Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Overpriced and not nice

Posted Jul 12, 2014
I paid $150 for a room. The hotel staff were very unhelpful. I saw another guest spit into the pool from standing on the side, which really grossed me out. The hotel staff didn't say anything. The breakfast made me feel sick.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Nonsmoking" room was smokey.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The nonsmoking rooms are on the same hallway as the smoking.... Yuck! The shower is the worst we've had in a while. Do not stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Cons: The motel needs a general update in the rooms and the general areas.
The motel needs a general update in the rooms and the general areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Arizona

A little pricey, but expected for an oil boomtown

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Construction next door made the car a mess. Hotel staff was very cordial. Pool and hot tub were very nice. The rocking recliner was so comfortable after a long day of driving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frederique from romford

Excellent hotel, a bit expensive.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Nice design, internal room entrances, very clean, nice rooms.
It is a bit far from the Caverns, but from the reviews the closer hotels seem lacking in quality, hopefully this will change soon as Carlsbad seems to be undergoing a make over. Best Western Artesia was good and ticks all the right boxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay.

Posted May 20, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff. Easy to find, easy to get around town and easy to get to nearby attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend.

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Great night at this hotel. The room was very nice with comfy beds and had a fridge and microwave. The indoor pool and hot tub were a fabulous way to relax after a long weary trip. Full breakfast in the morning served by friendly staff, much nicer than the usual continental breakfast at other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raquel from el paso

Nice lobby

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: I liked the lobby
Location: On Main Street were everything is close by
Nice clean big rooms
2 out of 5
by Steven from Lubbock, Texas

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Everything.
There was people drinking alcohol everywhere. There was a man bleeding and needing medical attention in the lobby. People were loud and you could hear it from your room.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from Charlotte, NC

Nice hotel, not so great service

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Very nice room
Cons: Restaurant and lounge are not open during advertised days or hours
Location: nice, small town location
Very nice building and very comfortable room, but the service was weak. Restaurant is closed on Saturdays right now, even though all hotel literature, including in-room brochures, say it's open 7 days a week. Lounge hours are apparently flexible as well, despite what hotel literature says; the bartender said she would be open until maybe 9:00 (on a Saturday night!), even though hotel lit says midnight. I had to interrupt the bartender from a personal phone call just to ask. I guess they cut costs when the hotel is not very busy, but that left a bad taste in my mouth; one of the reasons I chose this hotel was for those services. Front desk clerk was not particularly friendly, although I guess she didn't technically do anything wrong, I did feel like I was an inconvenience. I'm not sure if I would stay again because there are other similar hotels in the area, and I would give their service a chance before I return here.