Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Loved this hotel! Beach front and all!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: EVERY thing! beautiful pool, beautiful rooms and cabanas, great food, wonderful staff.
Cons: We wish there hadn't been power tools starting at 7am, but again, not exactly the hotel's fault.
Location: Literally right in front of a lovely beach, plenty of walkable restaurants and activities, centrally located on Cocles beach!
We loved our stay at the Cariblue. It lead right up to the beach, the room was lovely with a hammock on the porch, the pool area was absolutely AMAZING, and the entire staff was ready to help us with anything we needed. Most speak english, all are very willing to help when you try to speak spanish! Shout out to Oscar, the bar manager, on his willingness to go above and beyond for his guests. We noticed there were a lot of ants, but you are in Costa Rica when you're here! Overall, we absolutely loved this place and will likely stay here when we come back to the country!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great Service . SUper Staff..

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Facilities are very Clean and well maintained
Cons: Room Insect control.
Location: Playa COCLES and Puerto Viejo
Pool is very Clean, Staff is one of the greatest in the are. the place is located very close to the Cocles beach and also very close to all the attractions of the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great hotel next to the beach

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Overall the hotel was good, security was really good, they recorded everyone who came in and out of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and so nice. The rooms were comfortable, the pool was great! The food was well above average, we were very surprised! The only not so great thing was the wifi, half the time it never worked which was very frustrating because my fiancé and I had to stay connected to emails and such for work purposes. Other than that we had a great stay at cariblue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: safety
Location: near the puerto viejo town, not to much to do around thehotel but you have restaurant bars around the pueblo viejo town. fron of a beach that was nice
Hotel was nice, safe, entrance restrictions were good for the area. breakfast was very good. Rooms were basic accomodation. premises were a little dark but its part of the jungle feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Getaway!

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Right on the beach but also in the forest. Sloths in the trees right outside our room. Perfect distance from town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nette Anlage

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Die Anlage ist sehr gepflegt. Unser Zimmer war jedoch nicht der Hit. Wirkte etwas schmudelig aufgrund schmutziger Wände. Im Bad fühlten wir uns auch nicht so wohl. Vermutlich gibt es schönere Zimmer dort, wie auch auf den Bildern des Hotels zu sehen ist. WLAN funktionierte im Zimmer kaum. Man musste nach außen oder in die Lobby. Strand ist direkt über die Straße. Ist ein großer sauberer und ruhiger Strand. Am Abend kann man im Restaurant des Hotels essen. Sehr gut, ein wenig teurer. Ansonsten mit Taxi nach Puerto Viejo, auf der Straße laufen (gute 2 km) würde ich nachts nicht empfehlen. Frühstück War super, große Auswahl.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Nice hotel and location- we loved being in the rainforest, but the bed could have been more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aimeefrom Hillsboro, OR

Nice hotel in this area.

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel in this area. The hotel staff is friendly. The food was just ok although we only had breakfast there. I suggest going off the property and trying the local fare. So good. The bar hours are a little weird. The pool bar is only open for a certain period of time and therefore you have to walk to the other bar for drinks while hanging out at the pool after those hours. It wasn't a far walk at all which made it annoying, cause why not have the pool bar open. It was annoying, but we laughed at it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Cariblue is a great place to stay for all!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were amazing, the location was great, the ocean view (beach is across the street), howler monkeys at night (cool!)
Cons: Maybe some directions in advance about how to get in after dark. There are gates to keep you safe.
Location: Ziplining, snorkeling, hiking, Jaguar Rescue Center, lots of beaches and Puerto Viejo with lots of restaurants and shops.
Never having been to Costa Rica before, I was hesitant of committing to anything. I chose Puerto Viejo due to it being their dry season in September. We could not have been luckier choosing the area and the hotel! The hotel was well cared for and the staff was unbelievably helpful and kind. We got in very late after our 6 hour drive from San Jose, and of course were a little cranky, and the staff went out of their way to help us settle in so late. The Oceanfront room had an ocean view as promised and was spacious enough for the three of us; my dad, sister and myself. A sloth lives in a tree on the premises and we got to see him close up the first day we were there. The free breakfast every morning was phenomenal with an egg and pancake station. All staff were amazing; the servers and Johnny at the desk and Glory in the gift shop! Glory was knowledgeable about things to do in the area and set everything up for us. I just can't say enough about this place. The location was great; a little away from the loudness of the 'town' but only a three minute drive, (if that). All tours picked us up at the hotel and the max drive was about a half hour. It is a very cool town that has something for everyone. My 60 year old dad loved it as well as my 30 year old sister. Lots to do and beautiful beaches; something for everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Great accommodations, Friendly staff, Beautiful setting.