Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Antigua, Guatemala

A True Nature Experience

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Everything, my sort of relaxed place.
Location: The nature reserve around Manzanillo is stunning.
Will never forget the morning when the howler monkeys were all sounding off right outside my room at 5.10 am. You are really surrounded by the forest and its noises, especially before and after dawn and around sunset. The superb beaches are just a few minutes walk away. Freindly people in a quiet unassuming way. A real pleasure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place...

Posted Feb 1, 2014
My husband and I stayed at kukula this past week and were pleased. The breakfast is lovely fresh fruit, bread and homemade marmalades daily plus usually one other item (ie ham and cheese sandwich or pancakes) coffee is amazing and so are the freshly squeezed juices. Would have liked to have eggs and bacon some time though. Some things to note: the rooms offer little in the way of privacy re walls are paper thin and the blinds in the bathroom don't offer full coverage of the toilet or shower and my friend who was staying in another room swore she saw someone watching her in the bushes! This is not a party venue either so no music or smoking. Also the pool pictured is only for use if you rent the big house in the back but the beaches are wonderful so maybe you won't even notice. Wear lots of bug spray this is the jungle. Nice stay overall recommended. Also a good distance from the drama which is sometimes puerto viejo. Blessings!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jerie from Los Angeles

Deluxe Jungle Setting Accommodation

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great lodge IN THE JUNGLE but close to the beach. Read my Trip Advisor review. Not enough space here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a beautiful location, very close to a quiet beach and there were two or three restaurants within walking distance. Puerto Viejo was a cab ride away as it was not an easy walk (it took us most of a morning to get there by foot.) My girlfriends and I had a great time and enjoyed the area and the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Remote and beautiful

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a great remote setting, yet only a couple of minutes from the darling town. Lots of cute shops and great places to eat. The beach is beautiful and the jungle is alive with critters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrea from NYC

Unbelievable

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I had the BEST stay here. Neither of us had been to Costa Rica prior to this trip and we could not have picked a better location. If you have any concern about the four hour drive from the airport, let me reassure you: it is worth the trip. You have just the right amount of comfort and amenities. There are plenty of activities in the surrounding area (definitely recommend a snorkeling trip or canopy zip-line tour) and the nearby restaurants are lovely. La Kukula Lodge - We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by honeymooners

Peaceful, Super Clean & Great Location

Posted May 10, 2013
My husband & I originally booked for 3 nights but ended up staying an extra 2 nights because we liked it so much! The owner & his wife were super nice & helpful & cooked us a delicious breakfast of fruits & toast & eggs & fresh Costa Rican coffee each morning. The staff was very friendly & the room was cleaned very well each day. I took an excellent yoga class right down the road from the lodge each morning at 8:30am. You can rent a bicycle right near the lodge for $5 per day & bike to Puerto Veijo & a few other small towns within 5 or 6 miles of the lodge in either direction. You can walk to the beach right from the lodge down a pathway. I highly recommend it! Very peaceful & plenty to see & do & a great place to just relax in the hammock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sonia from Australia

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic place and very well run. It's about 5 is out of Puerto Viejo but has a nice beach, and a few nice local restaurants. You can rent bikes so getting around isn't an issue and there are plenty of cabs. This is a real jungle rainforest experience. There are sloths and monkeys and overall is magical. I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carroll from Florida

Amazing Costa Rica

Posted Mar 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owners Pepo and Sonya were great. This is an Eco friendly lodge. The breakfast were very good. It is a very tranquil place to stay. There are no tv in rooms but trust me you won't miss it as during the day of exploring the coast you will be ready to sleep. Your rooms are surrounded by tropical plants and the animals sounds at night are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah

We would definitely come back!

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved La Kukula. The people who run it are about as nice as can be. It's set back in the jungle a little bit, so you get to see some fantastic wildlife, too. I was just standing on our porch, looking out at the trees, and BAM, three fingered sloth. It was incredible. Very easy close walk to the beach. Tours will come pick you up a the hotel for all the kinds of things you might want to do. Restaurants and a grocery store close. Chocolate cafe & tours right down the street (get a chocolate there, you'll like it). If you have a car, easy drive to the Sloth Sanctuary, Jaguar Sanctuary, Punta Uva, Manzanillo, Playa Negra, Cahuita, etc. We don't often repeat stays at places, but if we go back to the Caribbean Coast, we'll happily stay here again.