Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nie wieder!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Die Lage. Der Nationalpark Corcovado ist einen zweistündigen Fussmarsch von Finca Exotica entfernt, mit dem Auto kommt man dort nicht hin.
Cons: Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis und Sicherheit! Geboten wird Camping-Comfort, aber Preise wie im 5-Sterne-Hotel! Nicht zu rechtfertigen
Location: Unternehmungen: Nationalparkausflüge, Reiten, Kajak fahren, besser nicht schwimmen (Bullenhaie). Infrastruktur: Keine, einsam, schlechte Straßen
PREIS-LEISTUNGS-VERHÄLTNIS: Über 1200 USD für 4 Nächte (inkl. 3 Abendessen, Frühstück, 3 Ausflüge) für Nichts! CABIN: - nicht abschließbar - Nur kaltes Wasser (auch Dusche) - Bad (Holzverschlag 10 Meter von der Cabin entfernt) ohne Strom - Cabin ist ca. 60 steile Höhenmeter vom Strand entfernt auf einem Hügel und ohne Blitzableiter (super Erfahrung bei Gewitter direkt über dir!) - Wege nachts unbeleuchtet - kein Guard o.ä. (Notfälle?!) - Nur durch leichtes Moskitonetz vom Dschungel getrennt, welches direkt über dem Bett hängt - Cabin dunkel, winzig und permanent feucht, kein Raum für Gepäck ESSEN: - Qualität gut - Keine Wahlmöglichkeit, es gibt immer nur EIN Gericht zu einer FESTEN Uhrzeit, wo ALLE an einem Tisch sitzen und sich entweder unterhalten müssen oder z.T. betreten nebeneinander her schweigen (wir hatten aber z.T. auch sehr nette Gesprächspartner) - Frühstück zur regulären Zeit (8 Uhr) ok (kein Frühstücksbuffet), aber will man eine Tour machen, gibt es um 6.30 Uhr nur verbrannten Toast mit einer Marmelade und Rührei PERSONAL: - Staff nett, wie überall in CR - Eigentümer Markus haben wir als bevormundend empfunden - Auf unsere Bewertung auf Tripadvisor wurde unsachlich & beleidigend reagiert, man scheint nicht gewillt, gewisse Sicherheitsmängel & Kritikpunkte zu beheben Dringend zu verbessern: Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis & Sicherheit! Geboten: Camping-Comfort. Preise: Wie im 5-Sterne-Hotel! Nicht zu rechtfertigen, haben wir in CR viel besser & billiger erlebt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donna

not for all but the adventurer

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Not for just any traveler! Best for adults...older kids maybe....couples yes, esp young And we met so many wonderful guests who share in adventure
Cons: smaller food portions!!
Location: remote
no A/C and cold showers?? Well, too bad! The food, ambiance and romance abounds!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great for Eco-Tourists

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Garden and Chill-out area, but rooms are very simple and similar to Camping. Food was good but expensive (and no alternatives next 30 Kilometers)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Erikafrom Toronto

Beautiful Escape in the Jungle

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay if you like nature. Everything is open air and it has a rustic feel. I stayed in the Rancho cabin, which was comfortable and pretty. It is up a steep hill and wouldn't be suitable for anyone with limited mobility. You also have to like the outdoors- if you are afraid of bugs or animals this place is not for you. Macaws and other animals are all around, which I found beautiful. Finca Exotica also has a great yoga platform. The management was generous and helpful- free fruit, breakfast included, and they didn't charge for an extra night that I missed due to a stay at Corcovado. This place is also IDEAL if you are hiking out from Sirena to La Leona in Corcovado Park- it's an easy walk or 5 minute drive. Everyone else I hiked with faced an hour and a half bumpy ride back to town, while I was already enjoying my hammock at Finca Exotica.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nature lovers

A true wilderness experience....

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: The gardens are fascinating, and the hosts give a great tour. All the monkeys, tamanduas, scarlet macaws, and gobs of other wildlife. Food was great.
Cons: Hot water showers and additional screening (for privacy and from insects) would help. Also, a bit more light in the cabinas. And fix up beach house.
Location: Beach is great, and Corcovado.
Was expecting rough, but for the price, not this rough. The area is a paradise, but the accommodations could be improved for comfort and amenities. Beach is lovely, and the Finca is close to Corcovado and it's marvelous wildlife and habitats. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Travellerfrom San Diego

Prepare to Camp - at Luxury hotel rates !

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was by far one of the most disappointing places I have stayed in my life (I have travelled a lot). Where do I start , staff is comprised of volunteers that stay for free therefore customer service is non-existent. The chef was the exception - he was pleasant to chat with. Cleanliness - Poor! We stayed for three nights and the bed sheets/towels were never switched (in a room with no ac and no windows with 90 degree temperatures). There is no warm water in the open shower or open bathroom- so prepare to take cold showers - Hotel Amenities - non-existent - there are NO lights to guide the guests into their rooms or no lamps in the rooms (yes its completely pitch black after dark - bring your own camping light since they don't offer any) , therefore if you need to use the outside restroom that is a hike from your room , prepare to walk in the pitch dark in a rainforest. There is no electricity - no internet and no stores around for 40 km - bring your own camp food since they completely over charge for lunch and for dinner (or call in advance to ask for lunch/dinner rates). I have learned later the lodge does have electricity and internet but staff does not share - they use it to charge their laptops and surf the internet. The free breakfast included is disappointing - you get burnt toast or 2 pancakes with a few pieces of watermelon - if you ask for eggs your will get the stare of death from the volunteer staff. Overall a very disappointing camp stay - at luxury hotel prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Everything
Myself and my 9 year old daughter had an amazing time at Finca Exotica Lodge! Memories to last a lifetime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: The best part of the hotel was that all the cabinas were secluded amongst the foliage. The view was incredible.
Cons: I would have liked to have activities offered after dinner. It would have been nice to socialize with the other guests other than at mealtime.
Location: The beach was located across the street. There was nothing else to do in the surrounding area but it was a great way to unwind and relax.
I did not do my research when I booked this hotel and did not realize there was no hot water, electricity, or internet. When we arrived, I was a little surprised at the accommodations but immediately embraced the idea of "roughing it" at Finca Exotica. The grounds were beautiful and the sounds of the birds and animals were soothing. Phoebe was a gracious hostess and made sure we were taken care of. The cook, Coco, made delicious dishes. Erick took us on the hike in Corcovado National Park where he pointed out animals that we would have never seen. Prior to arriving, there was constant email contact to make sure we had transportation. Phoebe set up our travel arrangements when we left. Everything went perfectly as scheduled. The rooms were very clean and although we didn't ask for new towels or our beds made, when we came back after hiking, our room was cleaned with new linens. I didn't expect that I would truly enjoy the experience at Finca Exotica but it ended up being the best part of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traumhafte Aussicht

Posted Apr 13, 2013
Wunderschöne Lage, freundliches Personal , sehr schöne Aussicht , wunderschöne Terrasse, sehr gutes Essen. Toller Strand
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cornelfrom Bad Wiessee, 83707 Bad Wiessee, Deutschland

Einfaches jedoch teures Hotel in traumhafter Lage

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Lage und Naturnähe
Cons: Preise sehr teuer in allen Bereichen. Auswahl beim Essen beschränkt. Schlafzimmer nachts sehr heiß ca 27 Grad.
Location: in Strandnähe in traumhafter Umgebung
Das Hotel liegt in toller Lage in Strandnähe in Karate. Die Zimmer sind sehr einfach, jedoch sauber, mit Dusche nur kalt und WC. Kein Deckenventilator, kein Internet, kein Kühschrank. Abschließen kann man das Zimmer ebenfalls nicht. Es handelt sich beim Zimmer eigentlich um eine Hütte ohne Seitenwände jedoch mit Dach und kleiner Terasse. Angesichts des Preises hätte ich schon etwas mehr erwartet. Frühstück ist gut und ausreichend. Es gibt Früchte und Brot sowie Ei in verschiedenen Variationen. Beim Abendesssen gibt es nur ein Einheitsessen normalerweise ohne Wahlmöglichkeit. Die Bar im Hotel hat nur eine kleine Auswahl von Cocktails und auch die Auswahl beim Bier ist limitiert.(nationales Pilsen von Costa Rica war nicht erhältlich) Dafür liegt die Anlage in traumhafter Natur. Belästigung durch Mücken gab es keine. Der Strand am Meer ist wunderschön, jedoch Baden im Meer ist problematisch aufgrund der starken Brandung und Strömung.Für Kinder gänzlich ungeeignet. Dafür gibt es selbst in unmittelbarer Nähe viele Tiere zu sehen, z. B Ameisenbär, Papageien (Aras wunderschön) Tucane, Affen, EIdechsen in verschiedenen Größen, Scorpione und Spinnen. Traumhafte Naur pur! Ein Schwimmbad gibt es im Hotel nicht und auch Internet ist nur im Nachbarhotel Lookout verfügbar gegen Berechnung.