Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accesability: VERY POOR

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: the road to it and clear signage to find it quickly and easily.
Location: The town is filled with caribbean flavor. Very realxing. Lots to do for those who love adventure, nice food and lovely people.
After 25 minutes of searching for the hotel, due to the lack of clear signage, I went through A flooded creek(small) as it was pouring with rain. If you dont have a car or own transport, everytime you want to go to town, you have to get a cab at $7 for a 5 minute ride, each way. For this reason, I didnt stay. I want a refund
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ferias de verao

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
O hotel e excelente porem de dificil acesso e sinalizacao precaria colocada placas em arvores que a noite dificulta a sua localizacao. Porem fomos muito bem recebidos e depois de chegar e so aproveitar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

tiene muchos baches el camino hacia el hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: su cocina, estancia y comedor
Cons: el desayuno tiene un horario muy restringido y la alberca tenia mucho cloro, y se necesita personal en un horario amplio
Location: Hay pocas actividades organizadas en puerto viejo, pero sobre todo falta lugares con música viva toda la semana
Me gusto que el hotel este rodeado de árboles, me relaje mucho, dormi regular, . pero en general estuve feliz con mi familia.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonasfrom Gothenburg

Way to expensive

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was not worth the money and the rating it currently had. We asked to get the sorry excuse for breakfast early one day and they gave us some fruit instead. The location was way of the grid and the bicycles was in a bad condition and too few for the amount of people living there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of no where and too noisy!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
I feel that the hotel is overpriced and breakfast is the worst I've had in Costa Rica, we skipped it after 2 mornings, eggs, or an omelette and some fruit served with dry bread on the side. We travel all around the world and for the money we paid, I would honestly say that it's the least value place I have ever stayed. It's situated down a very long dirt track at least 2km from civilisation. The nearest beach and hotel is the beautiful!!! banana azure hotel where he stopped for cocktails whilst watching a sloth in there tree's. The staff and owner do try to make you feel welcome and if it wasn't so remote and half the price I would not be writing this negative review. Also I have come to Costa Rica to see the wildlife, however the howling money's screamed at 4.50am every morning without fail- funny on the first morning- also just to add we never saw them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Verona

Un comodo rifugio nel verde

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: I grandi spazi, il giardino e la cortesia
Location: L'hotel dista un breve tratto di strada dalla spiaggia, la strada e' sterrata e piena di buche, un po' difficile da percorrere.
Abbiamo passato 3 giorni in questo bel posto nel verde, non lontano dal mare. Gli alloggi sono molto spaziosi, con una bella camera con porta finestra che da sulla foresta, un grandissimo soggiorno con cucina completa, un grande bagno ed una fantastica veranda con amaca che da sul giardino e la piscina. La padrona di casa, Marian, e' molto gentile così' come Minerva, la giovane donna che l'aiuta e che porta la colazione direttamente nell'alloggio alla mattina. La spiaggia si raggiunge con un breve tratto in auto o in bicicletta in mezzo ad una natura lussureggiante. Sicuramente un posto molto bello e confortevole. Ci sono solo 6 alloggi e il luogo è' molto tranquillo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really nice outside of town. The owners are really nice and helped us with everything. The rooms were huge and had a full kitchen. Overall great experience just wish it was on the beach or in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolinefrom Nîmes

Calme

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Les petits déjeuners La piscine Le calme
Cons: Aucune intimité dans les chambres : pas de volets, des rideaux transparents, une fenêtre donnant sur la douche.
Location: La jungle, la plage est à 5 min en voiture, la ville de Puerto Viejo avec pleins de restaurants, le parc National de Cahuita.
Pas vraiment un hotel, plutôt des grandes villas de pleins pieds. Nous avons séjourner en couple 5 jours à l'hotel VIP Hotel playa Negra. Nous avons été les seuls résidents pendant notre séjour. Le pied! Le cadre est aypique: isolé au milieu de la jungle. L'accès nécessite une voiture. Les chambres n'ont malheureusement pas la climatisation. Mise à part cela, les petits déjeuners servis sur la terrasse sont excellent, on se sent bichonnés. La piscine est très jolie et très agréable. Un moment de détente pure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kjetilfrom Oslo, Norge

Hotel with nature experience

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: The pool, garden, size of the rooms and the sound of the howler monkeys early in the morning.
Cons: The bikes needs reneval / improvement, but worked for us.
Location: Approx. 10 minutes walk to the beautiful Playa Negra beach, where you can use the sun beds of Hotel Banana Azul
Lovely place where you really felt you where living in the jungle. The hostess was very helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and the very beautiful pool and garden just outside our spacious "apartment". Around the fitness room you can watch the red-eyed tree frogs after dark. Treat them well, they are rare. Suitable for travelers with car or who like to be a little physically active. We loved it!