Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much to be desired

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Hotel staff was friendly although room left much to be desired. Tub was rusty and unclean as well as our non-smoking room smelled of smoke.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Only Hotel Not Sold Out

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: location to SIU campus, had a new shower curtain
Cons: new carpet, holes in walls fixed, paint, deodorized, new mattress, new pillows
Pros: hair dryer and TV worked, air conditioner worked Cons: rug felt greasy to your feet, cigarette burn marks along the lip of the tub, seriously checked the bed for bed bugs, one blanket had dried "food" stuck to it, hair (not our own) found on "clean" towels and hand cloths Unsure: didn't check to see if the microwave and fridge worked, don't know if they had a continental breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Casfrom Chicago

Cas

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good orange juice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Possibly the worst dump ever!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Can't believe Expedia still place hotels like this on their sight. I will think twice about using Expedia for hotels in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kurtfrom Central Illinois

Major Changes need to take place.

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Econo Lodge in Carbondale has become a place of permanent residency more than a Hotel that serves travelers. This will be the last time we stay there or possibly at any other Econo Lodge, here are the reasons; 1. The hotel did not receive the information I shared when I reserved the room on line. I reserved a roll away bed, and we were told that we would be charged $10 for a roll away, even though the advertisement said it was complimentary. For a positive, the manager did switch our room to a double bed occupancy. With that in mind, the grounds were filled with litter and one could easily tell that the Hotel has NOT been well maintained at all with cracks and lack of paint. When my wife went for Breakfast, she said the food was NOT desireable at all, even though it said that a complimenatry breakfast came wiht it. Our room was fine, but needs major updating as the room has various chips and one can tell the furniture has NOT been updated or maintained for a long time. I am somewhat surprised that this hotel has not been given an annual review for positive changes to take place.
1 out of 5
by Smartladyfrom Missouri

Scary place to be and heat was weak.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: It was close to restaurants.
Cons: The rooms need better locks and security. Managers need to be more diligent about the illegal activity going on at the motel.
Location: There are plenty of places to eat and the college is nearby.
When I arrived everything seemed normal. Then, after I arrived to my room, it was ice cold. I turned the heat on and waited an hour for the room to warm up. It was still so cold, especially the floor. I turned up the heat, but it was still too cold. I was going to ask for help, but when I looked out my window I saw pitbulls being walked and became frightened. I also saw some dangerous activity going on, so I thought it would be best to get out of there before I got hurt. I did not stay the night because was very cold and frightened. I do not recommend anyone staying here. It was also a nonsmoking room and it had a smell to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ranfrom Memphis

Horrible stay

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I arrived, the front desk attendant was more interested in talking to her boyfriend then greeting me. Next, the printer would not work and the computer was slow. I was not able to get the room I had booked less then thirty minutes earlier. Once in the room, the bathroom was dirty, there was no smoke detector, and the bathroom door would not shut. If I had been staying there longer then one night, I would have found a new hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Vinay Kumar Rajuri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are willing to over look that it is a little outdated, you could have a nice stay. It isn't the most up to date but the room was comfortable and clean and the staff were great.