Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very clean, well maintained,professional staff.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: location, close but far enough away to give separation.
Cons: guesses are above average income and a 24/7 dry cleaning would b a plus, might not b a big $ maker for the chain, but it would b a hit with guesses.
Location: went to area for wedding, found everything close and easy to get to.
attention to detail by housekeeping, carpets in hallways well maintained,same with all other furniture,staff always attempted to render a verbal greeting to all guests all the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Connie

Time for updates

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms, though, are in need of updates. The linens were fine, but the desk chair was horribly uncomfortable and not in great condition. The couch was also kind of rough. I stay at Hampton Inn's frequently for business and was a tad bit disappointed in this location. Again, it was clean and the bed was comfortable, so it wasn't awful. Just not up to the standards that I would normally associate with a Hampton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethany from new jersey

Nice clean hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Room was nice, everything was clean. The hotel had some remodeling in process when you walked to the front desk but it did not cause any problems. Overall the price was reasonable and I had a good nights rest during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Convenient to SIU

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was extremely convenient to SIU, much better than staying in Marion. The room was well kept and no bed bugs (the wife checked). All-in-all, a nice quiet stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect!!

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a Great stay! Close to everything- Safe area, Helpful staff- Pool was great for our grandchildren who came to visit. Will stay here again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill from Volo

Nice Stay

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hampton is the best hotel in Carbondale. Excellent service, clean room, and great location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by matt

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not what I was led to believe. One of the main reasons I selected this hotel from the many others was that it listed pay per view movies as an amenity. Never has had this according to the hotel staff. I didn't like that fact that I was led to believe that the hotel was locate just off the interstate. Instead, its about 15min west. But I will put that one on me. Not a bad hotel and the staff was friendly enough but for $120 a night I expect much more. Unless you are have business in Carbondale / Southern Illinois University, I would suggest that you stay in a hotel in Marion which is right on the interstate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S. Gifford from Rockford, IL

SIU move in

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
First impression was bad. No one was at the front desk for approx. 20 minutes. By the time desk clerk showed up, there were patrons backed up to the doorway.. The explanation given was that the hotel was sold out. On the other hand, the breakfast was very good and staff was excellent. I would stay there again.