Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.0 Service & staff
1.6 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryville, TN

Bad Experience

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Absolutely NOTHING!
Cons: Everything
Hello, We arrived to the Hotel that we booked online at 2 AM after driving about 7 hours. There where people in the front of the Motel that scattered when we pulled up. My husband got out and from the outside window of the Motel got the key to the room. We come in for the car show in Du Quoin so we were trailering our vehicle that were showing in it. When we got our stuff and went to room there were several police in the back part of the motel that we were staying on. Not sure what was going on but did not get a warm fuzzy feeling about staying in this motel. Needless to say i did not sleep a wink and we left there early the next morning to find another place to stay! This place at one time might have been nice and a good part of town but it is NOT anymore. I would not recommend it or stay there ever again...I DO NOT think that we should be charged for that night and i hope that all your facilities are not like this one. I do not know if you pay visits to your motels but this is one that needs to be looked at and some changes made!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The proverbial "Dive"

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and it was quiet. The rate was very low however, the old adage,"You get what you pay for." was clearly in play here. Polite staff.
Cons: Get some kind of a dress code for the staff. Put coffee service and refrigerators in the rooms. What happened to the truck/RV parking??
Location: There were a few places within walking distance but the area was a little seedy. I ordered Chinese take out next door and ate it in my room.
The facility was in decent shape although it looked a bit old and outdated. It was easy to locate even though I was pulling a boat trailer the parking lot/area was easy to navigate. One of things I noted on the online description was free truck/RV parking. As far as I could tell there was nothing, only single vehicle marked spaces adjacent to the hotel building and a very small parking lot with opposing spaces that allowed me to park my rig. My rig extended a couple of feet beyond the parking space on both ends and I was a little concerned about possibly getting bumped by other vehicle moving through the lot. The staff was polite but their appearance was disturbing to say the least. I didn't feel that their attire projected a professional appearance one would expect from reception persons. I don't know if there are standards associated with operating an America's Best Value Inn franchise but the appearance of the reception staff was disturbing. There was no visible way of ascertaining if a person was hotel staff or a guest or just someone hanging out since none of the folks I encountered wore any uniform or ID tags.
2 out of 5
by Dan

Just OK

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and price.
Cons: Take your pick of...towels in the room...TV remote...more functional door...overall need to upgrade the building.
Location: Very near SIU, shopping mall and food.
The desk staff was friendly and responsive to my needs. The TV remote was missing and the maintenance man brought me another one, but he could only program it to change channels. There were no towels in the room. I got them from the front desk. The breakfast was dry cereal, a banana, and one cup of coffee. The door to my room was beat up and hard to close. Overall, I was comfortable there, but you need to be prepared to fend for yourself. Their best asset is their staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near SIU-Carbondale

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Was waiting to take State testing and needed a comfortable place near the school.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very scary

Posted May 24, 2014
I arrived at about 9:00. My room was on the second floor so I parked outside and got out of my car. A few other hotel patrons came out (I believe they were long term residents) and just stared at me as I walked up the stairs. At the top of the stairs, there was a persons grocery cart of personal belongings right next to my room. At the time I arrived, two seperate families were having domestic disputes. One woman was following her boyfriend around the parking lot running down his transgressions while another family that was spread out between two or three rooms screamed and alternately went I'm and out of the rooms, slamming the doors for emphasis. My room had one tv channel (animal planet) a broken drawer and a punch hole through the bathroom door. After about 15 minutes, I began to be concerned about what would happen after the front desk crew left at eleven, so I decided to leave. The staff was very understanding and agreed to refund my money. I went up the road to the Holiday Inn and had a wonderful experience. I believe there are far more long term residents than guests here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place need to be close down !!

Posted May 24, 2014
The place was the worst I ever seen!!!!!!!!!! People pay over the phone and think they have a clean place to lay there head and get their and get the shock of there life. Trash ever where.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This motel needs a lot of remodeling and repair

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Low price, which was necessary, given the poor quality of the room.
Cons: Significant remodelling.
Location: Didn't matter to me. Chinese restaurant next door was OK.
Towel rack loose on wall-screw pulled out and rack hanging by one other screw. Had been screwed into drywall. Other towel bar missing-apparently taken off of wall. Linens threadbare. Motel advertized continental breakfast on sign in front, but office didn't open until 7:00 a.m., so no food was available when I checked out at 6:30.
1 out of 5
by Roxy from Illinois

Hotel rooms are very un-comfortable and not safe

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: the only good thing about the hotel is that it was only 5 minutes away from the College were I needed to go
Cons: the smell, up to date bedding and maybe changing the mattress. Stop people from hanging outside others hotel room.
Location: There are plenty of restuarants nearby
The hotel staff was friendly, but the hotel rooms were very un-comfortable. My room smelt like heavy cigarette smoke. There were guys hanging outside my hotel room. I did not feel safe at all. My daughter rented a room also, her room smelt like alcohol. I only slept for 2 hours and that is because I couldn't stay awake any longer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Chicago, IL

Convenience

Posted May 13, 2014
My little sister graduated and the hotel was about five away from SIU. Its about seven mins away from the mall area. The attendee was kind enough to give us directions. But if you're looking for a 5,4, or even 3 star hotel look again. We brought plastic to cover the beds and our own linen. Wouldn't dare take my shoes off. I hate to be so negative but the truth is the place is not the best. It can easily be the worse. I giggle to myself because of how uncomfortable my sisters were.One of them cried. Couldn't tell you about the breakfast. We didn't stay long enough to see what they had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was decent for the price. I'd stay again.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The laminate floors were nicer than your typical carpet.
Cons: The AC situation and a few more towels for the double rooms would be nice.
Location: The Mexican place next door was pretty good but the rest of the neighborhood is on the sketchy side. Still, nothing particularly worrisome happened.
The rooms were nice and clean. My only gripe is that the AC was very loud and there was no way to set it so that the fan would continuously run and it woke me up several times kicking on and off. For the price though, it was alright.