Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for visiting family.

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Bacon at breakfast and more fruit options.
Location: Great for visiting Cardiff etc
Our usual hotel restaurant was closed due to refurbishment. As we like to start the day with a good breakfast we opted to stay at the Holiday Inn. Having tried this hotel we prefer our usual hotel. We would return if for any reason our first choice was not available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pembrokeshire

Great hotel - very convenient for Cardiff/ Newport

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We had a very friendly welcome from the staff and were delighted to find our room was bright, clean and comfortable. It had all the in room facilities you would expect including wifi. A good bonus was the breakfast included in the price which had a number of choices including some hot/cooked options. Having asked about a lactose free milk I was told that it would be available for me for breakfast ' even if someone had to go out to buy it ' from the local supermarket that morning. Very impressed!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2015 by Michael , Hotel Management
Dear Meg, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. I am extremely pleased to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay from your welcome on arrival to your breakfast on departure. I will pass on your kind comments to my team and I look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Kind regards, Michael Oates General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
comfortable and welcoming. ALSO STAFF WERE FLEXIBLE AND TRIED HARD TO MAKE OUR STAY ENJOYABLE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Michael, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. I am extremely pleased to read that our team were extremely flexible and accommodating. I look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Michael Oates General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London uk

good hotel ,reasonable price

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: good location, easy to get to ,nice car park
Cons: brush for the toilet pan , second chair in the double rooms ,air conditioner to work properly ,the breakfast
Location: very good , handy 24 hours asda shop,
3 nights spent there in Easter time .........................................................................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I hope that you return to us again soon in the near future. Kind Regards, Michael Oates General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire, UK

Newport Holiday Inn Express

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Does what it says on the tin - family friendly value for money hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Michael , Hotel Management
Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. It is a pleasure to receive such valuable feedback from our guests. I hope that you return to us again soon. Kind Regards, Michael Oates General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, good Wi-Fi, cheap price
Cons: The scrambled eggs at breakfast!
Location: Close to Asda, Close to Cardiff facilities
Clean spacious room, good free Wi-Fi, nice pub restaurant next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Excellent value

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel itself is nice & the staff were friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located close to the M4 for travel to various places of interest.
Cons: You could add variety to the breakfast menu, all 3 days that I stayed it was sausages, beans & scrambled egg - some bacon one day would have been nice
Location: We visited Techniquest in Cardiff and Mountain Valley Ranch in Caerphilly but there is lots to do along the M4 corridor.
Check-in was quick & efficient and the sofa bed needed for the kids was already made up in the room. The hotel is nice; it looks like somewhere you want to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately on the first day the tea & milk weren't replaced in the room and the bins weren't emptied, these may seem like small things but when there are smelly nappies in the bin and you have to sit in the room all evening with the kids, these things are quite important! In general though it is somewhere that I will return to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west yorkshire

Dr who expereince

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Clean easy to find
Cons: Air con
Location: quick journey to dr who experience in car
Nice hotel. Air con bit of a negative as blew straight on me in bed despite repositioning.not enough room in restaurant for whole party to sit on the Sunday (5 people) but Sat in bar area together which had small tables so we managed there . Would return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Allow more than two devices on the free wifi network.
Location: Wasn't really bothered about the location, but Asda nearby was handy.
Superb value, clean attractive building, polite and helpful staff.