Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Nice place to rest after a long day of driving. Comfy, clean, NICE shower pressure. Breakfast and coffee were also good the next morning. Didn't stay long enough to say much more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joanna from Mattoon

Good clean service

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
This was not a 5 start hotel but was clean and the service was great. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Illinois

A good, inexpensive alternative to Carbondale

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Some protein (other than cold hard boiled eggs) would be nice at breakfast. Yogurt, maybe?
Location: About 15 miles from Southern Illinois University. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
We have stayed here a few times while visiting our daughter @ SIU. Hotels in Carbondale are stupid expensive; Marion makes a much better priced alternative. This particular hotel in Marion suits all our needs at a very reasonable rate. It has an indoor pool and a hot tub. Rooms are big, very clean, comfortable and kitted out with a microwave and mini fridge. Wifi is fast, free and reliable. Breakfast is a little minimal, but it's something to eat and the coffee is good. The people who run the place are friendly and accommodating. We will keep coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benton, KY

The hotel is dated has an odd smell!!!!! And mold!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The room was unkempt, we had to actually make the bed, looked like they had just thrown sheets on the mattress and tucked the corners. Smelled like smoke, and the fire/smoke alarm didn't work! Dead bugs in room. The pool area had water that was dripping from a 16'x16' area at the internal entrance, with mold on walls and 4' of standing water as soon as you opened the door. No exterior doors locked. College kids partied all night two doors down!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet from Mid-Mo

Decent place

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
I reserved the room with some hesitation due to the previous reviews. The hotel could use some cosmetic updates, paint etc. But the room was more than adequate for the one night we needed it for. The staff was cordial. I would stay there again if needed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from springfield

horrible

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
It smelled like smoke in the hole hotel it was horrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean and comfy; old

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Room was clean, no appreciable odor. Holes in the carpet, wear and tear evident throughout. Comfortable bed. Requested first floor and got it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julian from Roanoke Valley

You get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels
Facility could use significant updating and newer furnishings. Most everything was moderately clean but the overall appearance was somewhat drab. The price of the unit makes it difficult to complain too much.