Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolingbrook Illinois

Excellent staff! Very helpful!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I stayed at this hotel while in town visiting family. We had a family emergency and I ended up bringing 2 small children back to the hotel with me. The staff upgraded my room so we could all fit comfortably in the 1 room. I would definitely stay at this hotel again next time I am in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carbondale illinois

Unhappy

Posted Aug 9, 2014
My daughter and i were staying one night, we had just drove 5 hours and had to be up early the next day, my daughter slept with me because her bed and pillows had several black hairs, long and short on the bedding, mine had a few on couple of pillows and one on sheet, otherwise it was pretty clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Kara, Hotel Management
I would like to begin by apologizing that your stay was not up to standard. I assure you that we take cleanliness very seriously here at the Holiday Inn Carbondale and this issue will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. It is our highest priority that our guests spend each night comfortable and leave each morning feeling rested. The next time you visit Carbondale please give us a call as we would be happy to have you. Jane Kearney General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel access to nearby town for entertainment

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The hotel was very nice and the beds were super comfortable. There wasn't a hot tub which was disappointing but otherwise very nice pool and facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H. illinois

Undergoing renovations

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The hotel was undergoing renovations but there was no indication at booking and there was no price discount.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Something in the room never works

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel twice and there is always something that is not working in the room (stopped up sink in the bath room to TV) They recently installed new tub/shower hardware. There is no lever to pull up for the shower. You now have to turn and pull down the ring at the base of the tub spigot. I turned and nothing happened. Although this may be a high tech feature, I stay in too many different hotels to want to bother with having to figure everything out. I don't need the latest but just want a clean, decent room at the end of a long day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014
It was a nice hotel to stay at. We will be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Ottawa, Canada

Great hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: - hotel and restaurant staff was very courteous and helpful - rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean - I did not use the pool so can't comment
Cons: - Loud sound of toilets flushing - attached restaurant was a great place when it was Houlihan's but is now very quiet in the evening
Location: A bit out of town but worth it for the hotel quality. Boondocks is empty in the evening so spending the evening there is not an attraction anymore
Have stayed at this hotel every time I have visited Carbondale. During this trip, I spent 4 nights while apartment hunting. Was a comfortable, clean place to stay - as always.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Kara, Hotel Management
Marie, Thank you for your kind words and welcome to the area! I'm glad that we are your go to hotel when you need a place to stay. I look forward to taking care of your guests now that you are a resident of our part of the country. Jane Kearney General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MVC Weekend

Posted May 25, 2014
We had a very enjoyable 3 day stay. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vijay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabeth from Algonquin

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wish they sold pillows in a lobby kiosk because I never slept better!