Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

a great place to stay

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: the location and staff
Location: near is a great buy to go swimming in each morning. snokel gear was lent free of charge.
I arrived last and was warmly greeted by staff who had showed me to my room. I awoke in the morning to the sounds of bird song. after a very nice break fast the staff then showed me around and answered any question I had. told me of thing I may like to do and near by places of interest. they explained how to get a few locations wanted to visit, on the whole they could not of been more helpful and friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Not for everyone

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Our recent stay at the Dragonfly Ranch was disappointing. We knew it was a bit rustic and that was part of the appeal. Our host Barbara was extremely gracious and helpful. Unfortunately, our room -- we stayed in the Writer's Retreat -- was uncomfortable. The main bed was like a rock and made it difficult to sleep. It was loud during the night with from the dogs on the property. The outdoor shower was very cold. Again, the staff was great and very accomdating. Some updates to the bed and access to hot water would help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico and Idaho

Perfect jungle retreat

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Just south of Captain Cook on the Kona side of the Big Island of Hawaii. There is snorkeling, surfing, shopping and hiking nearby.
For those who love nature and the feel of living in an open environment, the Dragonfly Ranch is a perfect choice. They have a wonderful all organic breakfast, and the rooms are supplied with everything you might need. Barbara, our host is so welcoming and full of interesting information. As we adventured around the lush property we found a large organic garden, bursting with vigorous plants, and a yoga pavilion. Our room was the Honeymoon Suite which I would recommend as the preferred choice. It has a secluded outdoor shower, and sunken tub among lush plants. Also a comfortable balcony patio where we enjoyed a lovely sunset and view of the ocean through the jungle trees. Because of its location on a terraced hill there are many steps which may be hard for older guests. The ambiance is casual and earthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Anettefrom Copenhagen

Hotel med seks stjerner

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels.com
Jeg ankom til Dragonfly sen aften og blev budt velkommen af Barbara, med et kæmpe knus. Morgen efter, mødte jeg personalet og andre gæster til morgenmad i køkkenet, som fungerer som fællesrum. Jeg følte mig straks hjemme af stemningen og atmosfæren. Efter seks dage, ville jeg til byen Hilo. Her hjalp Barbara med at finde overnatning og da jeg skulle til bussen tidlig morgen, blev jeg kørt til bussen af en fra personalet. Efter at have forladt Dragonfly, var jeg i løbende kontakt med stedet, hvis jeg skulle komme ud for noget. Da jeg rejste alene, var det en kæmpe trykhed for mig, at vide, at Barbara og Dragonfly var der for mig, under min fantatiske ferie på The Big Island, som Dragonfly var med til at give mig. Jeg kan kun anbefale stedet og vil helt sikkeret tilbringe tid der igen, næste gang jeg kommer til Hawaii.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AZ USA

Truly, "Big Island"

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Ok, I will tell you that my wife and I really liked it! But, the Dragonfly isn't for everyone. We like the "personable" touch of the place. The staff was great. Breakfast was adequate, it is a beautiful property very lush. and you are surrounded buy nature(wild chickens and all). The rooms are nice, showers are outside but they are private. I think if you want A true feeling of how a lot of people live on the Big Island than you will have a great experience. If you are looking for 4 to 5 star accommodations than you may be a bit disappointed .It was easy to find for a first time visitor. Real close to some of the best snorkeling on the Island. Two Step beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gengfrom Rockville MD

A well designed farm-room but needs good isolation

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room is specially designed, and located in a quiet neighborhood. But the farm animals are noisy in the night and the room is not fully isolated---the door has only a screen inside a bamboo door. So I cannot sleep well in this not fully isolated room. The hotel is ran by a large family, they are very nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Melaniefrom Healdsburg, CA

A restful place to relax and restore.

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the first time staying at the Dragonfly Ranch, and I loved it! The staff was very friendly, and even played music in the evening for those that wanted to enjoy. The fresh, organic breakfast was beautifully prepared with care. The location can't be beat as it is a short drive to world-class snorkeling. The artsy, whimsical feel of the place made it very welcoming, and Barbara has clearly poured her heart into making this place an ohana (family) to all those who embrace it. Way better than a condo or a hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Great alternative to the big hotels!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Clean, no nasty chemicals used in the room for cleaning, etc. We LOVE the private outdoor shower that was with our room (Dragonfly).
Cons: I would say a fuller breakfast (like eggs) - but in all fairness I did not ask for it and am sure it would have been provided.
Location: Local great snorkling, cafes, galleries, shops, botanical gardens, historical places. Kailua-Kona is not far away for all the usual touristy things.
This is a great place to stay if you are conscious about your health. It's a very short drive to beaches and great snorkeling. Not far to get back into town for great local cafes and shopping local arts and crafts. Barbara and her crew made us very comfortable and at home here. Organic coffee and fresh fruit in the morning can't be beat! It is on a fairly steep hillside for those it may be a problem for but the views are beautiful. The outside eating deck is clean and a great place to hang out with other folks. There's a beautiful labryinth to walk and meditate high on the hill - with the best view. Having your own private entrance to your room to come and go as you please, and also doesn't disturb others, is very appreciated by us. We had one dinner there that was absolutely delicious. This may not be for folks that want to be in the middle of tourist stuff, night clubs, etc. that they can walk to but it was definitely the best for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olaf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com