Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Dirty Hotel with a Good Locatio

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The man at the front desk was very unwelcoming and I greeted him, but he never greeted me. Also, I was given a handicap room for some reason, I'm not handicapped, so it was weird having to bend down for things (such as looking out of the peep hole). Also, a dirty towel was left hanging on one of the handicap rails, the chair had a large, dark stain on it, and the bedspread had a very questionable stain that made me uncomfortable. The next day, the room service lady kept knocking on my door to let me know check out was at 11am (which we knew but I think she was trying to rush us). Then when we left, the same man that checked me in never said goodbye or come again. He just said "I'll take that" and took my room keys. That stay was the first time I'd ever left a hotel saying id never come back and I'm not even picky. I was horrified with the service and maintenance of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for business travel.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Nice hotel for your business travel. nice location. beds really not that comfortable. but I had a good night sleep anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis Mo

Rundown hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Hotel was rundown had soft spots in floor elevator didn't work well, and the toilets were to little felt like you was sitting on the floor. And to top it all off when we had to leave early because of a snow storm coming in they wouldn't refund our last night stay. Will never stay at that hotel again
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester Minnesota

Slapped together and it shows.

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Nice owner, decent mini breakfast, free newspapers, 6 square delightfully fluffy pillows per bed, could exit our room to the car.
Cons: The things that can actually be improved at this point were cleanliness, flushable toilets, and outside door with a working lock.
Location: Hotel near University Mall and easy drive into town to SIU. On highway toward Marion.
My husband and grown daughter were in town for college scholarship interviews. We stayed three nights. Because there isn't enough space in the Needs improvement text box, I'm including it here. The bad: Room wasn't heated before we arrived and turned on the heat ourselves. Two perfume-soaked spongy things were stuck in the heater's vents which was way too much scent for me. Only one free outlet for our three phones, one laptop, and one e-reader to charge from. (We ended up buying ourselves a power strip.) Wall paint was just splashed on without any attempt to get all the unpainted wall or wipe clean those areas that had paint smeared on them. Tissue in dispenser had something dripped on it that had hardened. Floor wasn't well vacuumed. The toilet clogged and my husband had to go ask for a plunger, and had to use it every time it was used for you-know-what. It was extra windy outside and the wind blew across the windows so loudly that I though a nearby building must be gradually losing its roof. It evidently used to be a motel with outside door access, but the door was now blocked with a chair. We could go out of it to the car in the parking lot, which was convenient, but the card reader on it didn't work so we had to enter through the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Needs updating hotel need remodeling. Staff is friendly, shower curtain was full of hair.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sherrifrom Hickman

not available

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This room was not available when we got there. Was told all rooms were overbooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Nice hotel next to lots of retail stores

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Comfortable affordable convinient location clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Very rude staff!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
I asked to use a rolling cart to tak my belongings to my car the staff/housekeeper rudely tells m NO! The second floor hallway felt like they where going to fall through or collapse! Tub had faint dirt ring! Horrible!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Illinoisfrom Libertyville, il

Nice and quiet and great nightly price too!

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nice and quiet For the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Hotel was ok for the price.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Update the rooms.
Location: Lots to do in walking distance or a short drive.
Staff was friendly. The first room we were in the heat didn't work but they promptly moved us to another room with no troubles. If the beds were more comfortable and the noise level was better I would have given a higher rating. Room was loud with banging doors and you could hear other customer moving about upstairs, next door and in the halls.