Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The room smelled. Although advertised as non-smoking, it didn't smell like it. It was also musty-smelling. It didn't feel clean and an iron mark on the carpet apparently doesn't warrant repair. The sink is stained and the faucet leaks. The towels are threadbare. Using the exterior door for exit only was awkward. This hotel just seemed like a place that is hanging by a thread.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

you get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
facilities seemed very unclean (pizza crust laying in the hallway). TV was broken in one room, lamp was broken in another room. Suspicious stains on carpets and furniture. Some rooms on the first floor had room entry on the outside of the building which felt unsecure. Was booked for 3 nights but left after 1 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Adequate in all areas

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Location, access, and reasonable price of lodging for budget minded travellers.
Cons: Weak orange juice from dispenser.
Location: 2 miles east of SIU campus on IL Hwy 13 and directly adjacent to various fast-food places and Walmart store.
The hotel was adequate in all physical criteria and met my expectations after a previous online review. I was a late arrival and departed after an early breakfast. The room was clean including bath/shower/toilet and sink areas. Bed was clean and comfortable. There were not many other occupants, and my air conditioner was on low so it was very quiet night's sleep. Breakfast offerings were adequate but not great; orange juice was diluted and weak, and I did not try the coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Cheap hotel near SIU

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The kids liked the pool and breakfast in the morning.
Cons: The smell in the hallways should be investigated and hopefully fixed.
Location: It is near the SIU campus and had lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
The check in was quick and easy. The hallways were a little shabby and there was a pungent incense smell that was a little disconcerting; however, once in the room it was quiet and pleasant. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows/blankets were very soft; however, the comforter on top was very shabby and had cigarette burns. For the money though it was a decent place to stay near the university.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rolla, Mo

Great price comfortable room

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Great price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Price
Location: Close to all in Carbondale
Our stay was what we would have expected. The hotel was average and the breakfast was what we had expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Norman, Oklahoma

Convenient hotel off route 13

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Close to the highway.
Cons: The decor could be updated a bit more.
Location: The mall is just down the road, movie theater, eateries, Southern Illinois University just minutes away.
Quick and easy check-in and check-out, polite staff.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lee from Grayslake

Not good

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Holes in drywall in the ceiling, lampshades busted, spider webs in corners, not all lights worked. Room smelled terrible. Didn't even stay. Wasted money to go to another hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kirk from Decatur

Good value

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Well located, clean, average accomodations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean, convenient hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Price, cleanliness, convenience.
Cons: Too much air freshener in the common areas. Did not affect room air quality at all though.
Location: SIU is near and Giant City State park is beautiful. Great central location to many attractions.
Hotel is basic but clean and rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast is ok for a quick bite to eat.