Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrea from Italy

Very nice hotel in a superb location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We stay only 1 night but we really appreciated the staff and the environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed

Wonderful place

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Stayed there with our kids for two days: amazon location, friendly staff, tons of activities around!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from North Carolina

Great hotel but unhelpful with transfers

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Eco friendly hotel with comfortable rooms and pleasant staff
Cons: Assistance to individuals who have not arranged travel plans through Costa Rica Expeditions (who owns the hotel)
Location: Nature hikes and boat tours are the main attractions. The town is charming and has several good places to eat & shop for souvenirs
We stayed two days at Tortuga Lodge. This is a wonderful hotel, comfortable with pleasant friendly staff. We did not purchase a package, however, and the staff were not at all helpful arranging transfers and Tortuguero is only available by plane or boat. The directions took us to the public boat transfer which required wading through water with our luggage to get on a boat that was filled to capacity. It took 3 1/2 hours to reach the hotel as the water was low and the boat had to be pushed several times. When planning for the return I asked several staff about arranging for a private boat back and no one was helpful so we went to the village and with another couple were able to arrange a private boat that took us back in 1 1/2 hrs. The guide books say not to do this as these boats are usually not insured but we didn't feel we had a choice. We loved our room except that it was closest to the pool and not very private (we were not able to change rooms). The morning boat tour through the creeks was wonderful and our guide, Norton, was amazing at pointing out monkeys, lizards, birds, cayman, iguana and more that are so easy to miss. The food at the hotel was good but to get to town you have to arrange taxis or use the hotel boat which does not have convenient times and is not always reliable on the return trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Spent 2 nights at Tortuga lodge. Facilities are excellent . Staff are friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Lansing, MI

Easy-going eco-lodge with all the comforts

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed looking out at the river from the naturally-landscaped pool. Room was Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Perhaps some music in the afternoon? Appetizers. Warning: this is not an easy place to get to and arrangements must be made with lodge before hand!!
Location: See above. The tiny village is ok, nice walk along the beach to get it but don't expect to go shopping there and some of the restaurants were closed.
We ended up staying at the lodge for an entire week vs the 2-3 days most people stay, but it met our needs--to relax and enjoy the rain forest. The isolated lodge is located along a river about 2 miles to the village of Tortuguero. There were several lodges along the river, but each isolated from the other. To get to the town, the staff will provide a free boat ride to the other side of the river and then you can walk either along the beach or air strip and path the village or you can also hitch a ride with the staff when they are transporting the workers to the village. The gardens around the lodge were beautiful and there are paths behind the lodge to check out the rain forest by foot...but you have to douse yourself with bug spray. The mosquitoes around the lodge were only bad around early evening. The best time to see and hear the birds and moneys are in the early morning (when the howler monkeys do their thing--howl!) Staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating, we got to know them all. Meals were good, we only took the breakfast and dinner plan, which held us fine. Don't fill up on their awesome granola because they also will make you all the other regular breakfast fare. They had a bar so you can enjoy the local beers or tropical drinks any time. Because it is an eco-lodge, don't expect caribbean music playing, you're their to hear the sounds of the rain forest. We took a great kayak ride, boat ride, did the turtle nesting tour and saw baby turtles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

The best Hotel in Tortuguero

Posted Aug 20, 2013
It was a magical place, I can't wait to go back! I love to that there's the forest in the back of the rooms and the sounds of the jungle (exotic birds, monkeys, etc) made it even better. You wont hear any cars, TV's or any city sounds, very relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Its location and very special caracteristics
Cons: the menu, more choices will be great.
Location: Fishing, and see the turtles at night on the beach nesting.
A very unique accommodation wild but beautiful!!! The most incredible sky at night I ever seen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PL from Macclesfield UK

Great hotel to connect with natural environment

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: The staff and the natural setting
Location: Access by river only.
Had a superb week at Tortuga Lodge. The staff were friendly and helpful and the guides were knowledgeable and great at spotting impossible to see animals. The rooms have screened windows rather than glass allowing you to fall asleep and wake to the sound of the jungle. There are no mod cons like TVs in the room, but who needs one when instead you have a hammock on the balcony or veranda that allows you to watch the river run by and the wonderful bird life
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Judy

Beautiful lodge, but too expensive!

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Grounds, pool, staff
Cons: Lower your meal prices! Complimentary water taxi, comparable tour prices, add outlets
We did not purchase a 'package deal' but it was a splurge to stay here for us. Tortuga's tours & meals were 3x the price of what is available in town, but on top of that, you're trapped because it's a 10 min, $10 1-way water taxi into town! Room was much smaller than what is shown online and with 2 double beds, not a single queen or king. Room needs more outlets so cell phone/notebook/camera batteries can be charged. Grounds are beautiful and all staff were wonderful except the boat drivers were rather aloof which translates as snobby. 6 am walk is only on the grounds next to the buildings, not on the outlying trails.