Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome B&B

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The quaintness, the two living room areas, the food, and the care it took to run a clean, cozy B&B.
Location: Close to Carlow's restaurants and live music pubs.
Tom was the best as a host...great breakfasts and most helpful with every need. Gave good advice as to where traditional music was played and restaurants in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orillia, ontario

Excellent surprise

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Loved it, booked about 45 minutes before I arrived, it was a late night quick booking that worked out perfectly, I was impressed with the room, the property, the professionalism, and one heck of a huge breakfast. Thanks for everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice B&B close town.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable rooms.
Location: Close to town with shopping, restaurants.
Very nice and comfortable on inside and out. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Nice size room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lindy Epperlyfrom USA

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice home and wonderful breakfast. Owner very helpful with suggestions on what to see and we saw a wonderful garden we would have missed without his advice. Town easy to walk to get dinner, nice after a day of driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautifully maintained, helpful owner

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Avlon House is impeccably maintained and all of the finishes were in "like new" condition. The owner of this property clearly takes great pride in his product. While not overly chatty, the owner inquired about the next stop on our trip and, without us asking, provided us with a map and detailed driving instructions along with several major highlights along our route. Wonderful and greatly appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maureenfrom Scotland

Just perfect

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Will return share the experience for a second time
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tamarafrom Palo Alto, California

Wonderful Stay in Carlow!

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mom, sister, and myself stayed at the Avalon House and LOVED it! It was clean, very cute, and the food was super tasty! We stayed in several B&B's while in Ireland and The Avalon House was the ONLY one that had a shower cap, shampoo, conditioner, and even a toothbrush and toothpaste. All these things were great, but the best part about our stay here was Tom, he was super welcoming, offered to drive us into town (only a short walk down the street) and in the morning, while eating breakfast, we casually mentioned where we were heading, and without even being asked, he printed us out directions and listed some cool things we could see along the way, even local events that were happening that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. He wrote them all down on top of the printed directions, it was just above and beyond- great service. Would totally recommend to anyone and everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Western Australia

Convenient to some outstanding cultural and places

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The friendly and accommodating attitude, we felt welcome as valuable guests
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Stunning gardens and stately homes, unique villages and cultural activities.
Everthing was 1st class from the immaculate rooms to incredible breakfasts. Our host could not be more obliging and went out of his way to help us source places of interest. As seasononed travelers we can honestly say this was the accommodation we have ever stayed in. I would have no hesitation in recommending his establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travelling triofrom Canada

5 star B and B

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Decor, cleanliness, proximity to many attractions, and attention to detail
Location: Proximity to Kildare and Altamont Gardens and Duckett Grove, as well as Dublin. Carlow too has many interesting sights to see, and great restaurants.
Incredible attention to detail, and great service and support from the host. Close proximity to great historical attractions and gorgeous gardens. This Bed and Breakfast equalled many luxurious hotels in comfort, cleanliness, and attention to all possible needs of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darren McCfrom UK

Well done Tom!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Forget any reviews u see on this place that are poor, they are completely inaccurate. This place is awesome. Hotel standards for B&B prices. Free parking and free Wi-Fi. Very clean and tidy, fantastic breakfast, great facilities. Better than most hotels....Well done Tom!!!