Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Old and dark

Posted Oct 24, 2014
We needed a room for the night, way overpriced !dark and dingy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque, NM

Caverns trip

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Clean & comfortable room.
Cons: Could not get Internet.
Location: Our main purpose was to see Carlsbad Caverns. Probably a lot more to see. Actually still has a drive in theater open only Thursday-Saturday.
Room was nice & clean. Appeared to have been painted not to long ago. Nice stay & I would stay here again. Made for a pleasant trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom El Paso

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Hotel was not ready at time for checking in. Only one hotel maid for 15 plus rooms. Door locks were broken had to take all belongings with us if we had to go out. Only good thing was the pool. At least we enjoyed that. Do not recommend. Did not get my money's worth
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Corpus Christi

Would not stay here again.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: Everything could use improvement.
Location: We stayed here because we were going to the caverns. The only other close by attraction was a state park on a lake.
I booked this hotel mainly because it was an independently owned versus a chain. It advertised newly remodeled and HBO and free WIFI. It may have been newly remodeled but was in dire need of updating. This motel would have been nice if it were still the 80s. Bed was comfortable but only 2 very flat pillows. The ac worked very well but was quite noisy and woke us several times during the night. The person that checked us in wasn't even friendly. The room was fairly clean but could have been better. I judge our hotel stays on how the accommodations compare to my own home. I expect a hotel to be at least as nice as where I live. This one was not and it was $90 a night plus the taxes. We traveled through Kerrville Texas to get to Carlsbad and the Days Inn in Kerrville was exceptional compared to this and it cost $30 less per night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Room was clean. Needs to be remodeled badly! Bathroom needed most of the work. Had to hold the plug of hairdryer in the socket just to use.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tempe, Arizona

Not very secure, roof leaks.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Pool was good. Location was great.
Cons: Almost everything could be improved.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns are close by.
we were on the first floor. Roof started leaking from room above us and dripped all night. Very noisy. Thing that concerned me most was that door to our room had a gap at the bottom big enough for something to crawl in. Plus , that door lock was a joke. Flies in the bathroom. Expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Welcome surprise

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: the quiet, the friendliness, a comfortable experience
Cons: a little paint here and there
Location: Plenty to do, good food nearby
I was hesitant to book at this hotel from the past reviews. BUT I have no idea why. The hotel was clean and the owners worked there and did their very best to make it a comfortable stay. CLEAN, friendly, more than I expected. I would go there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible horrible horrible

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Dirty unprofessional overpriced bathroom is horrible couldn't find management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joannfrom Albuquerque

Nice place to stay

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This a good place to stay in Carlsbad. Wish we had time to spend at the pool but even without that I have no complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2014
The room we stayed in was in need of cleaning, especially the bathroom. The bathroom window was ajar and had no lock. The deadbolt for the main door could only be locked from the inside even though it was an actual key lock. All in all the accommodations were pretty underwhelming.