Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Characterful hotel within the castle walls

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The garden and the character
Cons: a better bar in terms of range of drinks and not seeming to be low on supplies!
Location: Clearly the castle which is amazing [but busy!] we explored Carcassonne into town, took a canal trip, drove to the Pyrenees, Narbonne and Toulouse
Arriving at the car park to be advised we would be walking into the castle to find the hotel added to the experience. The room was small but nice and the hotel garden was a peaceful haven, a better stocked bar would have been good but the breakfast buffet was a real pleasure. A shame that there is no pool in the hotel but the character of the building more than made up for this. Very busy outside during the day but you could always retreat to the hotel garden for a break from the crowds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Cons: Service in the canteen and booking facilities for excursions.
We loved the location. Situated in the 'Cite' - allowed us to have quiet time looking around before the hordes of other tourists arrived. The room was smaller than we would have expected but equipped well, clean and air conditioned. Concierge facilitation of trips etc was lacking, so whilst we could be directed to places to explore, excursions had to be booked through other agents. They have lots of leaflets to look through. Breakfast was functional - continental with scrambled eggs and sausages as hot options. When we attended staff were in a room away from the canteen area - so little guidance and support and poor welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Fantastic location.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Location. Location. Location.
Cons: It was more than fine.
Location: The old walled city is amazing but go into town especially on market day.
Great service. Loved the room. Staff were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stirling, Scotland

Room

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The garden area of the main hotel was beautiful.
Cons: The accommodation in our annex. It was most definitely NOT 4 STAR
Location: Carcassonne is a very attractive place, very historic. In our opinion it is well worth a visit.
My wife and I were very disappointed in the room we had for two nights (23/24 July 2014). It was situated about 100 metres from the main hotel. This meant that if one was having breakfast, as we did on our second morning, one had to brave the elements to reach the dining room. (It did rain on several occasions when we were in Carcassonne) The room was very small and had a poor standard of furniture. We have stayed in many 4 star hotels in many parts of the world and this was, by far, the poorest. We have also stayed in 3 star Best Western hotels that were considerably better than this one. Overall, a very poor hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by e Meresse, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for taking time to leave your feedback as it is great help for us to continuously improve and we shall take your opinion into account. After reading your opinion about your experience at Hotel Donjon, I would like to sincerely apologize because you did not enjoy the experience. However and to reply to this feedback, all our guest are informed on our website that the hotel is split in 3 houses. And I need to precise that all our rooms have same standards; it means rooms in the “house Donjon” and also rooms in the “house Remparts” or “House of Comte Roger”. We did not worth less treatment for guests located in “house Remparts”. The main difference between the rooms is the size because obviously, classic rooms are the smallest one, superior are bigger, and family rooms also and so on. I’m totally agree with you when you wrote that the 2 mains houses are 100 meters one from the other. However, the citadel is protected by UNESCO worldwide heritage. So, when we had the opportunity to grow it has been with another Building closed to the main one. And to overcome this inconvenient, we have porter and driver service that transfer guest on their arrival and on their departure to avoid walking within the street of the citadel. This service is a 4 stars hotel service. We also offer the option room breakfast in all our houses, and it can be an alternative solution when it is raining outside and when people does not want to across the street for bad weather. Regarding the room size there are all in the standard of 4 stars hotel in France but as I said previously we have differences within rooms’ categories. So I really regret that you did not express your displeasure to the management on the check out. I could organize you a transfer during their stay for go from one building to the other. I am however glad to see that you enjoyed our garden and surroundings. We hope to welcome you gain soon if you decide to give us a second chance to demonstrate that our hotel is on a par with the 4 stars expected. Kind Regards Adelaide PUJOL / Operation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stylish hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
we staded for 5 days and enjoyed the decor, friendliness, confort and excellent breakfast. Many thanks A Spibey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent location in Old City

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast!
Cons: Cleanliness of room!
Location: Airport close by and city a short walk or a tourist train ride away. Lots of historical buildings and churches.
After a 10 minute taxi ride from airport enjoyed a 4 night stay at end of June. Chose hotel for its location and reputation. Good room in old building on 2nd floor with fantastic view of ramparts of castell. Disappointed with cleanliness of room - refuse under bed from previous resident, shower area could have done with a bleach, carpet was in need of a freshen up etc. Breakfast spread excellent value and choice. Eating out in castell was overpriced but a short walk downhill to city provided good value french food. A walk along the River Aude is highly recommended, strolling past vineyards and catching the shade of the trees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by e Meresse, Hotel Management
Dear Sirs, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write us regarding your recent stay in our hotel.Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you have experienced. I assure you that the necessary corrective steps have been taken so that housekeeping will be more vigilant in checking rooms before guest arrival. We want to thank you for your kind comments about our buffet breakfast served this summer in our garden . We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again . Kind regards E .Meresse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M from England

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location, service, atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance, nice bar near the Chateau, great little bakery near the main gate - pain au chocolate for 1 euro!
Hotel is in three buildings - we stayed in the main building which was great. View of medieval city was stunning. Square outside was only noisy if you left the windows open which you didn't need to do due to air conditioning. Lovely having the city to yourself once the day trippers had gone. Sitting in the quiet garden at the end of the day having our Blanquette de Limoux was a perfect way to spend our wedding anniversary - can't wait to go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike

Central Location with Period Features

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The whole thing
Arrival was very easy and well organised. Only took a few minutes in the mini-van to get to the hotel, no problem at all. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room on 2nd floor overlooked the garden and was very good. We would recommend 'Le Donjon' and enjoyed our stay there very much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di from Norfolk, UK

Wonderful hotel in the heart of the old city

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It was very calm and cool and the staff were excellent.
Cons: Maybe eating at the Best Western restaurant, which wasn't the best meal in the world.
Location: The Donjon hotel was right within the city walls and the whole medieval experience was great.
The welcome was very good as when we parked the car, a representative from the hotel was there to organise transport from outside the city walls to the hotel within. Beautiful, spacious, calm room overlooking the garden. We had a wonderful two days exploring the medieval city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
every thing was great except Check out was frustrating As hotel did not plan well And many of us could not Leave due to large NUMBER of guests leaving at Same time and hotel Staff could not accommodate. We lost an hour in the Process.