Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from St Paul, MN

When Black Bear is Full

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Right across the highway from the fancy Casino, yet cheaper, quieter, and smoke-free air. Nice pool/jacuzzi facilities, and breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by macguyver from j

Nice close to casino

Posted Feb 15, 2014
It was very comfortable as very easy to find and it was close to the casino
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Minnnesota

Non-Functional

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: The room was large and the continental breakfast was above average.
Cons: Check the function of the facilities and provide in-room WIFI.
We were disappointed in this room. When you pay for the use of a Whirlpool tub you don't expect the water to come out rust red. When we complained about the water all we got was we'll tell maintenance. We would not pay the extra for the Whirlpool we could not use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from St. Paul

Nice hotel conveniently located off main freeway

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice big and very clean room.
2 out of 5
by billy w from Moorhead,MN

The hotel needs some upgrading!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Cons: The beds and heater-a/c units need upgrading!
The hotel needs to get new beds they are hard as a rock, the drain in our shower did not drain very fast standing in water the whole time was not good kinda gross. The rooms are small and need upgrades like paint and the heat\a/c are old and need upgrading. The hotel was full the weekend we stayed and it was very quite could not here anyone walking or talking in other rooms. The breakfast was very good and having the swimming pool open 24hrs for adults was also nice. They did let us have a small dog but charging $20 a night for a pet fee was to much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great continental breakfast

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: We LOVED that you had eggs and sausage on your complimentary breakfast buffet! Thank you!
The woman that waited on us at check in was very nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheapest hotel relatively close to Duluth MN

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Saved $ 80 over any other hotel we could find even though didn't know it was 20 miles from our destination
Cons: As stated needs serious remodel
Bed so worn/soft you couldn't sleep on it, walls so thin the Harleys outside and alarm clock that went off for over an hour after we talked to the staff about it continued to voice its opinion. Breakfast was cold, ankle deep in a shower that varied constantly between freezing and scalding....a most satifying stay. Would have prefered sleeping in my vehicle at a rest area. In serious need of remodel and staff training.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Cedar Rapids, IA

Okay For Price

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Convenience and nice staff
Cons: The hotel had a feeling of being old and the halls had a musty smell.
Location: Convenient to I35, two gas stations, a liquor store, two restaurants, and a casino.
The Duluth area has little hotel accomodation availability so options can be limited, we stayed here, about 20 min to Duluth, in an effort to save some money. This is right off interstate 35, very convenient. The decor in rooms have been updated but you can tell the hotel itself is older. The staff was very nice and hotel was clean. The breakfast had a good variety but the hot food was not well maintained, one day it was almost empty and the next it was full but cold. Had a nice coffee bar with a variety of syrups, nice surprise. The pool/hot tub was open all night to adults, nice retreat without kids splashing around.