay at the Villa Afrique (VA) guest house at the last minute and it was a real joy. The hosts, Alma and Dion, provide a warm and friendly welcome. Attention to detail in the decor, facilities and service is excellent. VA's five-star billing is quite accurate. My room was a well-appointed, good-sized en-suite room - a real bonus was the complimentary decanter of port in the room! Beds comfortable, linen fine, and air-cong in the room. Fabulous breakfast served 8-9am and this is also a good chance to mine Alma's knowledge of the Cape and SA if you want inspiration for a day's activity or place to dine etc. Hout Bay's small beach is a five-minute walk. The guest house offers secure off-street parking for a rental car and Hout Bay is good base from which to explore the Cape. The VA is situated opposite Hout Bay's working harbour, during the day the sound of air con units cooling the fishing warehouses and the moderate traffic on the road below are the only minor drawbacks I could identify. But if you're up for breakfast and then out exploring the Cape, you're not going to get bothered by this. Value for money? I was lucky enough to get an Expedia offer which included every third day free. So I've no complaints. If you're after comfort and want to experience more personal service than you get in big four/five-star hotels, Villa Afrique deserves serious consideration.