Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Rude receptionist!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Room
Cons: More polite staff
Location: Near Cardiff
On arrival, the receptionist was rude and patronising, and rather insistent that I had booked the wrong room (even though I had email confirmation that I had indeed booked the room that I had wanted). For this reason alone, I wouldn't stay here again. However, the hotel room was reasonable. The cooked breakfast didn't look particularly appetizing but there was a reasonable selection of items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

Busy weekend went off without a hitch

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Cons: A shuttle to the Cardiff or Newport train stations would have been lovely, but the taxi rides weren't too expensive.
Location: The pub across the car park is a great place to get dinner or a drink. Unfortunately, there's not much else around if you're on foot.
The hotel was booked full for a rugby match, but that didn't stop the staff from providing exemplary service and the place from looking its best. Our room was perfect, breakfast was delicious, and staff gave me excellent directions and got me a taxi. I would gladly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to a decent place to eat.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and welcoming and the breakfast was good and beds fairly comfortable
Cons: Make sure that if someone books a family room there are three tea cups and tea bags and enough milk to cover three people not two, twice it happened.
Location: Not much nearby to walk to but only 20 minutes to Cardiff in the car.
It was a good place to stay, quiet and pleasant. Not a lot around the hotel but a nice and decent place to eat and only about 20 minutes away from Cardiff. Family room is a nice place to stay, single bed a bit uncomfortable but is satisfactory. The breakfast in the morning was nice and hot. The staff were nice and made you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stafford

Overall conditions

Posted Nov 18, 2014
As usual the Holiday Inn is a Very nice hotel.but the staff were excellent.polite,professional and curtious.my family and I enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Just a one night stay but very nice,great old pub next door for meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leeds

Clean hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Great for business

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Thank you Holiday Inn Newport - I had a lovely stay.