Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Me from P

Good pet friendly hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Hotel was alright. Room was somewhat outdated. Parking wasn't free but for some reason they didn't charge us. Hotel amenities were pretty good, and staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good, with a variety of things from pastries, to fruits, to cheeses and cold cuts. The front desk manager was eager to help in any way possible. The drive to Cardiff was kinda long but I didn't mind it too much.
2 out of 5
by Armin from Germany

Not to the standard you would expect of a Hilton

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Restraunt, bar and gym were reasonable.
Cons: Renovate the rooms and increase the standard of room cleanliness.
Location: Celtic manor resort golf courses
Staff were friendly and hotel facilities were fairly good, but the condition of the rooms were dated and not clean to a standard expected from a Hilton hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Shabby, dated decor. Rooms very dark. Coach party booked in, but hotel management had made no allowance for this so unable to eat in restaurant or bar. Hotel Staff did their best but will not be staying here again. Tried to use gym, waited 15 minutes for staff to appear so gave up!
3 out of 5
by woody

They charge for the car park!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Ok stay overall. Just took the edge of it when I found a £3 charge for using the carpark
1 out of 5
by Terribly dated from Ford

Room so dated it's like a time warp to the 80s

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Entered the most dated room I've stayed in in years to find a duvet that was wafer thin not helped by a single electric room heater and that the window had been left open. The most modern part of the room was the shower curtain!! As for reviews I never leave them but on this occasion I felt compelled too, this is a hotel living off the name Hilton which, if this is the standard in a Hilton will soon be as jaded as this hotel!!!
3 out of 5
by Chris from Ch

Disappointingly poor for Hilton

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Rooms badly in need of renovation. Difficulty getting a table for dinner. Hotel generally a bit tired. Very disappointing for Hilton and very poor compared to competing brands.
2 out of 5
by Marc from Liverpool

In need of updating

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Well situated close to the M4 and Newport
Cons: Too many to mention.
This hotel is now looking very tired and in desperate need of updating and a lick of paint and make it more welcoming. The bar area is ok and the bar food is quite good but it is a very cold area. This was my third stay at this hotel and every time I have stayed there has been a problem. First two stays the fire alarm went off by mistake during the night, last time the heater in my room did not work, though I was provided with a portable heater and there was no hot water on one evening. The staff did apologise every time but I think a little more effort by the hotel management to compensate guests, such as a drinks voucher to use in the bar would go a long. It is a shame really as it's by no means a bad hotel and is situated right by the M4 and convenient for when I am working in the area so come on Hilton put your hand in your pocket and spruce the place up a bit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ryan from Bristol

Not happy with the cleanliness.

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room looked like it had barely been cleaned since the previous customers had stayed. The floor in the bathroom was dirty, hair all over the place. Mould around the window. Parts of the bathroom need a major re fit, the light above the sink area didn't work, flashed constantly and made an irritAting clicking noise. Was not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julie from Richmond

Hilton Newport

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at this hotel before and really like it food is good staff are great, & rooms very spacious lovely stay will return here again take no notice of negative reveiws.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by anon

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely staff, very helpful. We had a double room where two beds had been pushed together and it was a little uncomfortable because we kept falling into the gap.