Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Llangollen

Disappointed.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Refurbishment of the bedroom.
Location: Mermaid wharf, a short stroll away, offered ample choice for eating and drinking.
On arrival upgraded to a deluxe room - :). I don't how the Deluxe differed from the standard but other than the size of the room and bed not particularly impressed with the 'deluxe' label. The furniture and fittings were all very tired and well overdue a refurb - stains on the carpet, stains on the curtains, stains on the bed base and stains on the desk seating! Tiles in the bathroom still had a blue shower gel residue and the towels and robes were well passed their best. No provision provided for seating on the balcony overlooking the bay. Sanding in the area above the balcony prevented us staying out there too long because of bits showering down. The bed was huge and very comfortable though. The trainee check-in clerk was very polite on Reception when we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Great location, facing into the bay

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location, spacious room and great staff
Cons: Attention to detail
Location: I went to watch the Extreme Series 40' yacht races and simply had a few beers in local hostelries so cannot comment much about other facilities nearby
Staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was actually very good. Spiders inhabit the upper reaches of the windows in the dining room in profusion and the chef forgot to wash the sand out of the dredged mussels served as a starter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hitchin

Disappointing - no way a 5 star hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff were attentive and did try to fix the problems they could
Cons: Lick of paint would be good
Location: Great location - right in Cardiff Bay with dozens of restaurants and bars, so great for night life.
There was nothing about the stay that was 5 star: - no spaces in the incredibly small (and expensive) car park - a wedding party having photos in the lobby meant couldn't get to the lifts for 15 minutes - cracks in the bathroom sink, tiles, and stains on the carpet - wifi code didn't work - furniture dated and tired
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

THE MOST UNHELPFUL HOTEL

Posted Aug 16, 2014
After paying for my hotel in advance turned up a day late to find my room cancelled for the intyre stay and no refund !! No phone call or email to see if I was coming The Raddison Blu Hotel now that I can reccommend try a suite on the top floor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to Cardiff bay

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Expected more of a modern room for a 5 star hotel. Spa facilities were lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely view good sunny spot.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Air conditioning could be better. Need new armchairs. Overall excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Lovely hotel, great staff. Pool needs some TLC

Posted Aug 6, 2014
I stayed for an overnight stay with my daughter, the hotel is ideally situated next to mermaid quay with it's vast array of restaurants and cafés. It was an ideal place for us as we had tickets for the theatre at the millennium centre. We were upgraded on arrival which was fantastic and the staff were very friendly throughout our stay. Our only criticism is that the pool area could be do much nicer if it had a little TLC, it had paint chipping off a hole in the ceiling and the tiles need replacing, but it didn't spoil our St Davids experience at all! We would definitely return and recommend it to others
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definately NOT 5*

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The bedrooms REALLY need a make-over.
Location: Cardiff Bay is a wonderful, vibrant area with plenty to see, do and eat.
If you're looking fro a true 5* hotel, don't stay here. Although the staff were excellent-very helpful and friendly, the room was sadly very disappointing - I have stayed in better Travelodges. Due to it being our wedding anniversary, we were kindly given a complimentary upgrade to a room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the bay. The room was large, but 'tatty' - it really needed a make-over. The bathroom floor tiles were dirty-looking, the wall tiles needed re-grouting, the base of the bed was bare and stained and the bed throw and cushion (a horrible brown fur) were dirty. We were given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and canapes for our anniversary, which were very much appreciated, as was the upgrade, but if we'd had to pay full price for the room, we'd have had real cause for complaint. As some other reviews have stated, we have experienced nicer bedrooms in 3* hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Quality hotel, with Cardiff bay view

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: View, breakfast, staff.
Location: Location on the edge of Cardiff Bay: short walk to the massive variety of bars and restaurants on the city side of the bay
A fine hotel on edge of Cardiff Bay. Room excellent quality of accommodation, very clean and well kept. Staff excellent,.friendly and welcoming. Our room was on first floor, great view of Bay but no balcony: not an issue for us as we were out most of time. Breakfast well worth the cost: best scrambled eggs I ve ever had off a hotel buffet ! Did nt use the spa facilities but seemed to be popular with other guests. Car Parking in hotel car park limited: there is an adjacent council car park at the same cost.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bishopstoke

Overpriced. Avoid

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: All of the above
Location: A 15/20 min walk to Cardiff centre. Quite a nice view if you are on the right side of the hotel
Booked as a romantic treat for two.. After a long drive we had to wait until 15:30 to check in. Quite ugly looking from the outside but we thought the inside would make up for it, no.. The entrance & greeting not welcoming or impressive. The room was basic & had a corporate feel, not luxurious at all which was what we expected. The room wasn't clean & our welcome treat was two biscuits (no idea what they were?) unwrapped on a plate on a dusty sideboard. No fridge, wireless was only free for an hour after a long annoying log in process? the double bed was two uncomfortable single mattresses put together, pretty standard bathroom, again nothing to warrant the extra expense compared to a standard 3 star hotel, balcony with no chair or table so couldn't relax & enjoy the one good thing.. The view. Spa was ok, small, nice pool, small boiling hot gym. Breakfast pretty standard. A cup of fruit tea was £3.95 & we couldn't sit by the window unless we were having lunch. This hotel looks much better in the pictures than reality.