Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location fab. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Food was average. Breakfast was lovely. Good effort to provide top quality evening food but it was $24 for a main course and not was sometimes average
Location: Boat excursions, trips to the local village and turtle watching.
Lovely hotel with great staff and location. Little touches like giving you a cold towel and cold drink on return from your excursions on the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Absolutely amazing hotel.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location was absolutely amazing, room was very clean and surrounded by rainforest sounds.
Cons: Breakfast should be included.
Location: Animal and bird watching, jungle trails, swimming pool, kayaking, boat tour, night jungle walks.
This place is amazing, and me and my husband had a great time. We were collected from the airport which is a short boat ride just across the river, as we arrive very early the room was not ready, so we dropped our bags and went for a nature guided tour (a 3 hours boat tour). The guide was very knowledgeable and was able to spot a lot of wildlife. After that, we enjoyed the swimming pool which had a fantastic view and large iguanas walking in the near garden. We also explored the local trail, the receptionist provide us with repellent and rubber boots which was a nice touch. We managed to see monkeys, a lot of different birds, red frogs and many other species. We stayed only one night but we made the most of it. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to relax and enjoy the nature!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Great staff and visit

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Location: Boat tour was great!
Nice place to visit away from the hustle and bustle from every day life. The staff was great and Carmen was the friendliest and most warming individual ever. She made our stay so enjoyable! 😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort! Right on the water

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Great time, I'm coming back one day! Good place if you want to disconnect from the world and truly relax. Service was excellent and rooms are very clean. Tours are very easy to setup with staff and the tour guides are on point!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seatte, WA

Friendliest Place Ever!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: We loved all of the people there. The front desk staff was very helpful. The servers were wonderful and we had fun as they helped us with Spanish.
Cons: Communication about how to get to Tortuguero from La Pavona. Make it easier on yourself and BUY THE TRANSPORTATION PACKAGE!
Location: One very special, rainy day we took a boat tour right from the lodge. Our guide, Willis, was very knowledgeable and funny! Sloths, monkeys...
We were a party of 6 and booked three rooms. Arrived by boat and greeted by the Assistant Manager and Staff Member with a welcome beverage. Upon check-in we were given a detailed discussion about the property, i.e., where to see Spider and Howler Monkeys, Strawberry Poison Dart Frogs, and other wildlife on the property. There is a large refuge on the property with trails. Boots, socks and walking sticks are provided at no cost. This is a rainforest, so expect the trails to be muddy year-round. Our rooms were all very clean. No windows partly because it is difficult to get window glass to Tortuguero. We were happy with the screened windows and enjoyed the breeze and the sounds of the wildlife. The bar and restaurant were open-air and very enjoyable. Every meal was beautiful and delicious. Lunch and breakfast are optionally served family-style. You will not go hungry. The wine list was sufficient and the bar well-stocked. Coffee/tea and muffins or cookies are available at no charge all day. A snack is provided at happy hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toulon

Paradisiaque

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Seule déception : nous avions réservé 2 chambres pour 2 couples 10 mois à l'avance et nous nous sommes retrouvés à l'opposé. Par ailleurs le petit déjeuner et le repas sont d'un prix élevé,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marlenefrom Vejle

Too expencive compaired to the service and hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
The boattrip to the lodge was very beautiful. The information about how to get there, was very poor! There is a public boat departing every 2 hour for 3 dollars compaired to 20 dollars for the hotel pickup. You can only get there by boat or plane, so we emailed and called the lodge to be sure how to get there. But the information from them was not helpfull :( When time for dinner, there was no service or explanation off how it works. There was no prices on the menu?? You could buy a packes with all 3 meals, but no one told us how it worked. We could hear that many of the guest was confused as well.Very confusing and we gave op finding out. Just for info... Everywhere you go in Costa Rica, the food is very expencive. On restaurants and even in supermarkets :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Beautiful, serene, and hospitable

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: I liked that the hotel was located away from the village and secluded; but they had free shuttle service into the village or across to the sea.
Location: The location is very secluded and peaceful. I enjoyed the kayak and boat tours and the garden tour. There were also jungle trails to explore.
I stayed at Tortuga Lodge as part of my Honeymoon - it was the best part! The staff was welcoming and accommodating. We did all our excursions through the hotel, and each time we returned they were waiting with a freshly made drink. The free grounds tour was fantastic! We saw so many birds (including the macaw and a number of different toucans), howler monkeys, frogs, and a sleeping sloth. Iguanas were just roaming around the property. There were many areas set up to relax and enjoy the beauty and peacefulness. They also had many different meal options for a vegetarian and would even make changes to satisfy my cravings.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Magnifique séjour

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nous avons séjourné au Tortugua lodge deux nuits. Je n'ai rien à dire de négatif sur cet hôtel, si ce n'est le fait qu'il est situé sur une autre île que celle de Tortuguero. Il faut donc constamment prendre un petit bateau navette pour aller à Tortuguero. On doit y aller pour les excursions, le magasinage et pour les restaurant à moins biensûr de faire affaire avec l'hôtel et les prix du restaurant sont assez élevé. De plus l'hôtel à une navette gratuite, mais les heures ne sont pas facilitantes. Elles ont été pensées pour que nous soyons obligé démanger à l'hôtel, à moins de se payer un bateau taxi à 12$ us pour un aller simple. C'est mon seul point négatif, mais j'y retournerais. Il y a une magnifique piscine et nos enfants ont adoré s'y baigner le matin et en fin de journée