Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newbury

Get exactly what you pay for

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Fare priced hotel. Very clean and great staff. Lovely breakfast but had to pay extra!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Xcelleny hospitality, very welcoming and helpful

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Nothing was any trouble, I arrived much earlier than I expected, although my concerns were that I could not book in until 3pm, I was given a room much earlier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay.It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your room was available when you arrived. I do hope we can welcome you back to Hilton Newport in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Nice hotel for short stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Me and my husband were there for a night. Really good bed, good breakfast but the hotel is really out to date and the rooms need refurbishment. Only good for a short stay itherwise too expensive for what it offers overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2014 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I have noted your comments regarding a hotel refurbishment, I do agree that some areas of the hotel are a little dated however all should be clean and fresh, we do try and reflect this in our accommodation rates. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Good Stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Good location for visits to Newport and Cardiff
Considering the numbers staying the efficiency and friendliness of the staff throughout was outstanding as was the food and service.. A very good stay and as mentioned to reception the only slight problem was the comfort of the sofa.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom m

Hotel was okay

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Hotel was satisfactory Had trouble sleeping as water heating kept tripping every minute all night Very disappointing stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bridgwater

Nice hotel excellent price

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This was our second stay at the hotel we asked in advance for the same room and got it 108, lovely and clean the lovely old comfy sofa bed had gone and was replaced with a modern chair, which looked nice in the room. Only negative is no fridges in the room for me its important as my son is not well and needs constant anti biotics there is however a fridge at reception where u can store things. Lovely leisure facilities massive pool for a hotel, varied kids menu, staff really friendly could do 2ith an out door play area in their very large garden to keep the kids occupied as ours like so many were bored playing games by the bar. I would recommened this hotel every time and will be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport

relaxing and friendly

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Very impressed with the hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite at all times, the room was beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was
Cons: everything was lovely.
Location: We used this hotel for a base for one night after attending a race meeting and concert and was very impressed by the hotel and staff.
Very impressed with the hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite at all times, the room was beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed a very relaxing break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Big Jimfrom Essex

Very nice staff and hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic stay will stay again in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Websterfrom Luton

Good reception staff

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a good stay, reception staff are very helpful and friendly. However although the rooms were comfy, the hotel is dated and needs a complete redoing. Cleaning staff do their best, but the hotel is now very old. Internet pictures are misleading. But I would still stay at this hotel because of the staff and it also does the job.