Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice from BC

OK place to overnite in Tortuguero

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: -on ocean side, so breezy and more comfortable -staff pleasant
Cons: stricter rules about where people can do their partying and smoking
Location: Unique location: quite isolated; no turtles when we were there but this is one of its main attractions; home of the Sea Turtle Conservancy
We were fortunate to have linked up with a guide, who took us to the hostel after we got off the river boat. It would have been quite hard to find otherwise. The hostel is close to the ocean side, which made for nice surf sounds and a breeze, and looks nice. The rooms are clean but very basic and the fan just took the edge off the heat. We unfortunately had a very loud group of drinking and smoking Dutch people (old enough to know better) staying in the next few rooms and, as there is only screen on the windows, this was unpleasant. Mabel was very nice and helpful and I loved seeing the children of the family running the hostel playing around the nice gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susanne

perfect for this price

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hostel directly across the beach! Has even a terrasse to sit outside, and some hammocks. The Reataurant part is not bad and very inexpensive.Go for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jeong J from Korea

Way overpriced!

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I honestly don't get what all the super positive reviews are all about... It's not a bad place by any means...hammocks are cool, proximity to the beach is nice (even though you can't swim in it)...I just had to knock my rating down to poor because it is NOT a good value for the dollar...we paid $82 a night (with taxes and all through hotel.com) for a triple room...the room is basically a budget hostel room, barely enough space for the 3 of us to move around and a shower with water that is not cold (not even close to warm)...I get that Tortuguero is remote so I did not expect the Ritz Carlton, but I feel about half of what we paid would be a fair price for this place... as for the "friendly" owner Calixto...when we checked in he says "everything is taken care of" (referring to my PRE-paid hotel.com reservation...then all of a sudden, the night before checking out, he tells me I have not paid for the room..."100%, you did not"...not sure how friendly he was to other people but that was pretty much my only interaction with him...pretty far from bend-over-backward friendly as everyone else put... I do have to give props to Leonardo, one of the guides affiliated with the hotel, he knows his stuff, and I loved kayaking in the canals with him... Bottom line, there are better places...or at least better value places in town...pretty much any place other than the Icaco will be a better value...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

Simple place close to town

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Keep in mind that you are in a really remote location. The upscale hotels in that area are in general not in walking distance to the town of Tortuguero and you need to use the boat shuttles to get their. The B&B Icaco is in walking distance to the town center with Restaurants and Supermarkets. The team is really lovely and do their best to make you comfortable and the tour provider they work with did a really good job. They are right on the beach, which is nice. Breakfast is standard. But this is a simple place, don't expect any luxury.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

rustic but adequate

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
landscape was excellent , rooms were clean, help was very friendly,beds were comfortable, bathroom was very small for someone my size. breakfasts were good , fruit was very fresh and delightfull. price was very fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
People were great, loved the outdoor kitchen and would tell all my friends about it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels.com