Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Magnificent Setting

Posted May 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Your other reviews commented about the steep hills or number of steps to climb. From the beach to the pool, bar and restaurant the max is 3 1/2 flights of stairs and one more to the office and rooms on top. The trade-off is magnificent views and nice breezes. Also, wherever one walks in Carrillo, there are the same hills. The really nice beach is about 400 meters away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views from rooms and pool

Posted May 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Playa Carrillo is one of the most beautiful, tranquil beaches we saw in Costa Rica and this is the place to stay to enjoy it. Simple but clean ocean-view rooms with private terraces overlooking the bay. The pool is the crown jewel with a 5-star view and great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from lévis

super hotel for family

Posted Mar 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
clean, quiet (except for the A/C) and very plesant stay here. Excellent value. Scenery from hotel room unbeatable on playa carillo. No wifi in room, but in the restaurant ok. Definately to recommend. staff helpfull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from USA

My trip to Guanacaste Carrillo" s beach experience

Posted Mar 11, 2012
Pros: The amazing view of the Ocean and hills from the Hotel and the gorgeous garden.
Cons: The walking through the hills and stairs to go to the dinning area and pool in the extremely hot weather was a challenged.
Location: The transportation we reserved did not honored our voucher as a total payment. The cost $120 for 2 persons one way only.
The view on this Hotel is fantastic we were lucky and got a room looking to the Bay. The service excellent and clean. The alcoholic drinks at the beginning of the arrival were great but then changed how they prepare the drinks and desserts. At the end we felt left out. The waitresses got most involved cleaning the tables and did not check with us if we need anything else or everything was to our satisfaction. The bathroom in our room was leaking, then the air conditioner was not working properly and finally broke. We insisted to move to other room and they did. This Hotel is in a hill and a set of long stairs to get to dinning, bar., rooms and pool. It is not handicapped friendly or people with heart or lung problems. The weather extremely hot and humid for March, the Carrillo Beach Ocean was cloudy called "red Tye" the water was not clear as the pictures of the Ocean.
2 out of 5
by Jonas from New York, NY, USA

Poorly managed hotel with a stunning view

Posted Feb 27, 2012
Pros: The view, the beach and the turtle tour.
Cons: Our flooded bathroom floor.
Location: Great location, with a stunning view over Carrillo Beach.
Our hotel room was pretty basic. It could have been alright, if they had tried to make it nicer, but it didn't feel clean and we had a lot of bugs in the room. Every time we took a shower the bathroom floor got flooded, and it stayed flooded until the next day, when the cleaning staff came. The restaurant is expensive and it does not provide value for money. But the pool is nice, and the view is stunning. The beach is fantastic! We really enjoyed the turtle tour.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC Canada

Hotel Guananar- beautiful view, close to beach.

Posted Jan 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was good, staff not overly friendly, rooms were fairly clean except for the 2 small leeches in the shower the next morningy. Food was good but very pricey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from High Prairie, AB Canada

Hotel Guanamar near Carillo Beach, Costa Rica

Posted Jan 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were upgraded to ocean view, which was so gorgeous! Wall to wall windows to the view, large rooms, deck towards the view, pavement driveway, Had to go to the bar to obtain a bucket of ice, very small TV for the room, air conditioning like a jet engine starting up, and mediocre meals in the restaurant. Worst of all were the ants everywhere in our rooms (we had 3 for all of our family). Moved our beds away from the wall, and sprayed Raid on our door thresholds. Management did nothing about it. Good thing we had a gecko in our room! Everything else was great, and the service people very friendly. Cost for security box key: $3/night - poor. Cervezas the best deal! Looks like one of the best hotels in the area, and certainly the ocean view was worth a few insects! We could easily walk to the beach from our rooms. Found a great Argentine restaurant within a short walking distance, too! I'd stay again - just bring the Raid!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annika from Oxford, UK

3 star with great views and air-conditioning

Posted Jan 8, 2012
Pros: The views
Location: Great beach that is off the radar for a lot of tourists. Very mellow for families or couples looking to relax. Not a party destination.
It's very nice for a 3 star, basically because of the spectacular views from the room and common areas. The rooms could easily sleep three people. Two in a HUGE king bed and one in a twin bed. The restaurant was good for breakfast but a disappointment for dinner. However there is a great Argentinian restaurant around the next corner so no need to eat dinner here. The beach here is white sandy with beautiful water.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2011 on Hotels.com