Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and good location

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stopped at the Cefn Mably as a base for a football game at Cardiff and to meet friends in Cardiff. The hotel rooms are in good condition and we had everything we needed as a base. The only potential downside for some would be the music played until midnight, but this was not a problem for us and we were warned beforehand. If you do want a quieter, earlier night, then it would be best to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miss Williams

Value for money

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Lovely, comfortable room, easy drive to Central Cardiff- amazing value for money. I would definitely return. I only have two very minor criticisms- the room wasn't particularly warm (I slept in my jumper) and the car park sign isn't very easy to see at night (I only spotted it when I'd overshot the turning & drove back along the road in the opposite direction). Apart from that- fantastic hotel all round!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Hawaii

Standard Village Inn/BnB

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Clean, comfortable, accomodating staff.
Cons: Maybe some instructions on how to use the heater for those of us who grew up with central heating. :-)
Rooms are above a bar, which could be good or bad depending on your POV. Proprietor (Ovis) was very accomodating. Room was standard for an older inn in an older building -- furnishings aren't new, but not ancient either -- everything was clean and there was a decent-sized flat screen TV on the dresser. Could use an electrical outlet in the bathroom, but back when the place was built people probably didn't have electric everything for getting ready in the morning. If you're expecting the Sheraton, this isn't for you -- if you want a comfortable night's sleep with everything you need for a decent price, this is perfect. Note: there's no 24-hr desk clerk; check-in ends at 10pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wynne from Portsmouth

Basic but comfortable

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for but no way a three star rating. Nice welcome on arrival and though I knew it was room only there was no one about to cook a breakfast even if I wanted to pay for it. Had a nice enough meal on Thursday evening but the real ales from a local brewery were just about drinkable but not very nice. Overall a 6 out of 10
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rachelf from Isle of Wight

Friendly, courteous and efficient

Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Smooth service, no delays, no problems. The only downside was that the entertainment downstairs was too loud for me to sleep early which I had intended. However the wifi was good so I watched a film instead. Happy customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I only stayed here for one night, between shifts at work to save commuting. The staff member at the bar was very friendly and helpful. The room was of a very nice and spacious. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Cardiff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave

Would be outstanding even at twice the price

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very high quality rooms, plenty of space and a great location for Cardiff - I went for both Opera and Rugby and it was a good base for both. The breakfast is worth the extra £5 and overall I am still pinching myself at how cheap it was. I almost didn't book for fear of a bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from East Sussex, UK

Good for couples

Posted Feb 17, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom fan very loud
Location: Out of town on fairly busy road junction with traffic lights
Staff very friendly & food in restaurant/bar a pleasant surprise. Located at fairly busy road junction with traffic lights so quite noisy, especially with the window open. Room very warm. More a pub than hotel, although good wine at supermarket prices, excellent value. We enjoyed our stay and cardiff was a good place to wander.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2012 on Hotels.com