Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of no where and too noisy!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
I feel that the hotel is overpriced and breakfast is the worst I've had in Costa Rica, we skipped it after 2 mornings, eggs, or an omelette and some fruit served with dry bread on the side. We travel all around the world and for the money we paid, I would honestly say that it's the least value place I have ever stayed. It's situated down a very long dirt track at least 2km from civilisation. The nearest beach and hotel is the beautiful!!! banana azure hotel where he stopped for cocktails whilst watching a sloth in there tree's. The staff and owner do try to make you feel welcome and if it wasn't so remote and half the price I would not be writing this negative review. Also I have come to Costa Rica to see the wildlife, however the howling money's screamed at 4.50am every morning without fail- funny on the first morning- also just to add we never saw them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really nice outside of town. The owners are really nice and helped us with everything. The rooms were huge and had a full kitchen. Overall great experience just wish it was on the beach or in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Simply Amazing.

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: the breakfast, location, Dilan and Miriam.
Cons: the roads were a little dark getting to the hotel-- but of course that is the case you are in the jungle.
Location: gorgeous and peaceful. a short cab ride away from town and some of the most gorgeous beaches in all of Costa Rica.
This hotel was truly amazing. It is hidden in the jungle which is exactly what we were looking for to get the "Costa Rican" feel. It is close to town and the beautiful beaches. Miriam is an angel and helped us set up our transportation to and from the airport and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay a memorable one. Dilan who also works at the hotel is one of a kind. He set up all our tours and excursions for us and introduced us to awesome people throughout the trip. He made sure we were always in good hands and watched out for us. They are two very special people and we will never forget them. The hotel is very clean and offers an AWESOME complimentary breakfast every morning. We didn't get to have it one morning because we were going canopying early and we were so sad that we had to miss it. However, Miriam and Dilan made sure to put fruit and coffee in our rooms for us. This was by far one of the best vacations I have ever been on and VIP Playa Negra is the hotel to stay at when visiting Puerto Viejo. Looking up flights back right now actually =)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by lrg

you can get more for the money

Posted Feb 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel and management are nice enough but the details do not live up to VIP label. It is a $4 to $5 taxi ride into town and a 10 block walk to the beach. The free to use bikes have leaky tires and in some cases no breaks. I had to pay to get a tire repaired on one trip out and was not reimbursed. If they get you food or supplies from town expect to over pay. If they offer you something from their stock with a 'we can settle this later' expect to pay double the replacement cost. No soap towels or napkins for kitchen. Crumbled foam rubber pillows plastic wrapped mattresses. For far less money you can get ocean views and equal our more amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adri from New York, NY, USA

Quaint and homey

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: How much it felt like home
Cons: Farther from the beach than I would have liked, walking at night was not an option for us
We had a great time here. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was very spacious and away from the hustle of Puerto Viejo. Very easy to just grab a bike or take a bit of a walk down to Playa Negra. Great for families or couples who want to be close, but not too close to everything. Breakfast was awesome, they bring it right to your room and was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael

Seclusion of deep forest, walk to the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a great boutique alternative to the area hotels. You get a jungle environment just a short walk to a beautiful black sand beach. The hostess is from Spain has lived in Costa Rica for many years. She is very friendly and accommodating. I recommend this place to my family and friends, and to you, hotel.com users!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rodrigo from Costa Rica

Nice and quiet...

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: Nature
Cons: Need more sealing fans
Location: Easy access by car And pretty close from San Jose
The place is amazing. A lot of nature in a pure and simple hotel. Go ahead, and visit Costa Rica and Puerto Viejo it's a wonderful place!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lot of space.

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Nice place to stay if, you are going stay, for many weeks. A lot of space in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Amazing Place

Posted Feb 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was AMAZING and outstanding place to stay - beautifull and clean rooms, tastefull plants, flowers, garden and wild nature, friendly and helpful owner, healthy morning food, convinient to the beach, big and clean pool near Puerto Viego center, all unforgetable! After visiting other hotels (Banana Azul, Negrito, Kukula, Pepito, etc.) I realized that this hotel was one of a kind and better by far in every way! I highly recommend VIP to anyone that is appreciates wild nature, comfort and grace while travelling - you will love this place!