Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from Seattle

Really great stay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, big rooms, great staff, free breakfast with lots of stuff.
Location: Red Chimney Inn was a great barbecue restaurant about a mile or so from the hotel. Of course if you are in Carlsbad you have to see the caverns. The
The hotel was nice and clean and the rooms were a really good size. The TV selection was great, better than most hotels I stay in big cities. The staff was great. they recommended a great restaurant for dinner and gave fantastic directions. Much more than I would have expected in a small town.
2 out of 5
by Bill from Texas

Never again!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The suite was a good size.
Cons: Give a competitive price
Location: Carlsbad Caverns.
OVER-PRICED! One night here cost more than two nights in the same chain in another city. Someone had tracked dog poop through the lobby and elevator when we checked in an it was still there when we left. Staff could be described as adequate at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from San Antonio TX

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Location. Indoor pool for year-round use. Good selection at breakfast. Coffee available all day with cookies in the afternoon!
Location: Next to only "mall" and indoor theater in town. Grocery store about 5 miles down main road. Close to zoo on the hill. Caverns on opposite side of town
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Midland,TX

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location and very nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Terrible Internet connection

Posted Oct 14, 2013
The hotel is good and adequate in all respects except one - the wireless Internet service is weak, slow, disconnects frequently, and is not easy to log in at all times. This is a crucial aspect of business travel in this day and age, and it's inexcusable that a hotel chain like the Holiday Inn hasn't figured out how to provide decent wireless yet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the boonies!

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, clean room.
Cons: Maintenance on AC unit and better mattresses.
Air conditioner was super noisy. Queen bed mattress was uncomfortable. Did not sleep very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

2 day trip

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked a Queen Suite through Hotels.com. The room was supposed to have 2 Queen beds and a sofa bed (we have 5 people). When we went to our room, there was no sofa bed. I called the front desk & had to present my written (and pre-paid) confirmation. The desk clerk told me I'd have to contact Hotels.com to sort this out. I was ticked--they only had one Queen suite left & I felt that Holiday Inn should be responsible to sort this out (since I had a written confirmation with me). She did look into it as I was calling Hotels.com--turns out someone at the hotel had switched our room. She was able to look into the history & confirmed my confirmation. So, after that, everything was good. The room easily fit the 5 of us & was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was the standard hotel fare. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool (handy because it's really hot outside). This hotel is on the far side of Carlsbad--further away from the caverns, but that didn't bother us. Free cookies in the afternoon were a big hit for all of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carol from Colorado

Breakfast Staff

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The clean rooms
Cons: Snacks for the children for the afternoon. Some of your hotels do have fresh cookies for them.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns and close shopping
The lady fixing breakfast was awesome. She was concerned with my health issues and what I could eat. She made suggestions and packed me a snack that I needed later. Thank you for hiring such a cordial woman.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from Cali

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Air conditioner LOUD and comes on and off. Terrible, overpriced, crowded