Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Illinois

A good, inexpensive alternative to Carbondale

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Some protein (other than cold hard boiled eggs) would be nice at breakfast. Yogurt, maybe?
Location: About 15 miles from Southern Illinois University. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
We have stayed here a few times while visiting our daughter @ SIU. Hotels in Carbondale are stupid expensive; Marion makes a much better priced alternative. This particular hotel in Marion suits all our needs at a very reasonable rate. It has an indoor pool and a hot tub. Rooms are big, very clean, comfortable and kitted out with a microwave and mini fridge. Wifi is fast, free and reliable. Breakfast is a little minimal, but it's something to eat and the coffee is good. The people who run the place are friendly and accommodating. We will keep coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Benton, KY

The hotel is dated has an odd smell!!!!! And mold!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The room was unkempt, we had to actually make the bed, looked like they had just thrown sheets on the mattress and tucked the corners. Smelled like smoke, and the fire/smoke alarm didn't work! Dead bugs in room. The pool area had water that was dripping from a 16'x16' area at the internal entrance, with mold on walls and 4' of standing water as soon as you opened the door. No exterior doors locked. College kids partied all night two doors down!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janetfrom Mid-Mo

Decent place

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I reserved the room with some hesitation due to the previous reviews. The hotel could use some cosmetic updates, paint etc. But the room was more than adequate for the one night we needed it for. The staff was cordial. I would stay there again if needed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisafrom springfield

horrible

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It smelled like smoke in the hole hotel it was horrible
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Clean and comfy; old

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Room was clean, no appreciable odor. Holes in the carpet, wear and tear evident throughout. Comfortable bed. Requested first floor and got it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julianfrom Roanoke Valley

You get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Facility could use significant updating and newer furnishings. Most everything was moderately clean but the overall appearance was somewhat drab. The price of the unit makes it difficult to complain too much.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Econo in Marion

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Did not appear, feel, smell very clean
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom madison, indiana

Terrible room

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Would never recommend this hotel. Bed was disgusting, carpet filthy.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by johnfrom Homer Mi

SUCKS

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place Sucks I would This place sucks sleepin my pickup before
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Plano

Avoid this motel at all costs

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lamp shades were filthy. Mirror had streaky film on it. Old nasty furniture lined up in the hallway. Every morning when we would take the elevator downstairs there would be an employee with linens all over the hallway, on chairs, etc. Not sure if it was clean or dirty laundry. There was a Mercedes and an SUV parked under the canopy the entire time we were there. I assume it was the owners or the managers. The indoor pool was clean but we brought our two young grandchildren over to swim and had to pay $5.00 each for them to swim.