Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Irvine, ca

Noisy heater and the Jacuzzi was not working

Posted May 18, 2015
Nice setting and quite surroundings. But when we called about the Jacuzzi not working, nothing was done about it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Nice room. A little dated. Comfy clean bed, clean bathroom. No AC, lucky it wasn't hot. Supremely nice and welcome staff. Sunil is great. Hot tub wouldn't turn on. Excellent breakfast. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Good Good good Good It's so good let's join It good good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peggyfrom Palm Springs

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: The Continental Breakfast served in the Breakfast Room and the proximity to the Village.
Cons: Update the furnishings, towels, tv's, bathrooms.
Location: Wine tasting.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over Thanksgiving. The rooms were very clean, but dated. The Continental Breakfast was delicious. The managers were very attentive. The breakfast room had a very nice ambiance and decor. If the rooms were furnished like the breakfast room, it would warrant a higher rating. Additionally, we were in Carmel Valley for a family Thanksgiving celebration and my aunt travels with a service animal because of a medical condition and she was not able to make a reservation because of their "No Pet" policy, even though service animals are not pets! Not sure, but I think that denying a service animal may be against the law. As a result she was not able to make the trip which left a "hole" in our family celebration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kfrom Walnut Creek, CA

Cozy and relaxing

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Quiet, small, friendly
Cons: Shower temperature was constantly changing.
Location: Refuge spa is a few miles west. Very relaxing way to spend 3-4 hours. Walking trails nearby. Carmel by the Sea is great for shopping.
The room itself was clean and well decorated. The bathroom was small and had outdated, inexpensive faucets in the sink and shower. The patio and pool area were very nice, peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was nice with pleasant views out the window, friendly staff and decent food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Carmel Valley area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RSLfrom San Jose, CA

Carmel Valley room

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Close to Carmel Valley downtown.
Cons: I can't think of anything for the hotel. The restaurants in town close up at 10. So plan to eat early.
Location: Carmel Valley is out of the fog belt in Carmel so it is warmer and the sky is clear. Carmel beaches are fantastic especially Carmel River Beach.
Very nice room, very nice breakfast. Room was nice and large. It had a sitting area that could have slept two more on the pull out couch / day bed. Staff was very nice and friendly. Continental breakfast (included) had cereal, fresh made waffles, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice in a nice dining room with a fire plac.e
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Gatos CA

OK place for price and location

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Hotels in the Carmel area are expensive, period. That said, $200 per night is a low price. This place was "OK." I would compare the quality to one of the roadside highway low-end chains. The room was clean, spartan. The bed and linen quality were good - it was a comfortable bed and wasn't "scuzzy." You weren't afraid to walk on the carpet. The bathroom was old and tired. They should have spent $5.00 for a new shower head - it sort of didn't even have one. I knew my friend had entered the shower when I heard her laugh. I also didn't have to mix any cold water in the shower - just left it on pure hot water in order to have normal, warm water. The dead bolt on the door didn't work so there was only the knob lock which was pretty flimsy. I only encountered the front desk staff who were pleasant but not overly interested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vinniefrom CA

Lovely, pleasant place in nice setting

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable and convenient
Location: Camel Village, Big Sur, Carmel
Staff were wonderful and helpful with travel plans. Nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by doggle_99from Captain Cook, HI

Great staff and lovely views

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Fresh waffles and Dirk's hospitality!
Cons: Drapes on the windows instead of louvers.
Location: Carmel is nearby with its great restaurants and shopping. We went to Point Lobos Park for great walks - otters, sea lions and cormorants galore!
We stayed in Carmel Valley to be a bit warmer than stayng in Carmel. It was lovely and sunny. The B&B is motel-like, with doors opening directly onto the pool area. There were only louvers on the window, which wasn't quite enough privacy for me. We didn't use the pool, but people seemed to be enjoying it. Breakfast was fine - fresh hot waffles, if you liked! I left a pair of earrings in the room. I called as soon as I discovered my lapse, and Dirk went down and recovered them for me and called me right back to assure me that he had them. He could not have been any nicer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good family hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Good for a family. It would be great if pool could be heated, would make it even nicer. Very friendly, warm service and excellent waffles.