Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent facility, poor "check in"

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: excellent property on V&A waterfront
Cons: Terrible, unreliable check-in.
Location: Right on waterfront with all the restaurants, shopping, activities one could want within walking distance.
When we arrived at the waterfront residence the security people could not figure out how to reach the correct rental person for the keys to the 1 bedroom condo. First, realize it is not a hotel but more of condos to rent. Second, the info provided on our paperwork from Expedia offered no indication of how to "checking". It took 1 hour for the security to track down the right rental firm to being us the keys. We called the number listed 5tijes and just got voice mail. The keys he brought did not work for the lower entrance. It was ver frustrating. If not for the beautiful condo and location once we finally got in we would have cancelled the whole thing. Please beware of this issue prior to booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very comfortable apartment in excellent location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, the views, and the fact that it was located in Victoria and Alfred Waterfront area.
Cons: As noted above, the apartment needs some freshening up of some of the scuffs on the walls, repairs to the heater, the fan, and a stronger wifi set up.
Location: Excellent. In addition to marina, we went on tours of the Cape Peninsula, a Township Tour and a Safari besides exploring some of the City museums
We felt very comfortable in this lovely apartment and were glad to be able to walk to and from the shopping and restaurants in the V&A district both in the day and in the evening. The only drawbacks were the slow or absent wifi in the bedrooms, the fan that would not turn off in one of the ensuite bathrooms, and the difficulty getting the heating going given that it was rather chilly in the night-time. The concierge/security staff were super helpful, providing suggestions for tour companies (African Eagle - excellent!) and organizing taxis and some assistance where needed - even though they are not front desk staff as in a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from USA

Highly recommended

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This property is very nicely located, only a short walk from the Waterfront, which is the hub of tourist activity. Our apartment was located on the sixth floor, and our large front window looked out to Table Mountain and our back patio looked to the Waterfront. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, with good wifi, We had almost all the amenities of home. We especially appreciated the secure environment in a gated type community. Overall, this was considered a tremendous value, and is highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Alfred, Hotel Management
Hi Steve Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our Marina apartments. We decided to include your comment on our Facebook page. Keep in touch with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Home from Home
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jubin thakkar from india

service poor

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The electricity of our room went away at 3am and nobody turned to attend it and finally we only fixed it. The control room only went on asking who is our agent , we said we booked online thru hotels.com and how could we know who is our agent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Self Catering Condo on Canal

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: It wasn't a hotel but a self catered condo.
Cons: Ensure that all amenities are available as indicated.
Location: Excellent location within walking distance to aquarium, all attractions by hop on hop off bus, waterfront and access to shopping and restaurants.
The location cannot be beat. However the condition of the condo can use some help. Although clean the walls were in need of paint and patching. The towels and linens were not consistent with a high end hotel. There was no onsite concierge therefore getting things in a timely manner was not easy. The condo consisted of 3 good size bedrooms and a nice common area. Problems included a leaking dishwasher, oven that did not have a racking system for cooking, a broken phone and a lack of a hairdryer was a problem. The location however made up for the lacking amenities. As a family of 5 with 3 small children we found it very easy to walk everywhere and enjoyed to pools available to us. Overall I would go back even knowing the deficiencies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandy from Mozambique

Gorgeous apartment, excellent location

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Lovely, light and airy apartment. Beautifully furnished. Wonderful location.
Cons: The kitchen could be better equipped. There was only one decent knife for cutting/carving. More local information literature would be useful
Location: The complex is an easy walk to the V&A waterfront with good shopping and restuarants. The aquarium is also easily walkable.
Our letting company was actually Home from Home. They met us and showed us the facilities The flat (203 Bannickburn) is beautifully situated overlooking the canal. The complex itself is very well secured and security are extrememly helpful. Housekeeping came in every day, but didn't clean as well on some days. If you need to go further than the V&A, tousist busses leave every 20 minutes from outside the aquarium, or you can take a taxi from outside the V&A hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo within walking distance of Waterfront

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Cons: A local landline phone in the condo was notavailable, making it very difficult to make any reservations for sight seeing or contact airline
Well equipped two bedroom condo with assigned parking space. Excellent security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Washington, DC

Not a typical hotel property

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location and modern amenities.
Cons: Communication about how the property is managed via an assigned agent.
Location: This is within a secure gated area with multiple condo complexes and the One and Only Hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to the main V and A Waterfront.
This is a wonderful property but beware - do not think you are checking into a hotel. Before arriving, make sure you have the name and number of your assigned agent. Do not just speak to the main operator and relay any information as the information will never get to your agent. Your agent is responsible for coordinating your stay and any needs that arise with the onsite property manager for your unit. Most likely, this onsite person is being pulled in many different directions. Our stay included a lengthy check in process, no baby cot despite multiple requests in advance and a car service showing up at the airport when we had canceled it. Despite these glitches, we were able to resolve all issues successfully with multiple conversations with the agent and onsite property manager. All in all, you should be pleased with the unit and the excellent location near the waterfront. Just be sure to pack your patience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

not connected

Posted Jul 2, 2013
The internet had problems, as a result a missed a very important business call via skype.