Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Hotel easy to access and close to

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Breakfast variety. More than enough for all tastes.
Location: Close to NJ Transit bus for worry-free commute to NYC. Plenty of restaurants and shops within 5 minutes by car.
Check-in was seamless. The lady at the check-in desk was pleasant and greeted us with a smile. When I said I had forgotten my HHonors acct number, she retrieved it from their global system. We favor the Hampton Inn because of its clean rooms, and its breakfast buffet, and we were not disappointed. On the downside, the sink did not drain properly and the iron needed to be replaced, but this was mentioned to the staff upon check-out. Overall, it was a quiet and relaxing stay, and we will keep on doing business with the Hampton Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel similar to coming home to Mom & Dad.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, awesome breakfast, accommodating, very pleasant, and professional staff.
Cons: Entrance from Paterson Plank Rd (front of hotel) not easy. U turn difficult to find according to map quest and GPS directions.
Location: Across from the Meadowlands, convenient to NYC, NJ eateries and shopping, marina nearby.
Here overnight only. Unfortunately due to a funeral. We would happily return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option near the city

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean, and offered free parking, wifi and breakfast
Cons: It would be nice if the hotel had some board games so guests can play when they have some time to kill.
Location: Not much to do directly around the hotel, but convenient to the city and easy to drive to surrounding areas like Hoboken.
We stayed at the Hampton in for two nights on New Years Eve, and were pretty happy with our stay. We had considered trying to stay closer to the city in Hoboken or Jersey City, however the good ratings and great price led us to stay in Carlstadt at the Hampton Inn. I think it was a great decision because it was still very convenient to get in the city. The but stop is right outside the hotel and there are two bus lines that will get you to Port Authority in 15-20 minutes. The hotel was clean, and offered free parking, wifi and breakfast - which was a big plus. Would definitely consider staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

good little hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: we like how practical it was to go downtown Manhatan from the hotel by bus. for a family of 4 adults/teenager it was $34 return.
Cons: The wall outlets , the heating/cooling/fan system.
Location: 20 minutes (max) from downtown NY
we were 4 (2 teenagers and 2 adults) visiting New York for the 1st time. We didn't want to spend too much on hotel so we decided to stay in NJ and that hotel was perfect distance by bus from downtown NY. The hotel rate included breakfast, wifi and parking. The staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet was really good but at the busy time we were visiting there was a morning where there was no table available to sit and we had to wait. The wall outlets need to be replaced in our room as nothing we plugged stayed in. They did put a little power bar (usb/outlet) at the desk, which was a great idea . We found that the heat/cooling system was a bit too noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Good hotel near the Metlife Stadium

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel, the staff and the breakfast.
Cons: Maybe a Restaurant and Bar at the hotel.
Location: The location was great for anyone going to an event at the stadium. After you were done with the game though there wasn't a town close by to go to.
The staff there made the experience really great. They were all so friendly. They were very accommodating. We came in early to see the Giants game, they stored our luggage without charging. We asked for a late check out and they gave it to us without a charge and didn't make us feel guilty about asking. We were greeted with a hello and smile every time we passed a staff member. The breakfast was impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Clean room, helpful staff, descent breakfast area :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chester County, PA

Nice hotel across from Metlife Stadium

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Quality products used; tasty complimentary breakfast; free shuttles to area restaurants & venues; extremely friendly staff.
Cons: Definitely overpriced. We felt we paid a very high premium for the convenient location. Cannot actually walk there (or anywhere) from hotel.
Location: Convenient to Metlife stadium. Lots of area restaurants that are on the hotel's shuttle route.
Hotel is nice & clean, amenities like free hot beverages & Neutragena products in the rooms are very nice! Staff was extremely pleasant & helpful, from the front desk to housekeeping to shuttle drivers. Shuttle was a definite plus to us as we were not familiar with the area at all. Would have preferred a bit larger space in the room. At almost $300 per night we expected a bit more. Complimentary breakfast was tasty & there were lots of choices but very crowded to get to in this small area. We stayed there as we were attending an event at Metlife Stadium. We read online that the hotel was "walking distance to the stadium" but they didn't mention that it was against the law to walk there! Even though there were shuttles we expected to be able to just go outside & walk across the parking lots. I think this should be made clear on their website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Levittown, PA

Excellent Hotel with free shuttle to train station

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: more information in the room about the area but there were computers
Location: It's near the train to NYC and down the road from to MetLife stadium. Great views of the NYC skyline. It was a little hard to find the hotel.
We loved the Hampton Inn at Carlstadt and plan to stay again. We stayed here after a wedding and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, the courteous staff were well-trained, the breakfast was excellent and the shuttle made traveling into NYC a delight. This was our first stay at a Hampton Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Transportation and location.
Location: Sound barriers between rooms.
This hotel satisfied all our needs. There was a bus stop in front of the hotel that could be used for easy access to New York City. The included breakfast was satisfying. The transportation to and from the MetLife Stadium was extremely easy to use and FREE! The only complaint we would have is the noise between rooms. We could hear everything happening in the room next to us. We are willing to overlook that since there were so many conveniences at the hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Very clean, desk staff very helpful

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Very clean, convenient location, breakfast free & pretty good, wifi works.