Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lymington

Thin walls

Posted Dec 23, 2014
All good. Defo v tired decor in room, bath shower leaked. No soundproofing, you can hear EVERYTHING in neighbouring rooms, doors banging in corridor, etc. No socket next to bed for charging mobile. Silly brekkie time in the morning, but Starbucks & McDonald's nearby so not a prob.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ff

Lovely hotel for weekend break

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Good , comfortable hotel , lovely spa and gym !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pembrokeshire Wales

Great Spa

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: See above
Location: On the motorway interchange and easy access to Cardiff Shopping by bus. Asda next door. Near to Castell Coch
I must admit I chose this hotel because it had a spa pool and fitness stuff which is inclusive of the night rate. The spa is great. locals use the spa and I would say that Cardiff folk are great with whom to share a Jacuzzi. The receptionist was so welcoming and seemed genuinely pleased to greet us. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. there was a kettle, iron, fan, television, hairdryer etc. and free Wi-Fi. If I had to be negative I would add that the TV choice was poor. I think they had opted for a Sky package instead of Freeview...Why? But, as there was Wi-Fi I suppose it didn't matter so much as I had a kindle fire so could pick up the programmes I wanted on that. The cooked selection at breakfast was cold...maybe the hot holding had broken down. The bar is very tatty, torn seats and a bit shabby. I will visit again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very easy to get to, ideal for pre or post airport

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Just off Junc 32 M4 BUT no traffic noise and I sleep with the window open. Clean and tidy, very welcoming receptionists and all staff I had dealings with. Unusual for a 'traveling hotel' to have a good leisure center, so good for a few night stay as well as a stop over or weekend. Cardiff city center was £12 in a taxi or £1.80 on the No 23 bus, but the stop is just down the hill about 500 meters. A bit pricey but it was International rugby weekend, so worth looking for an early bird booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Nice , comfortable hotel with good gym , swimming pool etc
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Disappointing.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Good facilities - pools, bar serving food, separate restaurant, Costa coffee shop. Close to M4. 5 mins walk from a rail station for central Cardiff.
Cons: Better rooms. Better temperature control in rooms. TV remote control that worked. More responsive staff. No couple arguing all night in next room.
The hotel was generally clean and tidy with reasonable facilities. However, we didn't feel that we got good value from our fairly expensive room. The bedroom was fairly small and the quality of finish wasn't much better than a Travelodge / Premier Inn (which would have been a third of the cost or less). It was impossible to get the room temperature down to sensible level without opening the window, and that let in noise from the motorway; hence, it was either much too hot or noisy and so we found it difficult to sleep. A thermostat on the wall stopped the heating, but there was no a/c to cool things, and we couldn't turn off the heating in the bathroom at all. I went to reception to ask for an extra sheet (to use over the bed instead of the duvet) and was asked very blunt what I wanted it for - made me feel like I'd done something wrong by asking. Also, it was slightly frustrating that each of the few times we went to the reception desk for something (check-in, queries, check-out) there seemed to be two or three people behind the desk, but on one of them helping the queue of customers which was consequently very slow-moving. Finally, the TV remote didn't work - not a big problem as we didn't want to watch for long (and we probably could have got it sorted out...if we'd queued at reception again), but it was another disappointing feature of a hotel charging "quality" prices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: facilities
Cons: As above
This is a good hotel with good facilities. However, when you pay £159 for a room you would expect to have two drinking choc packets and two snack bars instead of one to share in each case. My immediate thought was how 'tight' and pathetic. Also the pillows are a waste of time and much to soft; you really need some hard and soft ones. The main desk is also not that professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,friendly staff

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. However, it needs to be made clear if you're booking a twin or double room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Travellerfrom Wales

No air conditioning in rooms or in windowless spa

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel located on a busy roundabout so traffic noise can be an issue. There was no air conditioning in the bedrooms. Spa area dark, no natural light, no air conditioning stuffy and gloomy. Staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JOSE ANTONIOfrom MADRID

BUENA RELACION CALIDAD PRECIO

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
TODO FUE PERFECTO. BUEN TRATO Y MUY BIEN LOS SERVICIOS QUE OFRECE EL HOTEL.