Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Roads trip stop 1

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: close proximity to the caverns
Cons: I don't know where to start. It was dusty and dirty. Any locations in Carlsbad that had a decent appearance in the town was priced like downtown LA
Location: dirty movie theater with 3 movies. marginal food at several restuarants
It cost a bunch for what it was. Carlsbad is caverns only as the town had nothing to offer us. At least we got it off the bucket list
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Don't stay here. Old hotel rooms.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Remodel the hotel. Clean the halls and rooms. New carpet.
Location: When to Carlsbad Caverns.
Older hotel. small rooms, a lot of construction workers. No breakfast, workers took everything by 6:45AM. Hotel in poor overall condition. Broken floor tiles and dirty carpet. Never again at Super 8.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saint paul minnesota

Room barely adequate . Staff non existent.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
For what we paid $150. I'd give it two stars. If we paid half that, I would give it three. Musty rooms, but beds we're comfy & clean. Ice cold AC. Staff was non existent. Breakfast: barely enough food was left to feed the family- pretty chintzy pickings. Won't go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its a dump.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Poor front desk staff. Poor upkeep of motel. Poor breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Decent stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room size
Cons: Update rooms
Location: Near the Caverns
Clean, could have used some updating in the bathroom but overall the rooms were good. Breakfast was pretty well what you expect staff was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Rates high enough they should be able to remodel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Building needs some remodeling. Very limited selection at breakfast.
I stayed one night here with my wife and children. I understand rates are high in Carlsbad due to tourism and high demand. But if a hotel charges as much as I paid for this one, they should have plenty of $$$ to reinvest and give me a better experience. At least make the place nice. The location was fine, but the building felt run-down - musty smell, stained carpets, broken tiles on the stairs, the dead-bolt on our room didn't work, etc. The hotel could have made up for some of this perhaps with a decent breakfast, but the complimentary breakfast available was one of the least impressive I've seen the last few years. The selection was very limited. I didn't have any issues with the hotel staff, but I also didn't have any interaction with them other than check in. In short, I've paid the same rate at another Super 8 and had much better experience. I find it hard to believe there isn't a cheaper or similarly-priced alternative in Carlsbad that provides a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor Locks, CT

Good hotel for the National Parks.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This hotel is 13 miles from Carlsbad Caverns and 47 miles from Guadalupe National Park. There is a Wal-Mart with grocery store nearby along with many restaurants. Free breakfast and free Wi-Fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great stay with a short drive to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The picture of the caverns above the bed. The proximity to Carlsbad Caverns National Park.
Cons: The breakfast was a bit emptied out in the last hour.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns National Park is a must see. Be sure to schedule one of the ranger led tours ahead of time. They are well worth it!
Stayed here two nights while exploring Carlsbad Caverns. Clean room and an acceptable breakfast was all we were looking for. About a 30 min drive away from the park, but as close as you will get without staying in White City. A few restaurants and a Walmart nearby met all of our needs for this trip. No complaints and will definitely look at staying here again next time I head back to Carlsbad Caverns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: At least is was quiet.
Cons: An elevator
Location: It was reasonable distance to Carlsbad Caverns and restaurants
Bathroom was not very clean. Hair all the toilet and tub. If the bathroom is not clean it makes me very suspect of the beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A from New Mexico

Decent breakfast, decent lodge

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, friendly & quiet. Closer to the caverns than others.