Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not live up to expectations

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: The bar meal & breakfast. The main reception was being refurbished so im sure it will look nice
Cons: More child friendly new carpets and bathroom was not as clean as I would expect
Location: Convenient for M4 if driving
We were a family with 3 children and were told on the phone before arrival the pool would be open until 10pm. We arrived after 7pm and were told we could not enter the pool after 8 and when we actually got to the pool were told we would have to vacate the pool at 8 we did so after 15min to see that no one else were arriving to use the pool. The corridor carpets are quite worn in places and there was no air con in the bedroom
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
We would not mark the hotel anything above a 3, hotel could be modernised as its quite old fashioned a new tv would benefit the room it wouldn't even work properly. Overall it was ok but not great and probably wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

No complaints!

Posted May 17, 2015
Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. For the rate we paid we could not complain. Wish I had made a note of names but gentleman serving costa coffee was friendly and efficient as was one of the managers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom N W England

Convenient hotel on outskirts of Newport

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Spacious reception area. Convenient location. Breakfasts
Cons: Soundproofing - windows and doors. Decor
Location: Convenient location at junction of M4 and A449 on outskirts of Newport
An overnight stay in the hotel on the occasion of attendance at a wedding. Staff friendly and helpful. Good facilities throughout, although,the room we were in was staring to show its age through wear and tear. Not very good levels of soundproofing particularly from people in the corridor and in the internal courtyard. Good quality buffet breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ely

OK, but DON'T bring your dog!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Reduce pet charge to something approach reasonable
Location: Close to M4 and A449, so good for travel. Otherwise not much in the area.
We needed somewhere for a night en route to S Wales, and our small dog was with us. Hotel is adequate, though a bit noisy, and the room rather dark. Staff are good - helpful, friendly and efficient. The room cost was reasonable, but the surprise was that the surcharge for our dog was £35. Allegedly because they need "to deep-clean the room" afterwards. Judging by the smells our dog was finding on arrival, it was a long time since this room had had any deep-cleaning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pleasant hotel, enjoyed the leisure facilities, slightly tired in places but very good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by keithfrom Morden

Nice place

Posted Mar 5, 2015 
The lobby, dining area and gym are well maintained and very nice. Hotel rooms are a little dated and need a makeover but otherwise good for the night, comfortable. But you are in the middle of nowhere so a car is a must
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in need of repair

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The current state of your bathrooms.
The hotel rooms, especially the bathrooms are in desperate need of repair. The whole wall in the bathroom was so damp that when you moved the toilet roll holder, the wall flapped. The beds were very uncomfortablew which lead to a whole family with very little sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

forgetful

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: good selection at breakfast, nice pool and pleasant friendly staff
Cons: make sure the rooms are refreshed each day. there is enough light in the rooms. remember when a guest has asked for something and do it!
Location: Newport. used as base to go to Swansea uni and see cardiff
they forgot to clean our room, they forgot to bring water, juice and coffee at breakfast. they forgot to change the light bulbs in the room. apart from all that it was a lovely hotel with friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Davidfrom Birmingham

Great value for money

Posted Feb 23, 2015 
lovely, friendly hotel