Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from Long Beach, CA

Fantasy Island

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: On an private island with very few people. There was something for everyone(swimming, hiking, relaxing, hammocks, walking trails, and boating)
Cons: Information on Transportation services available. Can only get to the island by boat or plane additional cost. Expedia does not give this information
Location: This is a private island, however there are activities such as hiking, boat tours, and a swimming pool to do there. It is very relaxing too.
Our family had visited Costa Rica before but never quite like this. After we contacted Costa Rica Expeditions (transportation was needed to the island) We were met at the airport with a sign displaying our name. From there, their was a 3.5 hour chartered bus ride through the city, the cloud rainforest and many villages to the dock. On the boat ride down, looking at the beautiful rainforest and river all around us we knew that this was going to be amazingly different. Everything was wonderful. It was both relaxing and adventurous. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They met us with a refreshing all natural fruit welcoming drink. We had the 3 meal a day Full American plan for our 6 days there and this was EXCELLENT. The food was delicious with great portions served. Overall this was an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Excellent service and food, the staff is second to none
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrea from Italy

Very nice hotel in a superb location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We stay only 1 night but we really appreciated the staff and the environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed

Wonderful place

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Stayed there with our kids for two days: amazon location, friendly staff, tons of activities around!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from North Carolina

Great hotel but unhelpful with transfers

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Eco friendly hotel with comfortable rooms and pleasant staff
Cons: Assistance to individuals who have not arranged travel plans through Costa Rica Expeditions (who owns the hotel)
Location: Nature hikes and boat tours are the main attractions. The town is charming and has several good places to eat & shop for souvenirs
We stayed two days at Tortuga Lodge. This is a wonderful hotel, comfortable with pleasant friendly staff. We did not purchase a package, however, and the staff were not at all helpful arranging transfers and Tortuguero is only available by plane or boat. The directions took us to the public boat transfer which required wading through water with our luggage to get on a boat that was filled to capacity. It took 3 1/2 hours to reach the hotel as the water was low and the boat had to be pushed several times. When planning for the return I asked several staff about arranging for a private boat back and no one was helpful so we went to the village and with another couple were able to arrange a private boat that took us back in 1 1/2 hrs. The guide books say not to do this as these boats are usually not insured but we didn't feel we had a choice. We loved our room except that it was closest to the pool and not very private (we were not able to change rooms). The morning boat tour through the creeks was wonderful and our guide, Norton, was amazing at pointing out monkeys, lizards, birds, cayman, iguana and more that are so easy to miss. The food at the hotel was good but to get to town you have to arrange taxis or use the hotel boat which does not have convenient times and is not always reliable on the return trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Spent 2 nights at Tortuga lodge. Facilities are excellent . Staff are friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Lansing, MI

Easy-going eco-lodge with all the comforts

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed looking out at the river from the naturally-landscaped pool. Room was Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Perhaps some music in the afternoon? Appetizers. Warning: this is not an easy place to get to and arrangements must be made with lodge before hand!!
Location: See above. The tiny village is ok, nice walk along the beach to get it but don't expect to go shopping there and some of the restaurants were closed.
We ended up staying at the lodge for an entire week vs the 2-3 days most people stay, but it met our needs--to relax and enjoy the rain forest. The isolated lodge is located along a river about 2 miles to the village of Tortuguero. There were several lodges along the river, but each isolated from the other. To get to the town, the staff will provide a free boat ride to the other side of the river and then you can walk either along the beach or air strip and path the village or you can also hitch a ride with the staff when they are transporting the workers to the village. The gardens around the lodge were beautiful and there are paths behind the lodge to check out the rain forest by foot...but you have to douse yourself with bug spray. The mosquitoes around the lodge were only bad around early evening. The best time to see and hear the birds and moneys are in the early morning (when the howler monkeys do their thing--howl!) Staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating, we got to know them all. Meals were good, we only took the breakfast and dinner plan, which held us fine. Don't fill up on their awesome granola because they also will make you all the other regular breakfast fare. They had a bar so you can enjoy the local beers or tropical drinks any time. Because it is an eco-lodge, don't expect caribbean music playing, you're their to hear the sounds of the rain forest. We took a great kayak ride, boat ride, did the turtle nesting tour and saw baby turtles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Natalie Ewing, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share about your week long experience. I’m glad you decided to stay the extra days. I enjoyed your description of the lodge’s setting, and your enjoyment of the gardens. You mentioned that you would have appreciated music in the afternoons; we used to play music, but having received so much feedback over the years that reflected an appreciation for just listening to the noise of the jungle, we generally choose to forego the music. We have been known to occasionally bring in a local band for some evening entertainment, however. It was nice to see that you got to know our staff; they love having extended guests like yourselves. Lately we have had a few people decide to stay longer than planned at the lodge, or to plan extended stays beforehand. People stay longer because they find Tortuga Lodge to be a great place to recharge their batteries, or because they are interested in learning more in depth about the Tortuguero Environment. We recently had a couple stay for two weeks because they wanted to spend time working with our program teaching English to local children. Others have found the Lodge to be a distraction free place to focus on their work or art. Sincerely, Natalie Ewing (Chief Guest Satisfaction Officer)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

The best Hotel in Tortuguero

Posted Aug 20, 2013
It was a magical place, I can't wait to go back! I love to that there's the forest in the back of the rooms and the sounds of the jungle (exotic birds, monkeys, etc) made it even better. You wont hear any cars, TV's or any city sounds, very relaxing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Natalie Ewing, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I loved your description of the Lodge. We agree that Tortuga Lodge, and Tortuguero itself, are truly magical places. Please come back and visit us again. Sincerely, Natalie Ewing (Chief Guest Satisfaction Officer)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Its location and very special caracteristics
Cons: the menu, more choices will be great.
Location: Fishing, and see the turtles at night on the beach nesting.
A very unique accommodation wild but beautiful!!! The most incredible sky at night I ever seen
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Natalie Ewing, Hotel Management
The starry Caribbean night sky, when clear of clouds, really is a remarkable site, especially for those of us who are used to living in cities. Thank you for your great review! I hope you had some good luck fishing. I don’t know which of the Brown brothers (Eddie or Roberto) was captain in your case, but I know that either one would have provided you with incomparable (and award winning!) local knowledge and experience fishing Costa Rica’s northern Caribbean coast. Thank you for telling us you would have appreciated more choices on the menu. We also wish we could add more choices. So far, given Tortuga Lodge’s isolated location and the high cost of transporting fresh, high quality ingredients (the only kind we want to use) to the Lodge, we have decided to limit our options and focus instead on ensuring that the plates we do serve are the best they can possibly be. Lately we have had people choosing to stay at the Lodge for longer periods of time, up to a week, and in that case our chef is working with the guest to ensure that they receive more variety in the food served, in order to avoid repetition. Our chefs are happy to provide alternatives and accommodate any request regarding the day’s given menu that they are able to. All you have to do is let them know. Thank you again for your review, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Sincerely, Natalie Ewing (Chief Guest Satisfaction Officer)