Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.0 Service & staff
1.6 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Bathroom door would not close room too hot n uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Couldn't even Stay!!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing!
Cons: Alot! We would like to use Expedia again, but now are rethinking. Maybe look into some of the hotels that are in your network and reevaluate.
As we pulled into parking lot, we got a bad impression. The hotel itself looked run down, there were hardly any cars in the lot, and there were some "questionable" characters hanging around outside. Going into the lobby, the front door had no handle as the door was ajar and you had to open it that way. The lobby was not very inviting either as there was a distinct smell of body odor as soon as you walked in. Now the lady working the desk was very nice and was very gracious. We have no complaints about the service we received. We pulled around to our room and that's where our "questionable" characters come into play. There were a couple of guys hanging outside on the upper floor drinking. A door was open and they were throwing objects out of the room into the lot. A woman was laying on the horn of her car trying to get someones attention. We go intio the room and look around and just did not get a feeling we were in a "clean" room. The shower had two used bars of soap sitting on the surround! The beds looked like they were made, and not stripped and changed. The chain lock on the door was inoperable. The part that holds the chain could come out of the wall. It was pulled out of the wall and just put back in so it appeared to be attached. We did NOT stay here. We just left and went down the road to another hotel. In the morning, we returned to "check out."
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
no toilet paper dowel in either room. air-conditioning did not work; had to sleep with door left open. pillows sucked. door to room had gap in door frame allowing big bugs in. very poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The worst hotel I've ever been. Everything is super dirty!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nightmare

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Cons: Everything.
The hotel room was stuffy, had insects. I would never recommend this place for anyone to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryville, TN

Bad Experience

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Absolutely NOTHING!
Cons: Everything
Hello, We arrived to the Hotel that we booked online at 2 AM after driving about 7 hours. There where people in the front of the Motel that scattered when we pulled up. My husband got out and from the outside window of the Motel got the key to the room. We come in for the car show in Du Quoin so we were trailering our vehicle that were showing in it. When we got our stuff and went to room there were several police in the back part of the motel that we were staying on. Not sure what was going on but did not get a warm fuzzy feeling about staying in this motel. Needless to say i did not sleep a wink and we left there early the next morning to find another place to stay! This place at one time might have been nice and a good part of town but it is NOT anymore. I would not recommend it or stay there ever again...I DO NOT think that we should be charged for that night and i hope that all your facilities are not like this one. I do not know if you pay visits to your motels but this is one that needs to be looked at and some changes made!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The proverbial "Dive"

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and it was quiet. The rate was very low however, the old adage,"You get what you pay for." was clearly in play here. Polite staff.
Cons: Get some kind of a dress code for the staff. Put coffee service and refrigerators in the rooms. What happened to the truck/RV parking??
Location: There were a few places within walking distance but the area was a little seedy. I ordered Chinese take out next door and ate it in my room.
The facility was in decent shape although it looked a bit old and outdated. It was easy to locate even though I was pulling a boat trailer the parking lot/area was easy to navigate. One of things I noted on the online description was free truck/RV parking. As far as I could tell there was nothing, only single vehicle marked spaces adjacent to the hotel building and a very small parking lot with opposing spaces that allowed me to park my rig. My rig extended a couple of feet beyond the parking space on both ends and I was a little concerned about possibly getting bumped by other vehicle moving through the lot. The staff was polite but their appearance was disturbing to say the least. I didn't feel that their attire projected a professional appearance one would expect from reception persons. I don't know if there are standards associated with operating an America's Best Value Inn franchise but the appearance of the reception staff was disturbing. There was no visible way of ascertaining if a person was hotel staff or a guest or just someone hanging out since none of the folks I encountered wore any uniform or ID tags.
2 out of 5
by Dan

Just OK

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and price.
Cons: Take your pick of...towels in the room...TV remote...more functional door...overall need to upgrade the building.
Location: Very near SIU, shopping mall and food.
The desk staff was friendly and responsive to my needs. The TV remote was missing and the maintenance man brought me another one, but he could only program it to change channels. There were no towels in the room. I got them from the front desk. The breakfast was dry cereal, a banana, and one cup of coffee. The door to my room was beat up and hard to close. Overall, I was comfortable there, but you need to be prepared to fend for yourself. Their best asset is their staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near SIU-Carbondale

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Was waiting to take State testing and needed a comfortable place near the school.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very scary

Posted May 24, 2014
I arrived at about 9:00. My room was on the second floor so I parked outside and got out of my car. A few other hotel patrons came out (I believe they were long term residents) and just stared at me as I walked up the stairs. At the top of the stairs, there was a persons grocery cart of personal belongings right next to my room. At the time I arrived, two seperate families were having domestic disputes. One woman was following her boyfriend around the parking lot running down his transgressions while another family that was spread out between two or three rooms screamed and alternately went I'm and out of the rooms, slamming the doors for emphasis. My room had one tv channel (animal planet) a broken drawer and a punch hole through the bathroom door. After about 15 minutes, I began to be concerned about what would happen after the front desk crew left at eleven, so I decided to leave. The staff was very understanding and agreed to refund my money. I went up the road to the Holiday Inn and had a wonderful experience. I believe there are far more long term residents than guests here.