Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orillia, ontario

Excellent surprise

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Loved it, booked about 45 minutes before I arrived, it was a late night quick booking that worked out perfectly, I was impressed with the room, the property, the professionalism, and one heck of a huge breakfast. Thanks for everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice B&B close town.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable rooms.
Location: Close to town with shopping, restaurants.
Very nice and comfortable on inside and out. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Nice size room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tamara from Palo Alto, California

Wonderful Stay in Carlow!

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mom, sister, and myself stayed at the Avalon House and LOVED it! It was clean, very cute, and the food was super tasty! We stayed in several B&B's while in Ireland and The Avalon House was the ONLY one that had a shower cap, shampoo, conditioner, and even a toothbrush and toothpaste. All these things were great, but the best part about our stay here was Tom, he was super welcoming, offered to drive us into town (only a short walk down the street) and in the morning, while eating breakfast, we casually mentioned where we were heading, and without even being asked, he printed us out directions and listed some cool things we could see along the way, even local events that were happening that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. He wrote them all down on top of the printed directions, it was just above and beyond- great service. Would totally recommend to anyone and everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Western Australia

Convenient to some outstanding cultural and places

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The friendly and accommodating attitude, we felt welcome as valuable guests
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Stunning gardens and stately homes, unique villages and cultural activities.
Everthing was 1st class from the immaculate rooms to incredible breakfasts. Our host could not be more obliging and went out of his way to help us source places of interest. As seasononed travelers we can honestly say this was the accommodation we have ever stayed in. I would have no hesitation in recommending his establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travelling trio from Canada

5 star B and B

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Decor, cleanliness, proximity to many attractions, and attention to detail
Location: Proximity to Kildare and Altamont Gardens and Duckett Grove, as well as Dublin. Carlow too has many interesting sights to see, and great restaurants.
Incredible attention to detail, and great service and support from the host. Close proximity to great historical attractions and gorgeous gardens. This Bed and Breakfast equalled many luxurious hotels in comfort, cleanliness, and attention to all possible needs of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darren McC from UK

Well done Tom!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Forget any reviews u see on this place that are poor, they are completely inaccurate. This place is awesome. Hotel standards for B&B prices. Free parking and free Wi-Fi. Very clean and tidy, fantastic breakfast, great facilities. Better than most hotels....Well done Tom!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike and Mario from Mississauga, Ontario

Carlow Gem

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were in Ireland for 2 weeks and this was our 2nd visit to the Avion. We enjoyed it so much first time we knew where we wanted to stay when back in Carlow. It's a home away from home. Breakfast is amazing and you have a few choices which is nice. Tom, the owner, is so nice and always made you feel welcome and special. He has thought of everything you need in your room to make your stay pleasant. We would definitely recommend this gem to everyone. You will not be disappointed. We will go back whenever in Carlow area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bill W from Connecticut, USA

Avlon - Good quality and fair rate

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location, good rate, very comfortable free Wi-Fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daniel from London, UK

Great B&B

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Room and friendly manager.
Was pleasantly surprised by the good size of the room. Completely spotless. I had a good sleep and enjoyed a nice chat with the manager in the morning. It was an easy 15 minute walk into town, close enough to be convenient but far enough away to be quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jacques

excellent venue

Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
No complaints! Brilliant, helpful and at a good price