Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Nice hotel and location- we loved being in the rainforest, but the bed could have been more comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Cariblue is a great place to stay for all!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were amazing, the location was great, the ocean view (beach is across the street), howler monkeys at night (cool!)
Cons: Maybe some directions in advance about how to get in after dark. There are gates to keep you safe.
Location: Ziplining, snorkeling, hiking, Jaguar Rescue Center, lots of beaches and Puerto Viejo with lots of restaurants and shops.
Never having been to Costa Rica before, I was hesitant of committing to anything. I chose Puerto Viejo due to it being their dry season in September. We could not have been luckier choosing the area and the hotel! The hotel was well cared for and the staff was unbelievably helpful and kind. We got in very late after our 6 hour drive from San Jose, and of course were a little cranky, and the staff went out of their way to help us settle in so late. The Oceanfront room had an ocean view as promised and was spacious enough for the three of us; my dad, sister and myself. A sloth lives in a tree on the premises and we got to see him close up the first day we were there. The free breakfast every morning was phenomenal with an egg and pancake station. All staff were amazing; the servers and Johnny at the desk and Glory in the gift shop! Glory was knowledgeable about things to do in the area and set everything up for us. I just can't say enough about this place. The location was great; a little away from the loudness of the 'town' but only a three minute drive, (if that). All tours picked us up at the hotel and the max drive was about a half hour. It is a very cool town that has something for everyone. My 60 year old dad loved it as well as my 30 year old sister. Lots to do and beautiful beaches; something for everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Great accommodations, Friendly staff, Beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Bungalow didn't disappoint
Cons: Shower water pressure. Restaurant food is not great, but it's ok.
Location: Great location. Close to the little town, beach, and there's plenty to do. Check out the Jaguar Rescue Center, $15 tour doesn't disappoint.
I really enjoyed my stay here. My one problem was the shower had zero water pressure. Nice people and nice facilities.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kellyfrom from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Did not enjoy staying here although it was about the only choice in this area. Would not visit this area again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Wonderful hidden gem in the jungle.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: As a ocean and nature addict my favorite thing about this hotel is it's unique location. You cannot go wrong with it.
Cons: Quality of the rooms
Location: Cariblue is located approximately 2km from Puerto Viejo, you can either have a nice walk (approx. 15-20min), take a taxi 5 min or rent a bike!
I had a pleasure of staying at Cariblue for a week, it is a very beautiful hotel, with a very professional staff. Security is at the premises 24/7. Rooms are clean and spacious. While at Cariblue, you are going to be offered a breakfast/buffet, 24/7 access to a swimming pools, SPA and 5 acres of a beautiful jungle surrounded the bungalows and all rooms. Not to mention easy access to the ocean! Fabulous location. I cannot wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dannyfrom Atlanta

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty location, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, and great breakfasts. Only complaint was soft uncomfortable mattress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larryfrom West Michigan

Good location near Puerto Viejo & Playa Coceles

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a good location and setting and the staff was super friendly and helpful.
Cons: Upgrade the towels and more attention to cleaning the common areas within the restaurant and lounge areas. We would have preferred more Latin music.
Location: The hotel is in close proximity to several nice beaches. Puerto Viejo is nearby we enjoyed the Cocao Museo tour set up for us by the hotel staff.
The Cariblue Hotel is set right in the jungle on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Beautiful lush green landscaping and the grounds are well maintained. This is a good beach location and near the town of Puerto Viejo. The restaurant and pool area appear to be maintained a little better than the rooms but overall the rooms seem to be clean. The bath towels are definitely inadequate in both quantity and quality. We had to get additional towels for us on two occasions. The towels were thin and coarse. Time for new towels. We noticed that someone left the residue of a drink and some stems on a table in the lounge by the restaurant and they were never cleaned up the entire time of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were greeted with fresh juice and warm wash cloths. No language barrier (they spoke English which was great for us because we are limited on our knowledge of Spanish). The food was delicious!! Just a short walk across the street to a beautiful beach (not crowded at all while we were there). Guests were continually checking in but they spread them out enough that you could enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay. The staff members were all wonderful. The only complaint was the room smelled a little musty when we first walked in but not bad after we were there for a while. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chuckfrom Denver, CO

Great place to relax.

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a very nice place and if you get a second level room they are warmer and the air conditioner takes some time to cool it down some. They should take out part of the window in the second story and replace it with a mesh so the heat has a way out of the room. Other than that, the stay was great and the food was very good. There is not much to do nearby aside from the small shops and the beach. The Jaguar rescue was a good thing to do.