Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Amazing Place,

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Jungle Location
Cons: comfort of the beds, no internet
Location: 2 Kms inside the jungle. 10 Kms to Puerto Viejo
Totally lost in the Jungle. If you like Nature it s a real experience to do. You must have a 4x4 car to arrive to destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Shainafrom Atlanta, GA

A Nature Lover's Dream

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is amazing! Your own private retreat in the middle of the jungle with majestic views and relaxing perks like yoga and massages. I'm not normally a vegetarian but the food was incredible and the staff was very sweet and accommodating. The one tiny issue is bugs in your room. I expected some little critters (I was staying in a jungle after all), but some pests could have been eliminated by patching up a few of the screens. But, still a wonderful experience, as the private bungalows were beautiful, clean and had breath-taking views. I love this place and will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TLCfrom Easton, MD

samasati

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I were here to enjoy yoga, hiking and the local community. We were not disappointed in the grounds except for two things. The jacuzzi wasn't working and the natural pool was a bit disappointing. We met lovely staff who couldn't have been more helpful. We learned that the retreat was in the process of changing wnership and they will be renovating the spa facility. We did have an awesome massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Un hotel donde puedes disfrutar de la naturaleza

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Hotel vegetariano, comimos de fábula, todo riquísimo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shawnafrom atlanta

Wonderful Resort

Posted May 23, 2014
The resort and staff were amazing. We arrived late from San Jose and the staff stayed late to assist us up the mountain. Additionally, they prepared a meal and had it waiting in our room upon our arrival. The house we stayed in and the grounds of the property were breathtaking. We will be returning to Samasati in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We look forward having you back very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexfrom California

Great Place and Amazing Staff

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Excellent Location, Customer Service oriented crew, Great Food
Cons: Some rooms may use extra maintenance
Location: Rafting, Zip Line, Beach, Nature, Water Falls
Nice tropical forest location, not very far from the beach, really nice vegetarian food and an expert yoga instructor. We really enjoyed our 12 days stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Tolgafrom London

Retreat in the middle of nowhere

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Usually reviews help me decide on a location but this time I made a mistake booking this Nature Retreat. From the entrance of the retreat there is a 1.5 km road that can only be accessed by a 4x4 which takes you to the reception where you get your key. So you cannot easily exit as you would have to hike the 1.5km. At night the roads to the accommodation are not lit. I stayed in 'Namaste' and did not have a torch light so had to walk in the dark to my lodge. Furthermore the retreat is 6km from Puerto Viejo but not on the beach but outside the city. For nature lovers who want to be away from it all, this could be great but I prefer places that are closer to the beach and where you can walk to the supermarket and are not a captive customer of the retreat. Would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Hello, I am sorry to hear that Samasati was not what you expected to be. We have 4x4 cars which take people to the entrance of the property any time that is needed and, once a day, we offer a shuttle to the beach/town. If you stay in Namaste house or any other house on the property we offer a pick up service with our cars. (The schedule is given by the receptionist). Samasati is a Nature Retreat is 6 kilometers (4 miles) from Puerto Viejo town and beach. It is nestled in the primary forest and it has spectacular views of the Caribbean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maryfrom Washington DC

Perfect Digital Detox!

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Beautiful, quiet, undisturbed, excellent staff, good food. Felt part of the natural environment.
Cons: More spaces for people to congregate comfortably in areas other than the communal dining space. Not recommended for families or small children.
Location: Punta Uva beach, kayaking, zip line, hiking, horseback riding, indigenous tours, shopping, yoga, meditation. Or sit in a hammock and do nothing.
Samasati made it easy to get off the grid, which was exactly what I wanted. There is internet if you want it and it's easy to avoid as well. The grounds are beautiful, waking each morning to the howling monkeys. Open air and no air conditioning put you right in the environment. There is hiking on the grounds, or plenty of activities to do close by. The staff is exceptional and always ready to help you as they are able. Traveling as a single, I particularly enjoyed the communal meals which made it like we were having a lively dinner party. While not a vegetarian, I did enjoy spending the week as one. The food was tasty and plentiful. Overall, I would highly recommend Samasati for a getaway and this part of the island is quiet, low key, undisturbed and stunningly beautiful. All smaller inns and far away from crowds. It's worth the trek from the airport to get here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan und Lenafrom Wetzlar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantástico Resort para desconectar

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: La ubicación, instalaciones y las personas que trabajan en él.
Cons: La información sobre el hotel en la página web de expedia
Location: Está a cinco kilómetros de Puerto Viejo en la la ladera de la montaña, un entorno idílico. Cerca está el Parque Nacional de Cahuita, e
Ha sido una experiencia fantástica, en plena naturaleza, los bungalows y habitaciones están en un entorno inigualable, en la ladera de la montaña. La comida y el trato excelente, está lejos de la playa, yo recomendaría coche, aunque tienen transporte gratuito.