Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hidden gem in the jungle.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: As a ocean and nature addict my favorite thing about this hotel is it's unique location. You cannot go wrong with it.
Cons: Quality of the rooms
Location: Cariblue is located approximately 2km from Puerto Viejo, you can either have a nice walk (approx. 15-20min), take a taxi 5 min or rent a bike!
I had a pleasure of staying at Cariblue for a week, it is a very beautiful hotel, with a very professional staff. Security is at the premises 24/7. Rooms are clean and spacious. While at Cariblue, you are going to be offered a breakfast/buffet, 24/7 access to a swimming pools, SPA and 5 acres of a beautiful jungle surrounded the bungalows and all rooms. Not to mention easy access to the ocean! Fabulous location. I cannot wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danny from Atlanta

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty location, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, and great breakfasts. Only complaint was soft uncomfortable mattress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from West Michigan

Good location near Puerto Viejo & Playa Coceles

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a good location and setting and the staff was super friendly and helpful.
Cons: Upgrade the towels and more attention to cleaning the common areas within the restaurant and lounge areas. We would have preferred more Latin music.
Location: The hotel is in close proximity to several nice beaches. Puerto Viejo is nearby we enjoyed the Cocao Museo tour set up for us by the hotel staff.
The Cariblue Hotel is set right in the jungle on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Beautiful lush green landscaping and the grounds are well maintained. This is a good beach location and near the town of Puerto Viejo. The restaurant and pool area appear to be maintained a little better than the rooms but overall the rooms seem to be clean. The bath towels are definitely inadequate in both quantity and quality. We had to get additional towels for us on two occasions. The towels were thin and coarse. Time for new towels. We noticed that someone left the residue of a drink and some stems on a table in the lounge by the restaurant and they were never cleaned up the entire time of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were greeted with fresh juice and warm wash cloths. No language barrier (they spoke English which was great for us because we are limited on our knowledge of Spanish). The food was delicious!! Just a short walk across the street to a beautiful beach (not crowded at all while we were there). Guests were continually checking in but they spread them out enough that you could enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay. The staff members were all wonderful. The only complaint was the room smelled a little musty when we first walked in but not bad after we were there for a while. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chuck from Denver, CO

Great place to relax.

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a very nice place and if you get a second level room they are warmer and the air conditioner takes some time to cool it down some. They should take out part of the window in the second story and replace it with a mesh so the heat has a way out of the room. Other than that, the stay was great and the food was very good. There is not much to do nearby aside from the small shops and the beach. The Jaguar rescue was a good thing to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tropical paradise

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Cons: The TV didn't work for most of the time we were there. When we went to check out the credit card machine broke and we had to come up with cash.
Location: Beautiful and very tropical.
We loved the stay at the Hotel Cari-blue. The tropical setting was great. We were surrounded by great tropical trees and growth. Everyday butterflies and tropical birds were around us. The morning breakfast was especially good and a great way to start the day. We were close to the beach. The pool was excellent. There were a variety of activities in area to keep us exploring new interests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eddie from Los Angeles

Great

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is a few mins away from the main town, Puerto Vijo. The hotel offer bike rental that can be used to ride into town which is great because it gives you a feel of the out skirts of town. The hotel grounds are great, they incorporated each bungalow into the surrounding habitat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penticton, Bc

Staff were the highlight

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: More umbrellas at the pool
Location: Twenty minute walk to Puerto Viejo and minutes from beach.
We spent four nights at the Cariblue hotel in February. The hotel was very nice with a beautiful pool, although it could use more umbrellas. It was quite hot when we were there and people were lined up to get the two available. We ate at the hotel quite a few times. The main restaurant and the lunch restaurant were both very good. The service was always great at both. Our hotel room for the first two nights was okay. It was on the first floor and with the overhanging roof it was very dark. We had a minor water leak from the room above and without us having to ask they moved us to a large second floor room overlooking the ocean. The highlight of our stay was the service we got from one of the front desk staff. Her name was Maria Jose (I hope I spelled that right). She went out of her way to help everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by julie from kansas city mo

a week in Paradise

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
we just returned from our stay at Cariblue. This place is amazing. On our last morning there we were awaken by monkeys howling in the tree above our Cabana. It was incredible. We had a small Cabana that was nicely tucked away and secluded. Our room was very nice and always kept clean. All the staff were great. We had been told by several local people that this is the nicest resort in the area. It is a walk to town, but it is beautiful to walk the trail along the ocean or ask the front desk to call you a cab. We did this several times and cab was there within minutes, only cost a few dollars to get to town.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com