Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Duiven

Amazing place! A must go!

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Location: 800 meters from the starting point of where you walk into Corcovado NP. Right next to the airstrip. Cross the street and you are on the beach.
The open bungalow was perfectly integrated in the garden. We had a Tapir visiting us early morning at our room (his nose was sniffing our veranda with us standing 50cm away). I also met this tapir at night when I walked to the restaurant. The owners are very welcoming and very nice. The food they make is amazing. The guide they arranged for us to go into Corcovado NP was very good. We saw so many animals (tayra's, tamandua's, monkeys, white-nosed coati's with many babies, many snakes and lots of birds). The property itself is amazing and you could walk around for days. Every building looks amazing. One of the best places we have ever been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mariafrom bogota, colombia

Alucinante

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
Alucinante, es un lugar de ensueño para estar en contacto con la naturaleza, desconectarte de todo y comer delicioso
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nie wieder!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Die Lage. Der Nationalpark Corcovado ist einen zweistündigen Fussmarsch von Finca Exotica entfernt, mit dem Auto kommt man dort nicht hin.
Cons: Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis und Sicherheit! Geboten wird Camping-Comfort, aber Preise wie im 5-Sterne-Hotel! Nicht zu rechtfertigen
Location: Unternehmungen: Nationalparkausflüge, Reiten, Kajak fahren, besser nicht schwimmen (Bullenhaie). Infrastruktur: Keine, einsam, schlechte Straßen
PREIS-LEISTUNGS-VERHÄLTNIS: Über 1200 USD für 4 Nächte (inkl. 3 Abendessen, Frühstück, 3 Ausflüge) für Nichts! CABIN: - nicht abschließbar - Nur kaltes Wasser (auch Dusche) - Bad (Holzverschlag 10 Meter von der Cabin entfernt) ohne Strom - Cabin ist ca. 60 steile Höhenmeter vom Strand entfernt auf einem Hügel und ohne Blitzableiter (super Erfahrung bei Gewitter direkt über dir!) - Wege nachts unbeleuchtet - kein Guard o.ä. (Notfälle?!) - Nur durch leichtes Moskitonetz vom Dschungel getrennt, welches direkt über dem Bett hängt - Cabin dunkel, winzig und permanent feucht, kein Raum für Gepäck ESSEN: - Qualität gut - Keine Wahlmöglichkeit, es gibt immer nur EIN Gericht zu einer FESTEN Uhrzeit, wo ALLE an einem Tisch sitzen und sich entweder unterhalten müssen oder z.T. betreten nebeneinander her schweigen (wir hatten aber z.T. auch sehr nette Gesprächspartner) - Frühstück zur regulären Zeit (8 Uhr) ok (kein Frühstücksbuffet), aber will man eine Tour machen, gibt es um 6.30 Uhr nur verbrannten Toast mit einer Marmelade und Rührei PERSONAL: - Staff nett, wie überall in CR - Eigentümer Markus haben wir als bevormundend empfunden - Auf unsere Bewertung auf Tripadvisor wurde unsachlich & beleidigend reagiert, man scheint nicht gewillt, gewisse Sicherheitsmängel & Kritikpunkte zu beheben Dringend zu verbessern: Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis & Sicherheit! Geboten: Camping-Comfort. Preise: Wie im 5-Sterne-Hotel! Nicht zu rechtfertigen, haben wir in CR viel besser & billiger erlebt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donna

not for all but the adventurer

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Not for just any traveler! Best for adults...older kids maybe....couples yes, esp young And we met so many wonderful guests who share in adventure
Cons: smaller food portions!!
Location: remote
no A/C and cold showers?? Well, too bad! The food, ambiance and romance abounds!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great for Eco-Tourists

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
Great Garden and Chill-out area, but rooms are very simple and similar to Camping. Food was good but expensive (and no alternatives next 30 Kilometers)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Erikafrom Toronto

Beautiful Escape in the Jungle

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels
This is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay if you like nature. Everything is open air and it has a rustic feel. I stayed in the Rancho cabin, which was comfortable and pretty. It is up a steep hill and wouldn't be suitable for anyone with limited mobility. You also have to like the outdoors- if you are afraid of bugs or animals this place is not for you. Macaws and other animals are all around, which I found beautiful. Finca Exotica also has a great yoga platform. The management was generous and helpful- free fruit, breakfast included, and they didn't charge for an extra night that I missed due to a stay at Corcovado. This place is also IDEAL if you are hiking out from Sirena to La Leona in Corcovado Park- it's an easy walk or 5 minute drive. Everyone else I hiked with faced an hour and a half bumpy ride back to town, while I was already enjoying my hammock at Finca Exotica.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nature lovers

A true wilderness experience....

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: The gardens are fascinating, and the hosts give a great tour. All the monkeys, tamanduas, scarlet macaws, and gobs of other wildlife. Food was great.
Cons: Hot water showers and additional screening (for privacy and from insects) would help. Also, a bit more light in the cabinas. And fix up beach house.
Location: Beach is great, and Corcovado.
Was expecting rough, but for the price, not this rough. The area is a paradise, but the accommodations could be improved for comfort and amenities. Beach is lovely, and the Finca is close to Corcovado and it's marvelous wildlife and habitats. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Travellerfrom San Diego

Prepare to Camp - at Luxury hotel rates !

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels
This was by far one of the most disappointing places I have stayed in my life (I have travelled a lot). Where do I start , staff is comprised of volunteers that stay for free therefore customer service is non-existent. The chef was the exception - he was pleasant to chat with. Cleanliness - Poor! We stayed for three nights and the bed sheets/towels were never switched (in a room with no ac and no windows with 90 degree temperatures). There is no warm water in the open shower or open bathroom- so prepare to take cold showers - Hotel Amenities - non-existent - there are NO lights to guide the guests into their rooms or no lamps in the rooms (yes its completely pitch black after dark - bring your own camping light since they don't offer any) , therefore if you need to use the outside restroom that is a hike from your room , prepare to walk in the pitch dark in a rainforest. There is no electricity - no internet and no stores around for 40 km - bring your own camp food since they completely over charge for lunch and for dinner (or call in advance to ask for lunch/dinner rates). I have learned later the lodge does have electricity and internet but staff does not share - they use it to charge their laptops and surf the internet. The free breakfast included is disappointing - you get burnt toast or 2 pancakes with a few pieces of watermelon - if you ask for eggs your will get the stare of death from the volunteer staff. Overall a very disappointing camp stay - at luxury hotel prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Everything
Myself and my 9 year old daughter had an amazing time at Finca Exotica Lodge! Memories to last a lifetime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by florence

un paraiso

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels
el hotel es increible, el personal que nos recibio qualidad, muy amables y serviales, comidad muy buena tambien