Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from Long Beach, CA

Fantasy Island

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: On an private island with very few people. There was something for everyone(swimming, hiking, relaxing, hammocks, walking trails, and boating)
Cons: Information on Transportation services available. Can only get to the island by boat or plane additional cost. Expedia does not give this information
Location: This is a private island, however there are activities such as hiking, boat tours, and a swimming pool to do there. It is very relaxing too.
Our family had visited Costa Rica before but never quite like this. After we contacted Costa Rica Expeditions (transportation was needed to the island) We were met at the airport with a sign displaying our name. From there, their was a 3.5 hour chartered bus ride through the city, the cloud rainforest and many villages to the dock. On the boat ride down, looking at the beautiful rainforest and river all around us we knew that this was going to be amazingly different. Everything was wonderful. It was both relaxing and adventurous. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They met us with a refreshing all natural fruit welcoming drink. We had the 3 meal a day Full American plan for our 6 days there and this was EXCELLENT. The food was delicious with great portions served. Overall this was an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Excellent service and food, the staff is second to none
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrea from Italy

Very nice hotel in a superb location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We stay only 1 night but we really appreciated the staff and the environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed

Wonderful place

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Stayed there with our kids for two days: amazon location, friendly staff, tons of activities around!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marie from quebec

Incredible

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best place for à family vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from North Carolina

Great hotel but unhelpful with transfers

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Eco friendly hotel with comfortable rooms and pleasant staff
Cons: Assistance to individuals who have not arranged travel plans through Costa Rica Expeditions (who owns the hotel)
Location: Nature hikes and boat tours are the main attractions. The town is charming and has several good places to eat & shop for souvenirs
We stayed two days at Tortuga Lodge. This is a wonderful hotel, comfortable with pleasant friendly staff. We did not purchase a package, however, and the staff were not at all helpful arranging transfers and Tortuguero is only available by plane or boat. The directions took us to the public boat transfer which required wading through water with our luggage to get on a boat that was filled to capacity. It took 3 1/2 hours to reach the hotel as the water was low and the boat had to be pushed several times. When planning for the return I asked several staff about arranging for a private boat back and no one was helpful so we went to the village and with another couple were able to arrange a private boat that took us back in 1 1/2 hrs. The guide books say not to do this as these boats are usually not insured but we didn't feel we had a choice. We loved our room except that it was closest to the pool and not very private (we were not able to change rooms). The morning boat tour through the creeks was wonderful and our guide, Norton, was amazing at pointing out monkeys, lizards, birds, cayman, iguana and more that are so easy to miss. The food at the hotel was good but to get to town you have to arrange taxis or use the hotel boat which does not have convenient times and is not always reliable on the return trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Spent 2 nights at Tortuga lodge. Facilities are excellent . Staff are friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikhail from USA

Amazing staff

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the first time all hotel's available staff greeted me upon arrival and departure - they gather all staff on the peer and waive smiling. So touched. They are trying to accommodate your needs beyond their job responsibilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alfredo from Argentina

perfect style for such a spetial location

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
fiendly and efficent people, location is great and all is in harmony with the area, good design and style. My family and I loved to be there, great experince.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com