Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great staff, facilituies and location

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: As above
It was a great experience. Good and interesting facilities with excellent food and comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KAM WAH from HONG KONG

very good very nice

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
very good very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott from Atlanta, GA

A business trip that almost felt like a vacation

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
I had read wonderful reviews of this hotel prior to making my reservations and thus went with fairly high expectations. Overall, the hotel did not disappoint. The fairly spacious room (facing a garden) was an updated room with a nice little balcony. The only issue with the room was the shower as I could not get the water temperature right or for it to remain constant. It would be either too hot or too cool and would change frequently during the shower. I didn't approach the front desk about this issue (figured there wasn't much they could do). But for the requests I did take to them, they were always helpful. Breakfast on the patio facing Table Mountain was a perfect start to the morning. The food was more than acceptable and the view and beautiful weather was an ideal way to greet the day. The Square restaurant is fine, but pales in quality to Myoga restaurant. I had the 7 course tasting menu (with wine pairing) and found this to be among my top 5 meals of all time. I'd highly recommend this restaurant after a nice evening stroll through the gardens. The hotel has areas that could use some upgrades, but it has good character and charm. Private transport optiosn are nice, but pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prachtig oud hotel uit het koloniale verleden.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Geweldig hotel. Prachtig groen. Zeer verzorgd maar niet voordelig. Toch een aanrader.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fred from engelskirchen

Kolonialstilhotel mit kleinen Fehlern

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Wunderschönes Anwesen in traumhaftem Park. Zimmer (Standard) leider sehr abgewohnt mit bunt gemischtem Mobiliar (Sperrholzkleiderschrank der einfachsten Art und keineswegs auf 4 Sterne Niveau. Dafür aussergewöhnlich gutes Frühstückbuffet und sehr gutes Essen in denRestaurants. Bedienung sehr freundlich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Could not be faulted. A bit crowded on St Valentines day, to be expected in S Africa I believe. Terrace V popular and gets full in high season. We would like to return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful but do not use the power converter!

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
this is our favorite hotel in Cape and this was our 4th time staying here. Beautiful garden, good gym and pool, wonderful breakfast ...I recommend this hotel to anyone! However, please be careful with their "power transformer"! As we came from the States, I needed to recharge my electric toothbrush, which works only with 110V. I asked a transformer and they brought an adaptor, so I explained again, then they brought me a "converter". As I was assured that it converts electricity to 110V, I plugged my charger in...it lit up, but within a minute, stopped dead. The charger got burned and I had to throw it away. So, do NOT trust these converters. I have to go back to the States and buy the charger :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel great restaurants

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, lovely restaurants especially Myoga service a bit laid back