Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bert from North Carolina

Brief stay near Cardiff

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Lovely setting with helpful staff.
Cons: Reliable internet service
Pleasant great value booked on line. Use the directions provided and drive through Usk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brief Review

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location Reasonable price Room size
Cons: Quality of Food - The lunch menu is poor and the quality not great. Eevening food is better but over priced. Breakfast could also be better.
Very reasonably priced hotel in a beautiful location. The rooms are very decent and staff very nice and attentive. The only thing that let the place down was the quality of food and lack of joined up approach between the main hotel and spa (there is no food or drink in the spa and in order to eat you have to get dressed and walk round to the main building which isn;t ideal when trying to enjoy the spa facilities and relax).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Fine for our purpose. Spa & pool great. Helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RC EB from UK

Good facilities in rural surroundings

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Reasonable price and spa facilities.
Cons: In places looking a little worn.
Location: Good rural location with plenty of walking routes within easy reach of M4 and urban centres.
Needing some upgrading in places but overall good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting and fresh rooms

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: The very comfy armchairs in the room.
Cons: The walls could be a little thicker - there was a little bit of noise transfer from other rooms, but nothing more than mumbled voices.
This hotel was exquisitely quiet with a beautiful setting (stone walled buildings, pond with geese out front and Welsh hill views from the room). My room had a wonderfully fresh design and feel to it and the spa was the epitome of calm. It was very good value and I had highly pleasant experience from the staff and hotel atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by Alan from Essex, UK

Disappointing

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: The outside - fantastic setting.
Cons: Dingy rooms. Disinterested staff.
Location: Excellent - really peaceful location.
Booked 3 rooms for a weekend stay because we were in Cardiff on the Saturday evening. It looks fantastic from the outside - lovely buildings / lovely grounds / everything. But inside it all looks a bit tired, run down and very much in need of investment. Our rooms were in a separate building round the back and although it looked a lot newer than the main building, the rooms were very dull and dingy. But we had arrived late so were glad just to get some sleep although this wasn't that easy because of creaking floors from the rooms above and dripping taps. Staff in the bar at lunchtime on the Saturday and late Sunday morning ranged from invisible to miserable. Breakfast was a bit of a shambles. There seemed to be a shortage of staff and there was food spilled on the floor in both rooms so you had to be very careful walking about. The rest of the family used the spa on the Sunday morning and thought it was ok - a comment was that this was where the money seemed to have been spent!! The one ray of light was the girl on reception (Rachel possibly?) who was really cheerful and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Burhan from Chicago, IL

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Pros: Location and landscape. Also some rooms with amazing wood work.
Hotel is located in a very nice location right outside city center of Usk (2-3 KM). The staff is very helpful and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from wales

reprieved

Posted Jul 11, 2009 on Hotels.com
took 15 mins to book in , room only dressed for 1 person, took 2 hrs to obtain more towels, ironing board requested at same time , did not arrive in time for dinner preperation. whilst we were having diner the duty manager was informed of our problem regarding the service level, we were given a bottle of wine as a gesture of apology, which was accepted, the food was very good as was the rest of our stay, i evening, in the morning at check out , the general manager offered us her apolgies and a stay gratis which was accepted, a good recovery froma poor start, yes we would stay again and reccomd it to others