Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

No complaints!

Posted May 17, 2015
Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. For the rate we paid we could not complain. Wish I had made a note of names but gentleman serving costa coffee was friendly and efficient as was one of the managers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom N W England

Convenient hotel on outskirts of Newport

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Spacious reception area. Convenient location. Breakfasts
Cons: Soundproofing - windows and doors. Decor
Location: Convenient location at junction of M4 and A449 on outskirts of Newport
An overnight stay in the hotel on the occasion of attendance at a wedding. Staff friendly and helpful. Good facilities throughout, although,the room we were in was staring to show its age through wear and tear. Not very good levels of soundproofing particularly from people in the corridor and in the internal courtyard. Good quality buffet breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ely

OK, but DON'T bring your dog!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Reduce pet charge to something approach reasonable
Location: Close to M4 and A449, so good for travel. Otherwise not much in the area.
We needed somewhere for a night en route to S Wales, and our small dog was with us. Hotel is adequate, though a bit noisy, and the room rather dark. Staff are good - helpful, friendly and efficient. The room cost was reasonable, but the surprise was that the surcharge for our dog was £35. Allegedly because they need "to deep-clean the room" afterwards. Judging by the smells our dog was finding on arrival, it was a long time since this room had had any deep-cleaning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pleasant hotel, enjoyed the leisure facilities, slightly tired in places but very good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in need of repair

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The current state of your bathrooms.
The hotel rooms, especially the bathrooms are in desperate need of repair. The whole wall in the bathroom was so damp that when you moved the toilet roll holder, the wall flapped. The beds were very uncomfortablew which lead to a whole family with very little sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

forgetful

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: good selection at breakfast, nice pool and pleasant friendly staff
Cons: make sure the rooms are refreshed each day. there is enough light in the rooms. remember when a guest has asked for something and do it!
Location: Newport. used as base to go to Swansea uni and see cardiff
they forgot to clean our room, they forgot to bring water, juice and coffee at breakfast. they forgot to change the light bulbs in the room. apart from all that it was a lovely hotel with friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Davidfrom Birmingham

Great value for money

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
lovely, friendly hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jassal

I am kamla devi I like Hilton hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Hi this hotel very nice good staff and good breakfast you can eat much you like
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newbury

Not the Hilton of yesteryear

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Reception area and good staff
Cons: Tatty paintwork and dated appearance
I regularly have to stay in Newport when I'm taking part in activities at the Newport velodrome, and often stay at the Hilton. This has to count as one of my most disappointing stays. The check-in experience was fine, although I was very disappointed with my supposed "deluxe room". I previously stayed in a deluxe room in the hotel and it was just that - very large and reasonably luxurious furnishings. This room had none of the previous luxury I'd experienced - whilst the main area was reasonably large (although no bigger than a Travelodge!) the bathroom was pokey and there was paint chipping off the furnishings. The room overnight was unbearably warm (despite turning the radiator down) and there wasn't even enough tea provided for two people. There just seemed to be a very sad lack of attention to detail, and you really do get more modern and more attractive living quarters in budget hotel rooms - not what I'd expect in a Hilton. Breakfast was fine - although the cooked breakfast didn't look particularly appetising - looked like it had been sitting on the hot plate for too long. The car park was also a bit of a rip off at £3 - it's free to park in the Premier Inn opposite, and the gates have always been open meaning there's never been a cost previously. Overall it's fine - but certainly don't expect the Hilton quality of yesteryear.